Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 16.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 16.04 - 20210611

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sourav D.

Ubuntu - The Super OS in the making

  • July 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* Ubuntu is an open-source operating system and comes on top of Linux which is feature-rich & provides the ability to customize as per requirement.
* Memory management is quite efficient and makes high-end processing very smooth.
* The algorithm which is put up for managing threads and making all cores performant is very reliable and efficient.
* The codebase is updated continuously for the latest security patches.
* It is managed by a group of experienced open-source developer who makes sure that performance is the first thing to focus on.
What do you dislike?
* UI can be much better and sometimes we can face some bugs after the update.
* The app store contains a limited amount of software.
* Sometimes the installation or update takes a long time and needs to be optimised.
* For gamers, ubuntu may not be the right fit.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We utilise Ubuntu in our VMs for deploying web apps. It is a much more performant and lightweight operating system for servers. Any configuration can be managed by the terminal without using GUI.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is always recommended to use the LTS stable builds for lesser bugs and issues.


    MAYANK S.

Best for the all the developers

  • July 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- The best thing is the community support for any kind of development you do, installing a new software is very easy.
- Since it's open-source you can also alter OS-level things if required.
What do you dislike?
- Sometimes packages get corrupt and you need to re-install the OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Using it in day-to-day life for doing web development and as an IT professional.


    Financial Services

Ubuntu linux review

  • June 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a great facility like easy to use and flexible, which provides long-term support for the OS, provides a stable support system for the long term. It provides very secure environment .
What do you dislike?
This software has to install manually, which means one must have good knowledge about the installation process clearly before installation. It doesn't have good graphic quality which becomes heard for new games.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Actually, our work is based on financial systems which need great support in terms of security which is provided by this OS. so we used it for customer information processing.


    Shubham S.

Ubuntu the best os for devs

  • June 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to customise, ubuntu gives you the power to customise the os to a large extent, also it manages resources very efficiently compared to other os which results in faster performance.
What do you dislike?
The app store, the app store does not have the most commonly used applications like edge, teamviewer also updating the already installed app is a very painful and long process.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Better resource utilisation helps me to do multitasking very efficiently. I can run more number of apps very smoothly on ubuntu as compared to other os with same device specification.


    Tessa J.

Best OS for developers

  • June 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a very straightforward OS to use. I especially like the flexibility that the terminal offers especially as a Software Developer. It's my go to terminal to use on Windows (bash)! The best use for Ubuntu I've been privy to is the VM and server capabilities. I learned about VMs and their usefulness on Ubuntu and from then, I've been well versed in virtualization.
What do you dislike?
It can take a bit of getting used to, so there is a learning curve to consider when getting into Ubuntu. It helps that I got an introduction to Ubuntu from a young age, but it's not as user-friendly as Windows or macOS. It's more for tech-savvy persons.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu helps you experience the true power of computers because of their flexibility. The most significant benefit of using Ubuntu is having complete customization or building new software because it's easier to manage your dependencies on Ubuntu. You also have bash's powerful scripting capabilities at your fingertips.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I urge everyone to get into Ubuntu if you're serious about computing. From networking to hardware to software, there's nothing you can't do in Ubuntu once it's related to computing.


    Carter Z.

Ubuntu for the Unconventional

  • June 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The upside to using Ubuntu is your capability to customize your base experience. Not particularly the ascetic piece, which is much less important, but the programs you run and how exactly they run.
What do you dislike?
It is somewhat of a niche product, in that it is used for a variety of things, but not all at once. Simply put, if you use this operating system for something, you're not always guaranteed to find someone else who uses it the same.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It allows me the freedom to run different programs on a computer that I otherwise would not be able to. Specifically it can be used with game emulators that other operating systems might reject.


    Prashant N.

Ubuntu one of the best OS

  • June 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The OS is customisable which helps the developer to explore more things. Best to do computer programming. Fast and best security provided in Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
User interface where it should be more like windows. Like options should be there. OS not much user friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's best for programming. Fast responsive which helps in better in software development.


    Zander B.

Really stable and powerful tool

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Because it is freeware and really easy to use
What do you dislike?
That it is not very windows compatible with some app that is
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Help is with out the box thinking and security


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu:- Unknown but Useful

  • June 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about Ubuntu is its security, In ubuntu their is less chance of malware attacks and as it provides various CLI to boost and optimize your daily task and also it is free source to use.
What do you dislike?
There are no drawbacks for ubuntu but the thing which I don't like is that there is less software which can be used in Ubuntu for Microsoft Office you have to use an alternative version for this but this is because of it's less popularity over other OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is a Linux-based OS so the best thing about is its simple use and it is virus-free so you don't need to take any tension about it. Other than that Ubuntu has a bash command which helps me faster and optimizes my daily task like maintaining folder structure and networking-related tasks.


    Akash S.

Ubuntu.. Developer's Life saver!

  • June 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most important thing is that Ubuntu is an oipen source os. So we can modify it as per our use without any restrictions.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike about Ubuntu is that for a beginner its pretty hard to understand the day to day operations and codes that'll be use in ubuntu.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is an oipen source operating system so any requirement that we have, we can perform in it. Its free of cost so that makes it the best option for students also who wants to learn Linux.