Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Progress OpenEdge RDBMS

Progress Software | Progress OpenEdge RDBMS 12.2.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sainath P.

Openedge is very Easy to understand if you have basic analytical skills

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy for all programmers, Capability to create solutions for business problems.
What do you dislike?
Less popular compared to other languages with same capabilities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With openedge ,I was able to find a way to solve their day to day problems with the help of business consultant


    Information Technology and Services

Neech Technology

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support Cloud, web services, SSO, Web and desktop all type of applcations.
What do you dislike?
Less knowledge available online.........
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are modernizing our application with the help of progress and it is such a nice learning experience. While working on everyday, we are exploring nice progress features
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go with latest version of openedge and use react JS is frontend..


    Senura F.

One of the best Business app development platforms

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
4GL and aeasy to code and can develop products easily. It was the very first languag that I enterned the carrier as a software engineer and it has helped me to master the basics and to learn more advanced coding techniques with Openedge. OpenEdge is a powerful framework for building CRUD application. The core ABL (OpenEdge language) is different enough a language from the mainstream to be interesting for an inquisitive programmer and for your bosses arguments for everyone to understand where the others are coming from to make sense. It is never a bad idea to learn new (and different!) languages. It keeps the mind working and teaches you concepts that might not be available in your language.
What do you dislike?
Licensing is a bit pricy for small business to make useful especially for the asian countries so if we can get it for a reduced price it has a very higher chnge of getting more famous
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Banking and Finance(Loan,Savings,Higher purchase )
CRM


    Naveen K.

Working on OpenEdge as developer. Quick and easy to learn and code the solution

  • December 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's architecture - very simple to understand and implement. English like query language for database.
Continuous improvements in technology by introducing new features with upgrades to support stand alone, web and cloud applications.
OpenEdge Explore - Powerful tool to manage all the application, data and web servers from UI.
Supports online schema changes to database.
What do you dislike?
Limited documentation and community to find the solutions like other languages. One can get support and knowledge about features but has to write solutions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on Progress applications of Healthcare and Insurance domain to manage their complex database and business transaction. We solve the client's business problems related to enhancements to their application for integration, development and deployment. Tools available for development i.e. Development Studio, OpenEdge explorer makes it easy to develop and deploy the applications.


    Ganesh M N.

Solution to the complex business process

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy queries programming language, with highest security.. easy for programming..
What do you dislike?
Working opportunity is less. Need educate clients . And need to advertise more technology.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have worked on insurence domain and manufacturing domain with progress technology with ERP softwares.. performance need to improve..


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Expensive, closed-source, legacy technology

  • December 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to update data adhoc using procedure editor.
What do you dislike?
Slow performance, lack of ecosystem, poor quality dev tools, no modern technology like WebSockets, gRPC, HTTP/2, etc. no proper unit testing (ABLUnit is integration testing). Unnecessary complexity (JSDO, transaction scopes) no foreign key support or calculated columns.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nothing. We are moving off of the platform.


    Janani N.

8 years experience from a Progress developer

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Progress OpenEdge is a fourth generation programming language which can be used to access database queries with your business logic. Plus the Object Orient functionality enables the smooth and well structured programming. It has every functionality needed for software development built in. Plus with additional products of progress, we can build fully fledged software systems when needed.
The query language is quite simple and more close to the human language therefore making it easy for users to build even complex queries.
What do you dislike?
Less community and support. Unlike the other programming languages, Progress OpenEdge has very small community and it
is rather difficult to find solutions without calling Progress Support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Accessing database queries within the business logic makes it rather easy for back end development.
2. Well structured Object Oriented concepts are highly efficient
3. Pro datasets, temp tables, design structures, inbuilt REST servers are very useful for architectural design
4. Transactions, rollback functions, error handling is very successful in development
5. Data recovery, replication, disaster management, real time data replication
6. Low code programming
7. in built REST API
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Progress OpenEdge is a high level programming language with latest technical capabilities like Object Oriented development, proDatasets, Database Administration, REST servers in built and so on. This is a highly reliable development platform for critical and high volume data processing. I have been using Progress products since 2012 and I started working on it with Progress 4GL 10.2b. I developed number of applications in large scale (i.e. finance, logistics, production processing and Enterprice resource management)


    Program Development

Progress Openedge Review

  • November 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can to the toughest things easily by writing less code.
What do you dislike?
Some features are still not supported like handling the multipart form API.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I did all the curd operations on database using progress 4gl and I found it very convenient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a good language have full support for backend as well as for front end (GUI)


    Wishwa W.

I have been using Openedge to develop ERP related applications for more than 12 years.

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ABL. Query language. Database Performance.
What do you dislike?
The product is bit costly. Documentation of it was not straight forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's good tool to right ERP applications. I have been mostly using old features of Openedge which uses the procedural programs.


    Browndon B.

Quick and easy to learn, can easily implement programs and user friendly

  • November 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Progress is very user friendly and easy to use alot of code is automatic and there’s multiple key words to help accomplish what you’re trying to achieve in a more efficient manner
What do you dislike?
Although most cases it’s easy to spot a mistake sometimes when coming across a syntax errror progress will tell you the mistake is somewhere in the program instead of telling you the specific line
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It’s easy to maintain a database from a busi Point of view and easy to add new changes to the databe without it completely falling over
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great substitute for oracle