Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

94 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

Great Product. Set it and let Instana do the work

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup once the installation is done properly
What do you dislike?
It takes time to understand the environment
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing our uat environments which is seldomly overlooked until an issue arise


    Financial Services

Excellent tool for monitoring applications in general.

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of being able to go deeper with each click, being able to measure in space and time the comparison between infrastructure and code.
What do you dislike?
The analysis of the traces became unfriendly, as the filters are not intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
not having a clear and defined route, of each application in monitoring, being able to see what fails and in which process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
GENERATE A GROWING BUDGET IN ORDER TO STANDARDIZE THE MINI-MONITORING THROUGH THIS APM.


    Jaison E .

Awesome tool for monitoring and tracking logs

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
An excellent tool that has lots of options for tracking logs and monitoring sites
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific on dislike part about instana
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An excellent tool that has lots of options for tracking logs and monitoring sites


    Insurance

Good to keep thoughts and work items together

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The UI is simple, clean, and very intuitive.
What do you dislike?
Compared to competitors like NewRelic, It would be nice to have a better query tool.
It should also have more charts types like in DataDog.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Instana to perform application performance monitoring. It is a good tool just like Grafana


    Computer Software

Review instana

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very useful throughput and latency graphs
What do you dislike?
Not anything specific. No such dislikes in particular.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefit that I have realized is that it provides intuitive visualization for various metrics


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Review about Instana

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instana was easily plugged into our system, and we could create dashboards and alerts in a couple of minutes.
What do you dislike?
It will be awesome if we could send our applicativ logs into instana to correlate events.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps to detect latency, errors, or traffic drops on our system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Instana help us every day investigating productions behavior


    Jithendran A.

Best Monitoring tool used, More detailed friendly view and in-depth information

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Instana- Filters used in monitoring details on Health, stability, and Issues are more helpful
The tool is getting more feature and options added in time help in Monitoring and controlling the project well in Development as well as Support
What do you dislike?
Not must dislike and more helpful feature are added and improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Benefits: Tools shows logs and view till in-depth on various service and feature running and More UI friendly


    Shan S.

AUTOMATIC Discovery & Monitoring - Main feature that sold Instana to us

  • April 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Like i mentioned on the title, the automatic discovery & monitoring is the main feature that sold instana to us.
This tech is solid and reasonably thorough. It is the most helpful feature especially when you have too many different services/microservices in the ecosystem and have very limited number of humans who can configure/maintain. It feels great when your new services automatically shows up wth relevant metrics in the call tree. Analytics(Calls/Traces search) are supremely flexible, you can search your calls in your own way..For eg:You can search for calls/traces with the message routingkey and get the full call graph.
The provided call graph is thorough and also tracks rabbitmq message routes to completion with very less configuration. Integration with graphana, source code lookups, profiles, etc. .
Last but not least, the support we received from the account manager ted, was great. He was always available and provided very constructive recommendations whenever we had any hiccups with the tool. I am sure there are many other things that i can list in this section, leaving at this for brevity and time.
What do you dislike?
Instana has matured a lot, had some bugs with user interface. I could see the instana team is working hard to improve the user interface experience and must say it has come a long way. I can understand the UX challenge especially with the sheer amount of data that are being captured.
I personally feel that the sheer volume of data available about the system is fantastic and great but it can overwhelm some initially, if they are attached so much to other APM tools.
While i like the flexible search, there were some bugs with boundary conditions like the same call would not show up if an expanded time is selected as compared to limited time frame selection. This may have been fixed, but i made a point myself to search only with as minimal timeframe as much possible of any specific event. Instana is continually improving infact probably improving everyday as I see new versions being rolled out very frequently.
Summary: Instana is not the most perfect but certainly the benefits FAR outweighs the potential flaws/limitations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
production root cause analysis, errors analysis, automatic outage alerts, metrics capture integration with graphana etc.


    Przemyslaw K.

Super tool

  • April 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use, 0 time to maintain update the tool, stability, the interfacace is really user friendly, responsivness is also pretty great
What do you dislike?
Lack of sth like parmament links -> i have my own filters for checking the bugs in last few hours. When i copy deep link (which looks terrible btw. there should be some way to make it shorter) and paste it back to browser the time period is not really last 15 minutes but exactly the 15 minutes i was using the tool. So if i use it daily i need to daily after pasting the link have one more step and adjust the filter(which is also waste of resources, because i actually i do 2 searches instead of one)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pain points in our infrastructure, the slow reponses on REST API that needs to be optimized. Memory leaks in containers. Wasted resouces (oversized containers)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please play a bit with the tool and do a deep dive as there is many useful features that you not even know that you need.
It can make your job a lot easier.


    Vlad P.

Flexible monitoring and reasonable pricing

  • December 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instana offers a large variety of features at a simple, fixed pricing model. Besides the usual distributed tracing and error logging, Instana offers infrastructure monitoring, StatsD collection, web and mobile monitoring, as well as highly customizable views and alerts. Setting up an Instana agent was extremely easy (we used the Ruby on Rails / Kubernetes integration). The logging is unsampled and customizable.
What do you dislike?
The UI has a steep learning curve if you're used to other APM software. Expect to learn a lot of new terminology and configuration options before you can set up a usable dashboard. Unlike other APM providers, Instana gives you a great deal of flexibility in how data is presented -- which is great for expert users, but novices will almost certainly be lost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Instana to monitor our infrastructure, keep track of errors, and analyze calls to identify performance bottlenecks. After just a few days of using Instana, we identified several load-balancing issues with our setup as well as multiple N+1 problems in our database queries.