Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mariadb on Ubuntu 20.04

Cognosys Inc Hardened Images | 22.07.2200

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.07.2200 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

182 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Networking

Used to run a mysql server on raspberrypi servers.

  • July 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open software readily available and easy to install. Quick setup and allows work to progress quickly and efficiently with minimal waiting/downtime.
What do you dislike?
Must be installed in a linux terminal. Lacks GUI interface as far as I'm aware to install in desktop linux environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quick database that integrates easily with a popular database schema.


    Computer Software

MariaDB - Review

  • June 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a very simple and efficient database for any size of organizations. It's backups are very easy to handle.
What do you dislike?
The only problem with MariaDB is it's configuration. But there is well defined documentation for
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MariaDB offers stable and useful services for managing data. It uses simple SQL queries.


    Nina B.

Easy to use sql database

  • June 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the support AWS provides for it and that it’s hosted in the cloud vs my server. Easy to integrate with other aws services.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, it’s been a great experience
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Hosting SQL databases on ec2
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a demo


    Conor C.

Very stable with excellent docs and legacy support

  • June 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The online docs are excellent, far better than mySQL.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, when compared to mysql. It is rather retro compared to other RDMS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multi-tenant hosting without difficulty.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Switching from mysql is a good idea


    Juan F.

MariaDB is guaranteed solidity

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB offers stability and is open source, which minimizes costs. The important thing is that it is supported on a large platform of users who frequently publish very useful solutions. As for its configuration, it is very basic and does not need a lot of computer resources. I like the modification in terms of the structure of the table in reference to MySQL.
What do you dislike?
I think the debugging tool fails sometimes, because it does not analyze the missing indexes. I also found some flaws in the replication of the database.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I think MariaDB has given us security, because security patches are obtained frequently. Migration has never been so easy and usually has a good performance. Previously we used MySQL and the security versions were slow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great project and is supported in a large community of users. It is fast and works perfectly with a large amount of data. Also security is guaranteed.


    Deepika R.

It is one of the most poweful database server made by the original developers of sql

  • June 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps in turning out data into structured information in a wide array of applications ranging from banking to the websites
What do you dislike?
Unlike dislikes, it plays a greater role in enhancing drop in replacement of my SQL
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It posses the benefits of fast usage also scalable and robust with the rich ecosystem
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an open source software and a relational database which provides SQL interface for accessing data


    Medical Devices

Senior Software engineer

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility of connection pools with shared memory or sockets. I also like the fact that MariaDB follows closely behind MySQL.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike. I like all of it. It is free, and open source. What is not to like?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This is a great relational database that can be used for anything where data relates to it. It is fast, user friendly, and has a large amount of use and followers. The documentation is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at the advantages and disadvantages between this and other databases to see if it works for your organization.


    Eleazar G.

More intuitive and effective than MySQL

  • May 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a great solution for partitioning, as implementation feels solid and fluid. Something I really like is that it always stays updated, as new releases for security patches are launched monthly, keeping MariaDB always on top in security matters. MariaDB definitely has some advantages over MySQL. The one I highlight the most are the Alert Table queries, as in MariaDB you’re able to check the progress in a process list, so you can always keep a visual track in the advances. This can’t be done with MySQL.
What do you dislike?
In order to run MariaDB properly, you must a have a decent hardware, otherwise, writes may be effected and you may experience some troubles. Also, the compatibility with MySQL isn’t always happening, as the newer versions of MySQL don’t integrate well with MariaDB. You have to make some internal work in order to make this integration possible.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MariaDB is used by our company internally for many applications. The infrastructure team is in charge of using the database for setting up some management tools. This data helps when it comes to report to our customers, as well as keeping some metadata for analytical purposes. The integration with Galera gives this solution a great spot in availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great option for companies or personals wanting to work with open source software that demands active clusters. If you are a MySQL user, MariaDB integrates with MySQL so you can export your database from one to another. Adaption from one platform to another will be easy, as MySQL and MariaDB share similar interfaces, libraries, APIs and commands. However, consider you must have a great hardware in order to run MariaDB.


    Andrew F.

MariaDB is a great MySQL alternitve intergated well with Debian

  • May 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it is interrogated with the lamp server package group on the Debian install is great! I can spin up a new server in a about and hour and my customers love it! It works almost perfectly like MySQL and is very easy to backup and maintain.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about MariaDB. There's nearly no learning curve from MySQL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is just a great alternative to MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use PhPMyAdmin for a great experence


    Information Technology and Services

One of the best open source Database server.

  • April 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is one of the best relational database in world with very high valued features like Performance Analysis, Multiple Programming Languages Supported and Data Replication. This features are the best thing s which I liked in this product.
What do you dislike?
This product is one of the best database server but it needs some improvisation also like Virtualization and Data Migration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Maria DB helps me for solving Backup and Recovery related problems and analysis related problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is recommended over Mysql as a primary database.