Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netspectrum's Ubuntu Desktop 20.04 LTS (x86_64)

Netspectrum Inc. | x86_64-20.04lts-210511-210515

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Luis O.

Excellent free operating system!

  • November 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Among different OS distributions Ubuntu Desktop has always featured graphical enhancements to be user-friendly and easy to use. The libraries and drivers are always updated for in cases of connecting a removable memory, the installation of office programs are compatible and free as the operating system. The installation of the Ubuntu Desktop operating system does not require greater physical capacity of hardware, it is very light and works very well. Community support is very extensive and solutions are always available for any operating system problem, every year the updates are renewed.
What do you dislike?
I always like Ubuntu Desktop. Everything works very well, it is incredible how it detects printers automatically, and the ease of having shared folders.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits are many by not having to buy an operating system license and other programs that require a paid license. Security is paramount and the risk of viruses is reduced by having a Unix operating system. The Ubuntu desktop form is very easy to use. It is compatible for printers and in some moments it is automatically detected and the operating system updates are constant to always keep the system patched and reduce computer risks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is highly recommended to use Ubuntu Desktop, the installation and use is very easy, there are many diversity of programs to use as other operating systems, the best thing is that it does not require a license and additional payments. It has a very good support.


    Jerald N.

Ubuntu Desktop

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of Ubuntu Desktop is open-source and freely available on the web
You can alter it as you want. Highly secure and used in AL projects
What do you dislike?
Not very user friendly when compared with windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Machine learning and training devices
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must try an alternative for windows


    Nilesh B.

User friendly ubuntu

  • November 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop is provide user friendly environment to end user perspective. Its having stable and clean attractive interface. Most useful functionality as technical people that is terminal. Just run command or script that provide user friendly out put. scripting and command line interface ( terminal )is the most power full functionality. It's easier to trace out the processes and server performance and activity for real users that having accessing large product or websites. Very easy to install, Configure and combability to portability for adapting new implementations. No bug repetition, very easy to use, crash out when system is running multiple process this type of issue is very less. This is the most desirable future of ubuntu desktop that make it OS as User friendly ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
I have used ubuntu from last four year in my technical experience but update future of ubuntu its self its very difficult if program is crashed in middle and give either OS update error or library or module install error. That time I have to take help from ubuntu expert help to resolve this type of error. Some of the software installation though terminal only I don't know why its not install and just giving progress view on desktop from ubuntu software installation view.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have try to solve file management and sync and parallels thread processing its happening through the ubuntu Desktop terminal. Its easy to identify number of process list out and count and also manage server configuration and server load through the distribution through the load balancer. Its great way to manage this problem using this OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to represent ubuntu is truly user friendly because its provide easy way to operate and its inbuilt functionality more convenience to use it and operate it.so, its provide multiple way to configure, develop and deploy the software into the real world.it convivence to provide real time scenario to deal with technical difficulties.


    Kalindi P.

Great for new linux users to start with a 5 years long term support OS

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop latest release 20.04.1 LTS provides 5 years long time support which means the user can download free updates and security until April 2025. The newly added dark mode in this release is amazing for the eyes of the user. Another great feature is the Do Not Disturb toggle which makes it easier for the user to turn off all the desktop notifications.
What do you dislike?
Installation is a real challenge for beginner users of Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps me use the Linux system easily and is the most preferred among the Linux users. It is fast and hence helps individuals and professionals with their work.


    Consumer Services

Best open source for programmers

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are many reasons. First of all is for free open source. Second it offers developers bash command line which is really amazing experience.Moreover, it provide security without buying external antisecurity to protect information.
What do you dislike?
For me i really like everything about it but one note is that sometimes for no reason it crashes but rarely.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actually using ubuntu desktop helps me giving the environment needed to develop web applications.


    Hector H.

Very efficient and light OS allowing you to have your personal and business applications working

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is light and allows to run concurrent sessions and have big application working
There are many emulators and you can run Windows applications
Easy to use,
Does not take a lot of hardware resources
What do you dislike?
it breaks if too many processes are running
You have to be monitoring available hardware resources (HTOP)
Some windows application are not compatible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can do my daily job easily: All business applications, eMail, chat and also server simulations; All personal apps Youtube, Gmail
I Can run a full production server and emulate all user access to it
Communications are easy to use, so I can share my programs with the community
Easy to deploy my new programs using open source tools such as GIT
Integrates all steps of the software maturity process
Allows to work from home
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very good OS for personal or business use.
Please consider: - It is NOT windows, so the interface varies and some users will struggle
- For running windows applications, you must select an emulator or wait for the app to be available for Ubuntu
- Support is not always found, as far as it is an open software, you must rely on the internet support sources or to know someone else with good technical knowledge

Based on multitasking, you can can have servers and users emulations in your computer
You can save expenses on additional hardware
Old hardware is supported


    Charu A.

UBUNTU an ideal Solution for LINUX Capabilities

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the linux features are very well integrated in UBUNTU Desktop. The ease of using the terminal
What do you dislike?
GUI capabilities can be much more enhanced and can be improved with more debugging and troubleshooting options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
connecting remote solutions or using putty terminal for connecting different servers, it also is an effective replacement for RHEL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
do make use of terminal and GUI to the fullest


    Information Technology and Services

The OS that will make you tech savvy

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux based OS. Complete control over OS
What do you dislike?
Getting driver support for old hardware might be require getting your hands dirty.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development for Data Science, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence


    Mirko T.

Solid and free!

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free and easy to use, lots of regular upgrades.
What do you dislike?
Not as user friendly as windows and might need to have some knowledge of terminal commands.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Saving money since it's free to use and in tough times this is a major perk! Also nice to operate everything from the terminal.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

prolong the life of your old computer

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have an 2010 27" iMac. Running MacOS X on this machine (no SSD) became unbearably slow. And then when I installed Ubuntu on it, life returned to the machine. You could browse with as many tabs as you liked and I even run Windows 10 Home on a VirtualBox inside it without issues. It sure gave the machine two more years of use.
What do you dislike?
Bluetooth support is awful. I cannot begin to describe how much. As a result I was using a USB Apple keyboard and a wireless mouse with a USB dongle. Also, every time I've tried to use Bluetooth headphones the result was disappointing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to keep a perfectly functioning machine in use for longer. It allows me to run Linux on a good hardware without the fuss of searching and / or configuring drivers. It is a viable third alternative to Windows and MacOS X, if you want to do web browsing, word processing (Libreoffice and Google docs are good alternatives) and ssh. I can also run docker containers and microk8s at ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're an IT professional, give it a shot. If you have children, let them try this. They will teach you how to use it after.