Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,181 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vlad V.

Best Linux, period

  • May 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and open sourced. It's also a lot more well (intuitively) designed than the other Linux distros
What do you dislike?
Still a long way behind Windows when it comes to user friendliness
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Heavy user of Ubuntu Server, for web applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the most polished Linux distro. And it also comes in many flavors, light, server, etc. to suit your needs


    Toni L.

A server OS with a little "human" in it

  • April 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that Ubuntu has become the de-facto standard for all kinds of documentations means the community support is fantastic.
There are also a huge library of well maintained PPA repositories that help you set up any kind of system.
What do you dislike?
The bundled commercial tools and software by Canonical can be at times annoying and hard to remove.
There have also been some major bugs in things like GRUB etc that are unacceptable for enterprise level usage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting a stable and reliable operating system where we don't need to manually compile anything.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out the different forums and searching for Ubuntu specific tutorials and instructions. You'll realize how huge the community really is.


    Noe R.

Extremely reliable

  • April 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This flavor of linux in particular tries to have always two versions, the normal one that is constantly updated and the LTS (Long term support) that is perfect when you are deploying web services for your company.
What do you dislike?
They come from Debian, and if you are a Debian user trying to move to Ubuntu, they change several of the default folders, like when you install apache is not where you are user to have it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use ubuntu to host all the web pages through apache2 and mysql, installing new instances is incredible fast just by using apt-get to install the programs.


    Benjamín W.

Linux has come a long way

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, attractive UI, very user friendly experience. You don't have to be a tech saavy to use a Linux distro anymore. This is as close as Windows and Mac as you can get for free.
What do you dislike?
Unity. I like my old school task bar at the bottom of the screen and windows with borders and fixed action bars. Unity forces you to a Mac like experience which I, after 2 years of use, still don't feel comfortable with.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu to code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the jump, it´s a really good alternative to Windows and Mac. Unity is a little bit obnoxious, if you´re a Mac user you´ll get used to it fast.


    Eduardo T.

Really good OS for software development (and many other tasks)

  • March 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its freedom to use it the way you want..
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, software packages are not in the repositories, or these don't work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is free to use, and it is compatible with any tool or framework needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't let the terminal intimidate you: it is your friend! (And a very powerful one)


    Austin C.

Better with Gnome

  • March 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME desktop environment makes Ubuntu extensible and less intrusive. The release cycle of Ubuntu is dependable and releases are easy to upgrade to. Ubuntu is stable and makes a great bootable flash drive. APT is a great package manager as well. I have had a great time using Ubuntu as a headless server as well, as it is a very stable and well-documented platform, and has many options on services like AWS.
What do you dislike?
The Unity Desktop is atrocious (and previously invasive). The only downside to APT is that Canonical is slow with updating the main package repository, which means that there is a longer wait for updates from many of the standard software packages, as opposed to a constant release like Arch.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing on one of the most common systems to deploy on makes it easier for teams to test software locally without the need to upload to a continuous integration service. This helps finding platform specific bugs as soon as possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu has one of the best communities in the Linux world and is also easier to switch to from Mac OS or Windows than some of the other distributions. Finding help for problems is easy and the software is mature + well maintained. The Unity Desktop environment is much worse than the GNOME shell environment.


    Internet

Powerful, fast and LTS provides useful longevity for business desktop usage

  • March 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UI is easy for new users to adapt to, nice selection of packages
What do you dislike?
Installing some 3rd party packages like nomachine takes some effort
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance focused workstation for production-like environment for developers and wide array of libraries and software for the platform


    Akanksha A.

Ubuntu - An awesome OS for beginner Linux Users to learn

  • March 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User Experience of Ubuntu is the best among all the Linus distros I have tried out. It is very useful for a beginner who has just started with Linux.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu Software Center should be updated with new software versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
From business perspective, most important advantage is that it is free and open source.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider Ubuntu if you are a startup who won't like to invest in OS and still would like to have a well supported OS with all the features for rapid development.


    Alexander G.

Ubuntu remains a solid platform for development and servers.

  • March 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is incredibly flexible. I've used it personally for many years, so using it for work is great. I am a fan of the "apt" package manager and bash, so Ubuntu is my distribution of choice. CoreOS is also a great system.
What do you dislike?
The distro upgrade path is still a little complicated if a user doesn't know specifically what to do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A free, open-source server OS lets us save money, while Ubuntu has a broad user base and is a stable, supported distribution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many distributions of Linux, but Ubuntu remains one of the most user-friendly, stable, well-documented versions.


    Waqar H.

A beginner friendly distribution

  • February 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the most beginner friendly distribution I have come across. You won't need to install drivers, in most cases, for anything. If anything goes wrong, you'll find its solution in no-time. It has a very friendly community which don't hesitate to help.
What do you dislike?
When it is newly installed, system is very fast and responsive. But as the time passes, it gets slower and starts lagging. I faced issues with display as it becomes laggy. One thing I disliked most is lack of support for graphics card drivers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am developer and most of the tools I use performs very well on Linux OS. I've tried various Linux distributions but I got stuck with ubuntu because it doesn't require setup for everything. And it has an awesome community, so if I face an issue, I can find it's solution in very short span of time.