Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS (HVM), SSD with support by Terracloudx

terracloudx | 2021-07-21

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 4.15.0-45-generic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

73 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Beat Command line interface

  • January 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is free and open source. We can customize software easily. Ubuntu is best for developers. Ubuntu provide updates very simply and it provide best command line interface.
What do you dislike?
We need to hands on experience with command line interface in order to use ubuntu. Ubuntu is not much good for gaming. Also customer support is limited for Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is much used by developers because it provides great command line interface experience. Ubuntu is useful for developing unique programs


    Arvind R.

Ever first cloud image over public cloud platform

  • January 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Ubuntu server os light weighted, easy and fast loaded Operating system
What do you dislike?
Hard to find package conflicts over different versions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used to deploy light-weighted clusters over the Public cloud and private cloud both.


    Computer & Network Security

Ubuntu one of the best software in the marketplace.

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is straightforward to use and understand. Moreover, it is free to all, making it more accessible to people. It helps in making and running all the applications based on Linux. It can be used for business as well as personal use.
What do you dislike?
I only found minor disadvantages in Ubuntu, like the UI is very minimal, and its functionality is limited. Along with that, it has compatibility issues with the hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using Ubuntu for quite a long time to make Linux programs for my company. As a newbie, I found the software very easy to use and understand its functionality.


    Ernesto M.

Great for all unix deployment

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
scability is great, easy to manager and to mantain.
What do you dislike?
People usually are used to windows environment and are afraid of unix because of the CLI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
easy to deploy and manage.
Secutiy wise is easier to tune and configure.


    abhilash g.

Linux based multiple server process.

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an open-source and Linux based operating system and it is optimised to manage multiple servers and their files it's like handling multiple computers. Ubuntu is very secure it will frequently update its security level and it is cost effectiveness.
Any one can install this ubuntu server with basic knowledge of computer and we don't required any high system requirements like basic system requirements are enough for ubuntu server.
What do you dislike?
I dint find any dislike in ubuntu server but graphic quality is not that good and it doesn't have drivers support. Am unable to play new games in this server the user interface should have to improve so that it should be user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can handle a serve to do my process or my work in multiple desktops, instead of doing in single desktop so that my process finish in less time. We can handle wide range of deployments, we can use Ubuntu for home network.
I can handle multiple scripts to run in server and finish instead of running more scripts in single machine or process. We can install in numerous devices and also use in IOT devices.
I can insta and use in my small computer which have minimum system requirements.
We can easily customise our systems as our requirements and settings
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will definitely recommend others to use this ubuntu server. It will definitely help for programmers so that they can run their process in multiple servers so that process will finish in less time.
It is best for developers.


    Computer & Network Security

Ubuntu Server Review

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- offers security updates regularly (after every 6 months), including maintenance updates as well.
- Ubuntu is also flexible enough to scale up to meet one's needs.
- Doesn't use many machine resources.
- Ubuntu Server doesnt include a GUI or a lot of the pre-packaged junk that Ubuntu Desktop does. As a result, there are major increases in performance since the operating system doesnt have to process having a GUI open at the same time as running servers.
What do you dislike?
- There is a lot of software out there that you can't get due to Ubuntu. For instance, Microsoft softwares, Visual Studio or Photoshop softwraes as well. One might argue that there similar softwares out there which miight work the same as the Microsoft programs, but they are not the same.
- Ubuntu has too many releases too quickly, too many LTS rolling. They should spend more time on current build release rather than ticking up main version number for some of their changes.
-
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu Servers are affordable, they are helping our business reduce costs within the existing IT infrastructures. Ubuntu Servers are providing maximum efficiency, delivering results with fewer resources and less computing power, and running on all our major architectures.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Be hands on when learning how to use Ubuntu Server. With more exposure you will soon get the hang of it.Some people might feel it challenging to install programs through terminals. A basic understanding of commands is needed while installing some programs/software.Ubuntu server one of the best of my go-to server software for a whie now. I feel I can do anything from set up an email server for my company. I can also create an SMS service to communicate with my team via messaging. Try it out!


    Syed H.

Ubuntu Linux 20.04 LTS (Focal Fossa) is a free, customizable, coherent OS that’s easy to install

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free
Elegant, cohesive interface that's easy to navigate
Flexible and lightweight installation options
Smooth performance in testing
Extensive customizability
What do you dislike?
Major third-party apps remain unavailable
Does not come installed on many devices
Can be frustrating to troubleshoot issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu Server so appealing is it's cost-effective. Anyone can download a copy of the latest version of Ubuntu Server and deploy it on as many machines as necessary--at zero cost (minus hardware and time)


    Carlos David M.

Easy way to Setup and Deploy Your Application Server

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mostly the main thing I like from Ubuntu Server is that it is a really easy Server SO to setup a linux environment to deploy your applications.
And if you are deploying your server on a cloud provider it is even better! I have been deploying Linux Server on Azure and Google Cloud Platform and I haven't had any mayor issues so far.
What do you dislike?
To be honest, Ubuntu is by far the best and easiest linux distro to setup. I don't have mayor complaints about it.
Sometimes it is quite challenging to setup the permission scheme for different users, but I'd say that that's a generalized issue on all linux servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main use of Ubuntu Server to me is to deploy Web Application Servers. Mostly tomcat servers in which I host my web applications and REST Services. My test and production environments are Ubuntu Server 18.04.5


    Kunal K.

Ubuntu Server - Features

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu server more secure and best security feature available
What do you dislike?
IP address assigned task is challenging for NIC.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have resolved the IP address issue for Ubuntu Server, and i found benefits in Ubuntu OS; this OS is the best OS with security.


    Naveed H.

Ubuntu server in aws cloud

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has free package sources, an interactive command-line terminal, a rich UI interface,use low system requirement,it is fully customizable,its security is too high.
What do you dislike?
No remote desktop session library, third party library override the layout,the suppourt of drivers are absent in most cases,not possible many latest games on ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it to create a cluster using Kubernetes and deployed my web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to suggest my juniors use ubuntu to enjoy the powerful command-line functionalitiesm,