Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

44 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Martin v.

Kaltura has proven to be able to deliver on "Everything video" in 2020

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The workflow around the various platform products is very mature and well integrated.
What do you dislike?
As a European Kaltura partner we faced the fact that the European Union no longer accepted the Privacy Shield as a valid legal base for processing of personal data since June of this year. Dealing with several government customers, we needed to come up with a stance on this. It would have been nice if Kaltura came up with a migration plan for European customers to the European cloud, upon request. I do appreciate however that Kaltura had to allocate resources for other, even more urgent issues like the migration to the cloud and the massive demand for Newrow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Video is becoming an integral part of most online learning solutions that we deliver to the market. We have deployed this for many different use cases for many customers over the years. In 2020 the focus was mainly on delivering virtual classroom solution (Newrow) to both new and existing customers. Here we have been able to to help customers to move to virtual classrooms as an alternative for classic classroom instruction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No specific recomendations.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Support not adequate

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The actual platform is easy to use to organize and manage content.
What do you dislike?
When we're experiencing P1 or P2 issues the support team does not act with urgency to investigate and then to resolve if the issue is on their end. There have been many issues lately that were P1 caused by the recent cloud migration and we had to chase our account manager and support team for updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Where to store our content. Easy to use in the back end for editing meta data or making content changes.


    Brian U.

A feature rich video portal

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using the Kaltura video portal. Its a very full featured platform with features such as machine-generated caption files, transcriptions, a screen capture tool, in-video caption search, basic online editor and the ability to create simple "LMS-like" video quizzes. Kaltura is innovative and continually enhancing their offerings.
What do you dislike?
Our implementation is a rather unique hybrid of SaaS and on-premise forced by prior security policies within our company that have recently been updated to be cloud friendly. Our hybrid installation has caused complexities and challenges both in updating and supporting, that typical customers would not encounter. Fortunately we underway with a project to migrate to a full SaaS Kaltura environment where we can benefit from the latest portal and player upgrades as they are delivered. Kaltura offshore support quality and timeliness, and past project management have been a challenge for us and not at the level we expected. However I am happy to report that our current project to migrate to SaaS is being very well managed and resourced, so Kaltura has shown marked improvement in this area.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are leveraging the Kaltura video portal as employee-powered video platform that allow teams, departments, SMEs, interest groups and business initiatives to create targeted channels and created and publish their own video content which is differentiated from official corporate communications generated and shared company video content.


    Dustin R.

Easy to Use Hosting

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface with a lot of helpful functionality
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike, it can be intimidating at first but just have to spend some time with the tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to embed videos from one central place in several Canvas courses and track views


    Dan D.

Kaltura is extreamly useful, simple to use but still has a vast amount of options to explore.

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The classrooms are very straight forward from set up, to delivery, to exporting the recording. Really like how the interface can be cusomised by each learner. Kaltua are also very quick to help with problems and finding solutions to improve your work.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the classrooms can be temprimental if not using the prefered browser or device. Kaltura are working with us on this to help improve things.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a way to provide online learning during covid.


    Financial Services

Rich featured video portal

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The editing possibilities for end users. End users are able to do simple editing and enrich the video with e.g. a slide deck or add quick navigation in the video.
What do you dislike?
During covid there is a need for organizing webcasts with multiple presentors, this is not possible yet with the personal webcast setup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
end users are more visible within the company by sharing knowledge or introducing themselves/team/department.


    Emma O.

The answer to working remotely effectively

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been able to use the KMS Go app to gather user generated content easily throughout lockdown and still be able to deliver good quality content to our audience. The new Kaltura Rooms has also enabled us to continue delivery of interactive sessions online, with media rich resources.
What do you dislike?
As with any online technology there can be bugs on initial deployment, but these are usually resolved promptly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
These tools have enabled us to work remotely effectively and efficiently.


    Hospital & Health Care

Very stable feature rich virtual classroom solution

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Kaltura is very stable and is easy to use, once it is configured how you want it to be. The tool is incredibly robust and can do so many things, we don't use a lot of it yet, but hope to in the future.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about the tool is that you cannot control a participant desktop. That and the number one request we get is to have backgrounds.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In the COVID world we can take what was traditionally classroom training to the cloud and still teach our customers. The main benefit is that Kaltura is so flexible, we can make it meet our needs, often many different ways.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The support and onboarding makes it much easier to implement. Having a person ready and willing to help while getting started is amazing.


    Architecture & Planning

Best tool for collaboration

  • September 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
colbartion tool very easy to asign and work with teams
What do you dislike?
there is nothing i dislike at this point, their interface keeps changing but i love the product
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
comunication especially during covid is very hard using KCC suite has helped us to stay connected.


    Higher Education

It's currently our institution's video repository

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It integrates nicely with our Blackboard and Canvas LMSs. To the latter, Canvas, I will say that Kaltura support, after a while, did ID the issues with integration, worked with me remotely to enable all the features, and did get it functional. For me, as an admin, there's a lot functionality to repair and replace videos, add additional materials, and re-assign ownership as needed.
What do you dislike?
It's not really a "dislike," but the editing function is somewhat kludgy. If you're used to working with YouTube's editing option, it'll seem less intuitive and have less features. Not a terribly bad thing because of its simplicity, but I've found myself downloading the source file, fixing it in a Non-Linear Editor such as Final Cut Pro X and replacing the asset video on occasion.

Support also takes a while to respond. Then it's a back-and-forth process of over a couple or more weeks before a solution is proposed. Mostly it ends up being something along the lines of "Here's what you need to do..." rather than "We've fixed it and here's how."

We were never able to get a satisfactory solution to added our SSO integration to our MediaSpace page. Additionally, our setup wasn't conducive to allowing all institutional users ready access without resorting to OU groups and manually adding credentials. Probably a quirk of our AD, but vexing nonetheless.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A secure location where we can mange rights issues and maintain privacy of individuals. It authenticates using our LDAP servers and Bb's credentials. We weren't able to get SSO enabled. Having all our instructional videos on one location and under control of the university is also nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is useful as an in-house solution for a video repository. For educators, it's also trying to move into the lecture capture space. It also has an option to add quizzes into the video plus auditing tools to view number of views and viewers.