Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,183 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Renato O.

Ubuntu server is great

  • January 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, long term support, online guides from other users showing how to do some stuff.

Overall stability
What do you dislike?
It doesn't auto cleans the installed kernels, so you may end with no disk space just to discover 10 kernel images filling all the disk
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
General Linux Servers used in virtualized environments (both Xen and VMWare)


    Chris S.

Ubuntu Rocks

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
East of installation and of course the fast response and boot up time. With a few more applications for business tasks, may end up replacing our W10 machines in the future.
Also really like that the resources needed to run this system is very low and you do not need a high powered machine to fully use the operating system.
What do you dislike?
Really have not found anything that I dislike outside of needs for more business applications to help run our business, but as it stands it is put together well and strong competitor as a third option.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Just reviewing at the moment, will be using it for development work in the future for software products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep spreading the word on its ease of use and cost savings as an option for Windows users.


    Rubén S.

Personal and professional use

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Ubuntu since the first versions and it has become a stable and easy to use Linux distribution. The applications can be easily installed via repositories and you don't have to deal compiling you own applications (but you can do it if you want).
What do you dislike?
This operative system has become more stable with every version, but there has been always problems updating from a version to another. This problems don't happen as much as in earlier versions but even with that, for professional use it is very recommended to use the LTS versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You have a free operative system, very use to install and use and compatible with a big amount of software.


    David W.

Friendly Linux for everyone and any PC

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is super easy to install. It works well, and on most any hardware. I haven't had a problem installing Ubuntu anywhere.

Get a Live CD (or USB stick) and boot, and check it works on your machine before even having to commit to installing.

Heck, I've even used Ubuntu Live CDs to fix corrupt Windows installations.

It is also well-supported with regular six-monthly releases, and an avid community behind it.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu hides some things from power users. You can get them, of course, if you know what you're doing but the default environment doesn't have a terminal pinned to the tray but yet has Amazon there.

Also, it wants to be rebooted routinely. This is in contrast to much of the UNIX legacy of being able to run for years and years, unlike Windows' weekly / monthly reboot requirement.

Also, there is some quality control issues. I find that things break when doing nothing more than a usual apt-get upgrade without any advanced or unusual tweaking. For instance, syslog fills up with problems when Python is upgraded and other apps - that were installed by Ubuntu - can't find Python anymore, because the Python upgrade didn't preserve a symlink.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is always a good choice for a server where you don't want/need Windows-specific software (e.g. Exchange) and don't want the overhead of Windows, and importantly, where you just want to be able to ssh into the box without having to deal with the overhead of a GUI.

Ubuntu provides a very low-cost / low-spec server for a very versatile range of things.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep in mind Ubuntu Linux - and other Linux distributions - are at no cost, but you will want to pay for support if you are using it in an enterprise setting. You can't forget that.


    Veronica A.

Not what i think it was going to be

  • December 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a free, light operation system. Easy of installing and running.
The interface was very nice and friendly.
What do you dislike?
If you want to download any program, you have to know how to use the terminal, you need programming knowledge.
I couldnt use Netflix! For using popular software like the desktop version of spotify, you have to do a tutorial.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security networks testing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need a lot of time to adapt yourself to this kind of software. Take your time, and please do not erase your windows partition. You can keep your windows and still use Ubuntu in another "place".


    Computer Software

You know you ubuntu

  • December 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how Windows like Ubuntu is while still sticking to its linux roots - it's the perfect entryway into Linux for a Windows user. As someone who finally gets how powerful UNIX commands are as well as the demands for UNIX in enterprise settings, I like that they tried to make things easy to find and tamed down the no frill Linux experience into something that has pretty graphics, icons and a cool looking GUI to boot.
What do you dislike?
Having to manually install updates like the latest proprietary graphics drivers to get GPU applications to load faster. Linux in general isn't great for gaming either, but that's a minor flaw to be fixed with a decent emulator.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Not having to pay for Windows licenses. Speed for loading Linux servers versus Windows.


    Christian P.

The easier linux

  • December 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's now much easier to install and configure Linux
What do you dislike?
nothing for now.
I don't see for the moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Ubuntu for GLPI Server


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu is the leading cloud OS

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
cloud optimized browser which encourages community and forward thinking approach
help can be found everywhere, with no shortage of support, despite the lack of paid model
What do you dislike?
systemd can be confusing at first, and many of the syntax is starkly different than Redhat/Fedora/Suse linux's
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
the OS is the core of any app, even when hosted on the cloud

Ubuntu is more forward thinking in terms of their drivers/features available

MaaS, yes please
Recommendations to others considering the product:
go for it, try in a container


    Higher Education

Open Source and Flexibility

  • December 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that Linux is open-source makes it a very flexible system and ripe for experimentation. (I actually use Linux Mint, a Linux distribution derived from Debian and Ubuntu.)
What do you dislike?
I have occasionally experienced problems when running Ubuntu on certain hardware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My job involves experimenting with many technologies and programming languages. Linux provides the flexibility I need to handle anything I get my hands on quickly and efficiently.


    Andrew D.

Easy to use Linux distribution

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how much it feels like Windows products and how easy it is to use and the amount of support backing this software.
What do you dislike?
There's not much I don't like. The only thing it could be faster at times.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are no business problems I solve with ubuntu. However the benefits are the cost of the program which is free.