Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GUI Gnome VNC

Arara Solutions | v0621

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,015 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Broadcast Media

Ubuntu - a user friendly distro

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is light, make the boot up really fast. Apps are less likely to hang. Alongside a strong UI the console has some powerful commands in its repetoire which appeals to my liking.
What do you dislike?
On the downside Ubuntu lacks refinement. Lack of certain applications like the office 365 really puts the user at a disadvantage. Also premium applications like Adobe suit and similar apps should be made available for Ubuntu as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For me Ubuntu comes handy for text manipulation and related applications. I need to deal with really large textfiles on a daily basis, the command interface makes it easier for me to manipulate, sort and extract useful info out of the files in a jiffy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ideal if you need a strong UI with command capabilities.


    Matthew B.

Ubuntu is great

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly GUI. Easily learnable and widely used.
What do you dislike?
Not used in more commercial areas. Companies tend to lean towards Red Hat
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud based technologies
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Only go through with learning it if you see value and your companies or position demands its use.


    Computer Software

One of the most user friendly open source OS.

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The useability is better than most of the other open-source desktop OS products available in the market. It contains LibreOffice which is quite competitive enough for most daily work.
What do you dislike?
The installation of software here generally has simple commands which need improvement to double click installers. But can't complain as there are security reasons behind it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most ML software was easy to download and use here along side other OS as we can dual boot with ubuntu. Processing time is excellent when working on ML projects.


    Sattam S.

Very good for development

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's swift and easy for development purposes since we need a lot of file processing, so it minimizes the time consumed for logistics things
What do you dislike?
it's not user friendly, so normal users may have problems using it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implementing software products in a good time and fewer resources


    Akshay M.

Best Operating System

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am a Software Developer and I like the best of the Privacy and Ubuntu Operating Systems delivers the best security while coding or development

Easy to use and more powerful
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's too tough to resolve the setup issues and also it's commond based operating system, so non technical users might face issues with settings and to understand the flow of files and directories of their important documents
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The major problem Ubuntu resolve is to avoid all unwanted applications which is not major used for any developer.
As a developer Ubuntu gives me computational power also.


    Mustafa K.

Fastest OS I've ever used

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Anything we want to do we need to go through terminal. It feels awesome
What do you dislike?
Many softwares are not compatible with Ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed is very fast. It saves time as compared to windows


    Peter T.

Budget friendly OS that packs a punch

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is flexible, customizable, fast and light weight as compared to some other systems. Ubuntu is easy to install, easy to maintain. It can easily integrate with other softwares and if it can't the. there is always a version of it or software be ran thru wine.
What do you dislike?
Users need to be very familiar with Unix or else it will be hard to get around the system. The OS GUI is still a bit clunky. Typically I always customize the graphical interface to meet my needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu solves my budget and tuning cost. I can run web servers, report servers and database systems without much complications. Of course everything still ties to the underlying hardware but if I need to deploy on production mode then I can always move the OS image to a VM that has powerful specs. Another great benefit to running Ubuntu is that it is already Unix based so running or converting tools from other Unix based OS is not that hard.


    Sandesh M.

A popular linux distro

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use for users making a switch to Linux from windows.
What do you dislike?
Like any other Linux system, it does have some issues with various device drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is my daily driver as a replacement for the windows system. It has brought my old laptop back to life.


    Elie S.

UBUNTU is the most stable OS I have ever used.

  • November 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1- Free
2- 2 versions per year, April and October
3- Daily and weekly updates
4- Adapts itself to your existing hardware so it adapts to your computer, without forcing you to minimal hardware requirements
5- Comes packed with a lot of software, like Open Office, a set of apps for young ones, etc.
6- Has a huge community to back you up, and all for free
7- Very stable and secure.
What do you dislike?
Most of the people I know use Windows, and even at my office, we all have to use windows. Compatibility is not a strong suit yet, but hopefully, one day, I shall be able to use UBUNTU SOLELY, and not have to jump from one computer to another.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some computers are a bit outdated and cannot be upgraded and we face some issues trying to install Windows 10 on them so, in order to keep using them longer, we install UBUNTU and it runs like magic on them: UBUNTU adapts itself to your existing hardware and does not force you to have a minimal setting. This is a major plus in UBUNTU's favor, and I think this is what gives it an edge over others and why, in my opinion, UBUNTU will become soon enough the standard in OS.
A lot of my USB keys develop problems and windows refuses to recognize them. I use UBUNTU to troubleshoot and revive them. Also, since UGUNTU does not contract viruses accidentally, I use it as my internet server gateway for more added protection. The stability it offers is exemplary. I just wish other OS would follow in its footsteps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU can be a bit intimidating at first but, once you get used to it, trust me: it will be the only OS you want to ever use. Almost all applications have a LINUX version that you can use or you can just install "WINE" and run original apps under UBUNTU.
Even if you have an old machine, do not worry: UBUNTU will re-compile itself to better run on it. It adapts itself to your hardware and will work like magic on almost anything you install it on.


    Şükrü O.

My Ubuntu Experiences

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is really useful, especially since I am someone interested in software. Because it allows you to manage the resources and libraries you will use in the software you will make. At the same time, you work both from the console and includes side applications such as browsers. It is also useful for regular users of Ubuntu. Because usually viruses are not available in this operating system. For this reason, you do not need to use a virus program. Turning your computer on and off is also faster than other operating systems. Because the originally loaded runners and the memory used are very efficient.
What do you dislike?
The bad feature is that you need to know all the steps related to software or program installations and the helpful items that will go down. If it is missing, your transaction may be incomplete.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu allows me to make software more dominantly. It also allows me to make more efficient software because I can manage resources. An operating system that I usually use to produce software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a user without much knowledge or knowledge of the software, you should be careful when using the command screen when using Ubuntu. Because there is no mechanism that prevents you from accessing the physical side of the computer, it may encounter big errors. You may cause the operating system of the computer to crash.