Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 20221117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,233 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to Use, Good Entry Point for Linux.

  • October 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop is well packaged for the new and somewhat seasoned linux users alike. Easy to learn, with support available on the community forums.

It comes packaged with all the software an everyday computer user would want, such as a photo library, office suite, web browser, email client, chat client, etc.

For the seasoned linux user, many tools are available from the ubuntu package repository (such as software development related packages). PPAs, when available, make installing software sources a breeze.

Ubuntu Server is easy to deploy, and generally just works. It makes setting up MaaS a breeze.
What do you dislike?
They have a release schedule (twice a year) according to which they're packages are updated, in order to ensure a stable platform. Stability is good, but most software releases are stable these days, so the extra throttle is superfluous.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy deployment, easy to learn, generally showstopper bug free. Given that, and being open source and free of charge, it is an easy choice to go with Ubuntu Desktop for office computers.

Given the general availability of restricted driver module related packages, it is easy to take advantage (if there is such an advantage) of a hardware manufacturer's drivers. This applies primarily to GPUs for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many distributions of Linux, but Ubuntu may be the right choice for you if you're looking for an easy to use and deploy environment.


    Scott K.

Extremely easy to use OS whether for desktop or server environments

  • September 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source, community developed, extremely easy to use/manage whether it be for a desktop or server environment. The installer is rather small and goes quickly and since they have LTS distributions, you can be sure that your installation will still supported/current according to their guidelines before EOL. Just being very similar to Debian is a huge plus.
What do you dislike?
There hasn't been too many things that I've disliked about Ubuntu in general -- I feel it's more of how you customize it for yourself to administer easier. Obviously if you're migrating from a completely different distribution, there may be a slight learning curve. The changes between upstart and systemd have been fun.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're able to keep all of our customers running the same software on the servers that have been reinstalled to Ubuntu and managed via salt. It's really streamlined the process of getting a lot of things set up in a short amount of time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a user friendly distro to try out or perhaps migrate over to completely, Ubuntu seems to be rather easy to work with and there's a lot of great help online.


    Alexis T.

I have been used Ubuntu for 10 years, for personal use, java/php development and IT tech researshs.

  • August 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the most easy-of-use linux distribution which i have been used. As end user, I can control every task and configure a lot of functions. Adding compit, you could get an amazing interface, small impact in the performance.
Also, it's great for web developers and sysadmins. We can create a variety of environments.
What do you dislike?
It is continusly patched. Some old bugs still exists(full screen programs are covered by the tools bar).
I'm not sure to use Ubuntu for production / high availability environment, because has a lot of fixes every day and the installation take many desitions for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The most important benefit is what I'm using good free software, stable and with a world wide support community
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are thinking to move or try free software of the linux family, Ubuntu is one of the best ideas.
If you are Java/PHP/Web developer, Ubuntu also is a very good choice, easily you can setup a development environment, virtual machines, etc.


    Ahmed A.

My favorite development OS of all time.

  • August 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the perfect environment for any developer. You have control of everything you need in your environment, in addition to its lightweight.
What do you dislike?
Maybe the lack of support from different softwares such as Adobe Photoshop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OS, Web, and mobile application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should go for it, but spend some time learning it and different terminal commands and bash scripting.


    Information Technology and Services

Good basic Linux server

  • August 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Im not a Linux admin, Im a Windows Admin so the ubuntu server give me an easy to configure server for running Linux products on.
What do you dislike?
as with all Linux flavors, compatibility can be patchy ie some things work but only with particular versions of packages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
getting products working that require a Linux server rather than Windows


    Kyle T.

Ubuntu is a lighter alternative to Windows that helps me focus on productive activities.

  • July 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite feature of Ubuntu is that it tends to require less computer power than Windows to operate smoothly. I've often taken old Windows laptops or computers and given them new life by installing Ubuntu. On top of that, Ubuntu still offers everything I need (chat programs, word processing, spreadsheets, Slack, Skype, etc) to be productive with work. This is also a version of Linux that is easy enough for my mom to understand.
What do you dislike?
There are rare situations when an app I want to use is not available for Linux, but they're usually not productivity apps. I have to use a specific browser (Chrome) to get Netflix to work, and games are also not widely available on the platform. Having said that, this also has the benefit of keeping me focused on work. Other than that, there are sometimes issues with getting certain devices to work (such as bluetooth-connected headphones).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My desktop computer has lasted quite a long time (longer than others have in the past), and I think it's at least partially due to the fact I installed Ubuntu on it and removed Windows the day I bought it. Everything works and the computer is still quick, which is helpful in avoiding issues while I'm trying to get some work done. I remember error messages popping up on a regular basis when I was a Windows user; that kind of stuff doesn't happen for me on Ubuntu. I rarely ever have to restart the computer while I'm in the middle of something.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Some people are scared of using Ubuntu or any other Linux distribution because of the differences between these operating systems and Windows. My advice is to at least try it out for a few weeks to see if it offers any advantages for you. If you're having a lot of difficulties with Windows, it's definitely worth a shot. Also, it's free.


    Sam S.

Freedom comes with a (very slight) cost

  • July 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's the best shot at Linux becoming a mainstream operating system. Between pretty branding, an ambitious CEO, wide hardware support, insanely good documentation, Debian roots, a slick desktop environment (when applicable), and probably most importantly, PPAs/Snappy, Ubuntu gets out of your way and gives developers a lot of options to make things easy for users.

Really, the only reason I'd recommend anyone to NOT use Ubuntu would be if they're already familiar with Linux or a privacy nut.
What do you dislike?
Canonical has a bit of a habit of taking without giving back, whether it be lack of upstream contributions or just reaping users' privacy. Yes, they stopped enabling Amazon's search integration by default, but it still happened, and it's still in the OS. That deducts points.

Also, I hate Unity. Just personal taste, and I know it's pretty intuitive and has a lot of fans, but I'll take a lightweight XFCE any day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All of them. For all the discourse over Unity, I actually just use it on a VPS, so I don't really deal with it on a day-to-day basis.

The biggest benefits are POSIX compatibility and, relative to most other Linux distributions, PPAs. It also has all the expected Debian-related niceties, like BASH, APT, VIM, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's flexible, super well documented, and it's not going anywhere anytime soon. If you're overly concerned about the direction Shuttleworth is taking the company, then maybe look elsewhere, like Debian proper. I genuinely think they learned a little bit of a lesson with the Amazon fiasco, but who knows. Overall though, as someone that uses Gmail and Facebook, my privacy is basically non-existent anyway. I think the benefits of using such a polished distribution outweight the minor privacy concerns.


    Sean Francis N.

Excellent operating system for your daily needs

  • June 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu being an open source operating system based on Linux is an outstanding piece of software. It gives me the tools I need to do basically anything. I have Chrome for web browsing, Blender for 3D modelling ,LibreOffice for office tasks, GIMP for art work and photo editing, and a whole lot more!

Things look different as compared from other operating systems but the common functionalities are present. In all honesty, it is a breeze to use Ubuntu and it will help you become more productive in the long run.
What do you dislike?
Design-wise, Ubuntu does look amateurish. It looks totally odd with some default icons looking a bit aged. The design aspect does not go in flow with the latest design trend. The bubble like application launchers in the Launcher looks odd compared to Windows.

The color scheme of Ubuntu can make it look weird at times. Overtime, the look of Ubuntu can make it look boring but the customization of Ubuntu makes up for this.

Sometimes, Ubuntu has a slower booting time and sometimes lags depending on the system it is running on.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu gives us flexibility, speed, and raw power we cannot find in Windows. Ubuntu speeds up the development process as well by providing us developer tools out-of-the-box. Ubuntu with its kernel supporting a lot of devices makes its deployment to other computers an easier chore.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering to use Ubuntu, do take note that some quirks you are used to Windows will not be present. This might alienate you at first but you will get used to it overtime. Also, an i3 with 2GB RAM is enough to run Ubuntu.


    Luigi V.

The Best Linux Distro for the standard user and more

  • June 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think that ubuntu is the best choice for the user that is passing from windows to linux system. It have a lot of preinstalled application that permit to perform all the basic task. The system can be installed on all comemrcial standard laptor and personal computer. I really appreciate it
What do you dislike?
I think the new version have too much software preinstalled and the more advanced user should define which software to install
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Is a good replace of standard windows client operating system like windows 7 or windows 8
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to change the windows operating system but don't want the complexity of linux system: ubuntu is the best choice


    Higher Education

awesome

  • June 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ease of installation and usage. Support can be found easily. Terminal and Linux like OS.
What do you dislike?
lack of many popular programs that can be found on other Operating systems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Doing Research and writing programmers