Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SonarQube Server Ready with Support from Linnovate

Linnovate - Open Source Innovation | 1.3.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Good product for coding standards enforcement

  • December 20, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Several pre defined coding standards , IDE support, Free community edition
What do you dislike?
Too much noise. No easy way to ignore all existing issues with several release mode projects. Licensed versions too costly
Takes long time to run rules
IDE support - cannot run analysis at package level
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enforce coding standards


    Information Technology and Services

Cover your code using Sonar

  • November 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Code coverage, Adding templates of custom rule sets, existing rule sets, check the code quality, apply different solutions to adhere to the code quality and rectify the code quality violations and secure coding is very important aspect and very essential for gaining client trust. code coverage and unit test report is generated. Very well used in Continuous Integration.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such. As per my usage knowledge, I have no dislikes with respect to SonarQube. Sonar qube is best used in all of the code coverage purpose and finding code quality. Improving the code quality is very important for client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Banking applications, Development and maintenance. Code coverage and code quality checks and report generation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, I would like to recommend to every developer and project to track and enhance the code quality and this facilitates code reviews.


    Information Technology and Services

Sonar Qube Review

  • November 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Freedom to implement different type of analyses and the ability to quite quickly get some results. Its quite clear that the tool is going in the rigth direction and have the support from the community to carry on.
What do you dislike?
Requires some technical knowledge to deploy it and then analyse some results. If there is any way to automate a few steps and provide some basic help that with a few clicks people can see results it coud push it to another level.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monitoring of development code regarding some quality rules and best practices.
Some basic errors made by junior resources were identified and fixed even before going fwd for future 'copy-paste'.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really try it! I become a fan!


    Financial Services

Salesforce Development Team using SonarQube

  • November 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to create stage gates and quality rules that tell me at a glance how many issues, and of what type, need to be addressed.
What do you dislike?
Integrations with Continuous Integration (CI) software requires workarounds, and there aren't many pre-built libraries to support them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can see at a glance whether the code is meeting quality standards, and can easily review and accept or schedule issues for remediation.


    Sandeep J.

Best code review tool

  • November 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Accurate output every time when you use the sonar cube
What do you dislike?
ease of use can be improved. There should be ability for user to add new rulesets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
code review


    Pranavi B.

Amazing Tool

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing i like in SonarQube is - it not only helps to find bugs, it also provides solution to fix the bugs.
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific. I don`t have any anything.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Checking code quality, detect bugs and finding duplicate code


    Shahram J.

Top Quality Code Quality Dashboard

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All valuable software metrics could be found packed in this nice piece of software.
What do you dislike?
I am so impressed by this software that can't see any downside in it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keeping an eye on the quality of software being developed like cohesion and technical debt.


    Samuel B.

Code Analytics Tool That Has Gotten Better with Age

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sonarqube is my one stop shop to find out the health of my code and the ability to integrate it with build tools and continuous integration ensures I'm always getting up to date information. It can quickly help you highlight trouble (hot-spots) in your code base and has integration with JIRA so that you can create a ticket and make sure the work to fix it isn't lost. Support for multiple projects with multiple configurations is also a huge plus because not all projects are the same. Sonarqube has been my go-to code analytics tool for many years as a Java developer.
What do you dislike?
Initial set up when using build tools like Maven or Gradle can be a bit challenging if you're just learning but once you've got the set up correct you usually don't need to edit it much after that point.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use SonarQube to ensure that my team and I are adhering to coding best practices defined as static rules and that we are maintaining good code coverage while not adding to technical debt. Sonarqube makes it extremely simple to tweak what is/is not considered technical debt for your team and as mentioned, makes it easy to identify hot spots to remedy. I use SonarQube as an early warning system that there may be some issues in the code that the team needs to address and the dashboard and drill down metrics make it easy to identify these issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I wouldn't hesitate to plug SonarQube into one of your current projects and see what metrics it can generate for you and if they are helpful. I have a feeling that once you start to see what it can uncover that you'll use it more often than not to feel confident that your code is healthy and that your team is adhering to best practices for your company and the wider coding community.


    Aviation & Aerospace

Valuable tool for code quality analysis

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After getting the setup right, it's a "set it and forget it" solution. Also, the defaults are very sensible and we rarely needed to change them. It is very useful and provides a good integration with our existing build system, including Gradle and Jenkins. We recently upgraded to a newer major version and the upgrade went almost completely smooth, which is a big plus.
What do you dislike?
The setup can be somewhat frustrating and (especially for older versions) some of the functionality, like the history, can be very, very slow. This got fixed in recent versions but now you can have huge, huge elastic search indices, which can be somewhat of a problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it, surprise, to keep up with our code quality. This means that it is integrated with our continuous builds and reports are autogenerated when builds happen. The main benefit is that it not only does the analysis but gives the reason why something was marked and how to solve it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a very nice tool but make sure to have somebody who can administer and set it up correctly, as the integration with different database backends, etc. can be troublesome at times.


    Eric M.

Static Code Analysis with centralized reporting and tracking made easy!

  • June 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to run both locally within your IDE (Eclipse, Jetbrains, etc) via the SonarQube plugin so you can correct any issues before committing your code, and you can also run it from your CI server (I use Bamboo) as part of the build step. There are quality gates that will let you fail the build if it doesn't meet certain quality criteria. That quality gate can fail the build. PCI compliance requires that you perform static code analysis against your in-scope code. This tool is a great addition to your code deployment pipeline! It also supports many languages such as Java, Python, C but expect to pay for plugins for Objective-C and Swift.
What do you dislike?
They discontinued the JIRA plugin that allows you to create a story for a problem found in your code, right within the SonarQube web interface. I feel like everyone uses JIRA for story/bug tracking so why get rid of that plugin?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To ensure quality code and meet PCI compliance requirements, SonarQube allows us to analyze code from a central location and make it part of the code deployment pipeline for all code before it ships.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a free (excluding the extra plugins and support they offer), open source project and only takes an hour to get up and running. It will help you understand your code better and become a better coder overall.