Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 16.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 16.04 - 20210611

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Eric S.

Benefits of using Ubuntu

  • May 05, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its free and easy to install on the PC and Server and its getting better every year.
What do you dislike?
Linux scripting is hard work, not being a developer the slashes and dots in the scripts take time to figure out and need a number of Google searches to find the answers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Able to use as a testbed and with Apache middleware can add other Systems or applications on top.

Built and tested a number of Content Management Systems (CMS) products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful to have a Developer with Linux scripting experience.


    Anthony E.

An OS That I can Live By

  • December 16, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the community-driven, open-source aspect of Ubuntu, as well as its definition "a quality that includes the essential human virtues; compassion and humanity." Ubuntu has recently replaced Windows as my daily-driver - and for good reason! This operating system has finally come into its own and incorporates ease of use, functionality, design, and speed into a one-stop, open-source solution to all my computing needs.
What do you dislike?
Being accustomed to Windows, Linux poses its own set of challenges when making the jump to Ubuntu. I feel that Ubuntu is a great stepping-stone into the world of Linux due to its incorporation of graphical user interfaces, providing users with similar functionality to Windows. My dislikes all stem from nothing more than lack of experience and working knowledge at this point - again all my questions have been answered thus-far by seeking assistance online through forums and technology articles. Ubuntu has proven to be a great platform capable of everything I have looked into.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu provides a free and stable replacement to Windows without sacrificing any functionality, support, or usability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Utilize the fantastic community support knowledge-base - it is there for a reason!


    Jon J.

Potentially a major competitor next to Apple and Microsoft

  • August 13, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The vision that Ubuntu is starting to launch includes features and products that could potentially give it a very high competitive advantage over companies like Apple, Microsoft, and Android. They're are now revealing some pretty amazing products like "Ubuntu Edge."
What do you dislike?
The bummer about it is that with being a part of an open source community, your funding suffers. Their current crowd funding project on indiegogo for the Ubuntu Edge will probably not even fund.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out. Open source rocks!


    Ahmed S.

Most reliable and sucure operating system

  • August 12, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Ubuntu operating system for the past 2 years. Ubuntu is very fast in start-up, shutdown speed and also it has a very simple and nice GUI customizations. I've been using it for installing oracle weblogic server and deploying my oracle java applications on it and to be honest Ubuntu is very fast in retrieving data from the database and also it is very secure and reliable.
What do you dislike?
The most thing I dislike in Ubuntu is the complexity in using it and I don't mean the normal using I mean the professional working such as programming, applications development, servers, etc. You have to spend sometimes in using it so if you have a problem then you'll solve it quickly otherwise you have to search for sometimes to reach the solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use it and you will never use another operating system.


    Michael S.

Great When Applied Properly

  • June 12, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am tech savvy but I am not a developer or IT guy. I used Ubuntu when I needed a simple operating system for my newly purchased Raspberry Pi. Raspberry Pi's have limited memory space because your hard drive is an SD card. I only needed to run XBMC to play movies one my TV through my Raspberry Pi from an external Hard Drive. Ubuntu was perfect. I am 100% certain that any other OS would have crash my Raspberry Pi. The UI for Ubuntu and Linux in general allows for much more freedom than either Windows or OSX.
What do you dislike?
Huge learning curve. Definitely not for everyone. Really only works if you can get it write, but when you get it right it shines bright.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before venturing into the world of linux make sure you understand certain system fundamentals.


    Mitch M.

Best Flavor

  • May 26, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Coming from the Mac/Pc world Ubuntu is a surprisingly easy transition, it has a much easier UI than I had expected.
What do you dislike?
Linux is definitely not for the average user, it does have a learning curve and your mainstream OS are much better equipped with simplicity and ease of use for non programmers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mint is very similar and many would argue is a little better, I would weigh the two options before deciding.


    Greg M.

Good distribution to get acquainted

  • March 10, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a great distributon for those who are just getting their feet wet with Linux. It is much easier than in the past to get Linux set up, the drivers installed, and be off and running. The user interface is nicely designed, and commonly used software is pre-installed so even if you are installing from scratch (not imaging), you are ready to go sooner... unlike Windows where you need to install Office, then Adobe Reader, etc. While other Linux distributions were content to have Comp Sci PhDs and self-professed geeks as their user base, Ubuntu is really the first Linux distribution that is making a serious attempt at wider market adoption.
What do you dislike?
Despite Ubuntu's efforts to make Linux more appealing to the masses, be prepared to tinker and wrestle with your system more than you would ever have to do under Windows or OS X. For example, driver support is still lacking. This isn't really Ubuntu's fault so much as it is hardware manufacturers', but nonetheless users are still caught up in the middle. Graphics drivers tend to be the worst, especially for non-Intel cards, and this can affect usability of some of the desktop features. Or worse, it can blow away your whole display configuration and leave you completely lost unless you know what to do in the Terminal to rescue yourself. This is the sort of thing that still leaves Ubuntu with small market shares even after years of effort - the experience is still not worth the hassle for most people. Community-based support is the only option available; the quality of the support naturally varies and so does the respones time, so I can't blame people for saying they can't rely on Ubuntu.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is still really only for tech-savvy users.


    David S.

Linux based OS

  • February 23, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and efficient, UI is friendly especially for first time PC users. Freeware, open-source development. Ideal for developers to test run ideas and get a following.
What do you dislike?
Pre-installed applications are pretty much all you will use, very basic. Software such as iTunes wont work. I found skype to work but not convincingly! Few programmes are developed for linux, so linux developers tend to provide work-arounds (by having download sources think your running windows).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
First off, its a big no for business or professional users. There is no support except from the community of users. Its primarily for personal use. For users looking to develop perhaps. Quick and easy to install, few software available. Developers tend to offer 'homebrews' which let sites like itunes think you are running windows so you can downlaod the software. Even then, its buggy and wont operate as you'd except.
I have Ubuntu on one on my laptops to get a better understand of the linux 'world', and im quite happy with W7.....id even be happier with Vista!
Ubuntu recently introduced a tablet based OS which will be interesting to see: further lowering costs on tablets which people want to see!


    Jared T.

Best linux platform for those just getting started with linux

  • November 13, 2012
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to dual boot with windows, lots of support, Ubuntu community generally eager to help, learning curve is not as steep compared to other Linux releases, free
What do you dislike?
I've had some issues with drivers. One of the updates on 10.04 was not compatible with my hardware so I've opted out of updates for that reasons. Another time when I installed it the drivers for wireless did not work correctly (8.04) and ultimately I had to wipe it from my laptop. It is definitely different that using windows where it will try to resolve things on its own.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you know very little about Linux and need to get better this should be your first option


    Administrator in Computer Software

Industry Standard Linux Desktop

  • October 01, 2012
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use interface that allows non-linux users to easily adapt to the linux environment.
What do you dislike?
Community support can sometimes lack in response and be hard to troubleshoot major issues. There are also issues with driver support for advanced hardware (i.e. expensive video/audio cards and wifi).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu hit the linux desktop market like a storm. It is extremely user friendly, and offers users the best of the linux world to people who do not have a linux background.