Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Server 18.04 LTS (HVM), SSD with support by Terracloudx

terracloudx | 2021-07-21

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 4.15.0-45-generic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

73 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nilanjan N.

Best server operating system out there

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works with nearly any hardware or virtualization platform. It can serve up websites, file shares, and containers, as well as expand your company offerings with an incredible cloud presence.
What do you dislike?
We faced challenges while setting up kerberos auth within it , that is what i dislike the most
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To manage our cloud application nodes we are using unintu server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The usabality and scalability is unparalled when compared to other linux or windows servers


    Amitava C.

"Ubuntu: everything all you need get here"

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Daily and weekly updates.installing software is also very easy.their community is very helful if user have any issue.
What do you dislike?
Most people around us have a panic about using Unix-like operating systems. People are habituated with Windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. server configuration
2. server communication
3. deploying other software in ubuntu server


    KrishnaPrasad J.

Open source Platform for General and Professional User

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source, so it is free to use and modify as per needs. User-friendly and best GUI for general-purpose users as well. It will be a great choice free of cost.
What do you dislike?
Some people might feel it challenging to install programs through terminals. A basic understanding of commands is needed while installing some programs/software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for general purposes like surfing the internet, development and software deployment, and long-running background processes like data integration tasks. Able to use it for free if I used windows for the same job, I had to pay the licensing fee, etc...


    Michael M.

Ubuntu Server 20.0.4 LTS

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The stability of the server is important especially when it runs mission-critical or infrastructure applications and services. Also, the availability of prepackaged / containerized apps make it really easy to deploy services.
What do you dislike?
Without some background in UNIX / Linux Administration, the admin/user may face some challenges. The management of snaps feels a bit complicated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our DNS, and FTP servers are running on Ubuntu Server. The platform is stable, well supported, and integrates well on our virtual infrastructure (VMWare + Hyper-V). We have realized extreme stability and high performance out of the box.


    Isuru S.

One of the most powerful Linux distros available

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free and open source. Easy to install and configure
What do you dislike?
There's nothing much to dislike about Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Ubuntu as a penetration testing server in Security Assessments. Most of the security testing tools are available in Ubuntu


    Computer Software

Best for developer

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides the best environment for developing new things, and the security updates that it allows for from time to time give us a secure environment for our use.
What do you dislike?
The least helpful is that it does not give the environment for any gaming experience. Any gamer would not suggest going for the ubuntu server as its priority. Not valuable for games.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The major problem is a different environment where it does not get compatible. I help identify those issues and give feedback for the next version to improve. Feedback is the keyword.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend the Ubuntu server as it is the most secure base of the most operating system. It is easy for compatibility with different products.


    Nicolas J.

Easiest way into containerisation

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Containerisation is so easy with Ubuntu Server.

Docker is available upon installation, and I can import public keys from Github.

I cannot do this in Windows Server.
What do you dislike?
Installation of a GUI never seems to go perfect when using VNC Server. An improvement would be to add this as a GUI option at the installation screen would be super helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have stretched virtualisation resources further by 20% compared to Windows Server. I can be more productive as I have more resource overhead to play with.

This makes goals more achievable faster.


    sonu k.

Review for Ubuntu server

  • December 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the best platform for the development purpose. Easy to use .most of the features are available for development purpose.
What do you dislike?
Some user interface problem.cli case- sesitive issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was a blockchain developer. It was most easy to deploy private blockchain in ubuntu easy docker to use.


    Ankit J.

Best server as per configuration and security perspective

  • December 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure software and security.
Easy to manage OS patch.
anybody can learn it easily.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is one of my favorite operating systems. there is nothing like I dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have configured our software in ubuntu for all environments like production, testing and development.
In the Ubuntu server we have set up a webserver and API server as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to linux flavor of the Operating system then go ahead with ubuntu.


    Piyush a.

Ubuntu review

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity and open source
Browsing speed
What do you dislike?
The user interface for windows user is less interactive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using ubuntu for development of web applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go ahead if you are looking for open source