Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,160 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexander K.

The easiest way to switch to Linux

  • May 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This OS is really very user friendly and easy to work with.
Nice and simple install wizard will guide you through all installation process.
No drivers searching, no hardware or software problems, no crashes, no blue screens of death, just install, work and everything always be alright.
Full-featured Linux with all it's advantages.
Unix-like, posix-compliant.
What do you dislike?
Unity is not the best UI I have ever seen. It is nice and pretty, but sometimes is not very friendly to new users.
Application and packages advertisement.
Non-free packages pre-installed.
Full-featured Linux with all it's disadvantages.
Strange software center.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Ubuntu 14.04 and 16.04 on two my work laptops. For about 5 years with Ubuntu I have never regret that I switched to this OS. Everything that I have done in this period of time was under this operating system. After Docker appeared - usage of this OS becomes a lot easier and more comfortable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are choosing between Linux and non-Linux - try Ubuntu, it will break all the stereotypes of the complexity of Linux. It is very easy to start with Ubuntu while it has a lot of advanced configurations if you would like to use them.
If you are choosing between different Linux distributions - try Ubuntu and you will haven't got any problem with hardware, software, libraries, etc.


    Vikko Okviandho L.

Ubuntu Experience

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the interface the most. Clean, intuitive, beautiful. Unlike certain OS based in Redmond. Ubuntu also has great community supports. Not all of them are nice, though. You got to do your homework by master the terms used before spitting too basic question which can easily be answered by search engines.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the quick release cycle. Having to reinstall and reconfiguring everything every six months is just too much. Fortunately, Ubuntu has the special versions called LTS (Long Term Support) which released once every two years with five years of active support. If you're insto stable system, just go with LTS versions. But if you like the up-to-date-ness, regular release would fit you better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I solve the huge cost of software licenses and the threat of malwares from certain OS. By using Ubuntu, I don't have to worry about security and data inconsistencies (due to malware infections).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you depend on some softwares that are Windows-only, you still can try to tun them using WINE compatibility layer. Basically, an emulator for Windows. But remember that WINE is not perfect and there's no guarantee that your softwares can run at all.


    abdullah a.

my technical review for ubuntu

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ubuntu is my first experience with linux so far,I liked the user experience when using the GUI, it was outstanding and I didn't expected it to be this easy and smooth, another thing here for me coming from windows is that I'm not forced to use any antivirus to work safe on my computer.
What do you dislike?
till now ubuntu is still not satisfying me with gaming, all linux I think, however there is interesing games that are playable on ubuntu, but I'm still missing the awesome games on windows.

another issue that I think ubuntu still missing is the app store, I can tell that ubuntu will be more powerful with more bigger app store that offer easy way to download the apps instead of using the terminal and synaptic which is still scary for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In my work field (telecommunication) ubuntu is the most common used between my colleges around the world as it support lot of advanced application that serve in the field.

ubuntu is also free and this is the most hidden useful feature I can discuss, no need to take care of licensed usage of operating systems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ubuntu is the right OS if you are looking for a system that serve your specific advanced work need, you may miss the games, but you will be more productive


    Js L.

Great Linux distro for beginners

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install new programs. As compared to others, it's apt repo contains lots of packages by default.
What do you dislike?
When I started to use Ubuntu, is Gnome 2, which is light weight and faster performance. Now it had changed to Unity, which is not so suite my taste
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm a web developer, it's easy and faster when I use it as my development environment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend all my friends and colleagues to try Ubuntu


    Information Technology and Services

Fine for the desktop

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Desktop offering is best in class, easy to install and use.
What do you dislike?
Package manger is still based on deb files. Long term support isn't that long. Lack of package review introduces more updates more often and less stable packages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Server OS platform. No benefits realized, moving back to the Enterprise Linux product offering from the North Carolina technology firm.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't do it. Enterprise Linux is the bess option


    E-Learning

Excellent work with Ubuntu for more than four years, and do not think to change

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity, Unity graphical interface is very elegant and with a great usability, is a fast, secure and simple to use.
What do you dislike?
Bugs that usually occurs because the video card driver, sometimes a place crashes and you must restart the system, but nothing that would disqualify the system or something. continue still the best option, especially for those coming from Windows.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Working with web development, and I think the super optimized for development system, easy installation of the tools I need.


    Ade V.

The best linux. Period.

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to find and install software. The community is the biggest anf most helpful
What do you dislike?
The current desktop environment version is too heavy for older graphic cards. Can easily replaced by installing xubuntu or lubuntu package
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web development server. I run it inside virtualbox
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always google something if you find problem. Install lubuntu/xubuntu if you have performance problem


    Dmitry K.

Great OS for development and server build

  • April 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like up-to-date software in official repositories. This linux distribution is the most stable one with a huge community, which provides a fast bug tracking and fixing. I also like how is easy is to set up a dev environment on ubuntu, official repos have latest versions of compilers and server software so all in nearly out-of-the box.
What do you dislike?
As all linux OSs, we still don't have any nice graphical editor like Photoshop, gimp does not make the same work, so we still have to create VMs with windows to work with software like PS. Also they should increase the amount of drivers for GPUs and make an easy way to install them
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using linux as development PC OS, because it gives a nice fundament for developers to work on. Easy local server setup and full control.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to set up a local dev environment in web development - Ubuntu is a best choice because of its stability, reliability and amazing power of linux core.


    Blagovest P.

Ubuntu at university environment

  • April 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The security and the desktop user friendliness are the key advantages of Ubuntu. We are using Ubuntu for most of our server environments and for Desktop on some of our client workstations, including University center and a bank institution.
What do you dislike?
The only problem we encountered is the incompatibility with other Linux distributions because of the Ubuntu politics. For example, Ubuntu is using Mir instead of Wayland.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have lowed the IT costs and increased our security. Also, LxC and Docker works very well inside Ubuntu. The main developers of Linux Containers are from Ubuntu!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu has a Long Time Support version (LTS) which comes one in two years and is supported for six years. It fits well into the enterprise plannings and provides good stability!


    Brice P.

Ubuntu as a Desktop as well as as a server

  • March 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-Source (and free), with all I need to work, surf the web, play media, etc. It is really lightweight and fast, even with older computers which seem not to be powerfull enough to do anything anymore.
It is always up-to-date and really easy to maintain.
What do you dislike?
Not much (which is why I use it) ! It may be hard to install on some computer, so you have to check before buying one.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For business, I use it to develop, design and deploy websites. It contains out-of-the-box most of the needed software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just do it ! If you're afraid to switch completely, try first with a live-cd, it is 100% free and won't make any change to your computer !