Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 20221117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Arun Kumar Jain K.

Very good for open source and developers

  • October 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to do everything on shell terminal.
Very good developer community support.
Most of the production system runs on Ubuntu.
Lot of packages and libraries which can be very very helpful for developers.
What do you dislike?
Not so good when it comes to designing.
If you are used to GUI or if you are not a developer or from tech/IT background, then Ubuntu is not so user friendly for you
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The native shell helps us in exploring a lot of things. A lot of libraries and packages are available that are super useful for developers.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

The best Linux distro for experienced and new users looking for an alternative to proprietary OS

  • October 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu delivers a user-friendly experience that permits first-time Linux users to use the OS without previous training. The user community is huge, and there are many active users in our region. This makes it easy to get support and resolve issues that do occur. Based on my experience with Linux, I can say that Ubuntu is one of the best options for the average user or those new to the Linux world.
What do you dislike?
The main disadvantage is the same as all other Linux distros; unfortunately, some software is unavailable, and some available alternatives don't have the same features or support from the vendors to be safe to use in the long term. Although we have concluded that Ubuntu is the best option for the needs of some team members, it is essential to mention that there are other distros with better performance that adapt better to low-end devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We bought some devices pre-installed with another Linux distro that, although functional, had an outdated interface and poor support for some of our needs. In the search for an OS that would meet our needs, we chose Ubuntu. This turned out to be the right decision because it was easy to learn for the other team members, and part of our team already had previous experience with the system. In addition, using Ubuntu allowed us to be more cost-effective when purchasing devices and met the team's demands.


    Ujjwal A.

Best Opensource linux available for free

  • October 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best Linux version that the open-source community has developed for us. Not only it's free but all the qualities listed here makes it really amazing to work with
1. App store - Ubuntu App store will have all the required apps for day-to-day use and free to download. It makes life so much easier instead of downloading it via terminal command you can simply click download and it gets installed.
2.No lag or Crash - I have hardly come across any scenario where ubuntu has crashed or given me hard times. Process and Battery management is so efficient that you never have to worry about tasks running in the background. Its extremely lightweight and can be used on any low-end pc or laptop.
3. Virus and Malware - They simply don't exist. If you keep your passcode strong its not easy to break into ubuntu.
4. GUI- On top of Linux it gives really cool and clean GUI which I liked the most.
What do you dislike?
Have hard time installing the drivers, so sometimes my WiFI and wireless Bluetooth automatically disconnect due to driver issues. If there would have been driver support then it would make it the perfect operating system for coders. Zoom have few issues with screen sharing in ubuntu.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu helps me with my all day-to-day task which requires extreme coding and debugging sessions and meetings. It gives me clean access to all the directories of the system. The Ubuntu terminal is a one-stop solution to all your problems. APT_GET commands help me install whatever I want with just a few simple commands.
Helps me with a good and reliable lag-free GUI to navigate and free apps for me to timepass when I get bored. Software like Android Studio and VS code run smoothly on Ubuntu.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu Review

  • October 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is open-source, and the setup process is a lot easier. Ubuntu is easier to learn with GUI.
What do you dislike?
Limitations of applications. Playing games is tough on Ubuntu. Driver compatibility issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing my server, the software used is open-source, It gives us customization power.


    Rishi P.

What feature of Ubuntu do you like best?

  • October 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is more faster than Windows since it doesn't run superfluous processes in the background that burn up my RAM, which is what most appeals to me about it. 

Its terminal helps me handle my work-related Git repositories on a regular basis as a programmer. 

And it is considerably safer than Windows. 

Ubuntu is the greatest Linux-based operating system that is beginner friendly and offers one of the best user experiences, in contrast to other Linux-based operating systems that are not as aesthetically pleasing.
What do you dislike?
I have no complaints about Ubuntu, but when I use the 22.04 version, sometimes when I try to use my Bluetooth, it doesn't work. This is the only issue with the 22.04 version; in the earlier versions, everything was fine. 

I'm hoping that the upcoming Ubuntu upgrade will address this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is a great operating system for both servers and desktops. Since I primarily use the desktop version and our company uses Ubuntu servers, I can say that developing on Ubuntu is much simpler than on Mac. Year after year, that OS receives more and more tweaks that are really helpful and change the UX of the system. Since I am a programmer, I can work with IntelliJ, VS Code, and the rest of the cloud stack much more quickly and easily than on Windows.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu - Friendly OS

  • October 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is open source and free which attracts most of the users beacuse of this. It also provides windows like interface which makes easier for the windows users to shift from windows os to ubuntu OS.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu interface is slow compared to windows. Its front end takes time to load and has minimal design in the front end. One who dont have grip in unix commands will find difficult to use ubuntu initially.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is open source and free which saves money. Hence our most of the clients servers are ubuntu based machines. Since ubuntu requires minimal hardware, it is very effective. Also it is secured and flexible.


    SHIVANI P.

Best Operating system to learn programming languages

  • October 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is best Operating system to coding. It is very secure.
What do you dislike?
It is little difficult to understand in the initial phase.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is step to become a computer engineer as it makes coding so simpler.


    Devang S.

A great free and open-source operating system

  • October 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an excellent operating system with high performance, user interface, security and softwares. Ubuntu is free, and open-source anyone can use it. Ubuntu is easy to install and use.
What do you dislike?
The is nothing specific to dislike about Ubuntu but some features can be improved, like copy-paste, software support and graphics. Ubuntu lakes in terms of software support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu as my primary operating system because I don't have to worry about licencing fees. I work on projects which provide high performance in Ubuntu. We can install any software with just a few lines of commands.


    Chetan D.

Best Operating system

  • October 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Among other Linux distros, you will always find the binary of the software for ubuntu. The best thing about ubuntu is the gnome desktop environment, it is best for programming productivity. It is my first choice when deploying the software on the server, because of its huge community support, you are sure you will find help for any problem you faced.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu messed up in the 22.04 release, it is slow and feels very buggy even with the 20 Gb of RAM my laptop has. On the other hand, POPOS 22.04 which is based on ubuntu 22.04 works greate.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu has a low barrier to entry. It is beginner friendly, not because of UI/UX but the overall community support it has. For a web developer like me installing any software is one command away "sudo apt-get .....".


    Krisid M.

Great support community and interface

  • October 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface(GUI) is amazing for a linux system.
You can find a sultion for a question or issue immediately in the internet
What do you dislike?
Some things can have a shortcut instead of having to write commands in the terminal.
Graphic cards support is limited
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Free system. Fast processing