Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GUI Gnome VNC

Arara Solutions | v0621

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,016 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Elie S.

UBUNTU is the most stable OS I have ever used.

  • November 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1- Free
2- 2 versions per year, April and October
3- Daily and weekly updates
4- Adapts itself to your existing hardware so it adapts to your computer, without forcing you to minimal hardware requirements
5- Comes packed with a lot of software, like Open Office, a set of apps for young ones, etc.
6- Has a huge community to back you up, and all for free
7- Very stable and secure.
What do you dislike?
Most of the people I know use Windows, and even at my office, we all have to use windows. Compatibility is not a strong suit yet, but hopefully, one day, I shall be able to use UBUNTU SOLELY, and not have to jump from one computer to another.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some computers are a bit outdated and cannot be upgraded and we face some issues trying to install Windows 10 on them so, in order to keep using them longer, we install UBUNTU and it runs like magic on them: UBUNTU adapts itself to your existing hardware and does not force you to have a minimal setting. This is a major plus in UBUNTU's favor, and I think this is what gives it an edge over others and why, in my opinion, UBUNTU will become soon enough the standard in OS.
A lot of my USB keys develop problems and windows refuses to recognize them. I use UBUNTU to troubleshoot and revive them. Also, since UGUNTU does not contract viruses accidentally, I use it as my internet server gateway for more added protection. The stability it offers is exemplary. I just wish other OS would follow in its footsteps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU can be a bit intimidating at first but, once you get used to it, trust me: it will be the only OS you want to ever use. Almost all applications have a LINUX version that you can use or you can just install "WINE" and run original apps under UBUNTU.
Even if you have an old machine, do not worry: UBUNTU will re-compile itself to better run on it. It adapts itself to your hardware and will work like magic on almost anything you install it on.


    Şükrü O.

My Ubuntu Experiences

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is really useful, especially since I am someone interested in software. Because it allows you to manage the resources and libraries you will use in the software you will make. At the same time, you work both from the console and includes side applications such as browsers. It is also useful for regular users of Ubuntu. Because usually viruses are not available in this operating system. For this reason, you do not need to use a virus program. Turning your computer on and off is also faster than other operating systems. Because the originally loaded runners and the memory used are very efficient.
What do you dislike?
The bad feature is that you need to know all the steps related to software or program installations and the helpful items that will go down. If it is missing, your transaction may be incomplete.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu allows me to make software more dominantly. It also allows me to make more efficient software because I can manage resources. An operating system that I usually use to produce software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a user without much knowledge or knowledge of the software, you should be careful when using the command screen when using Ubuntu. Because there is no mechanism that prevents you from accessing the physical side of the computer, it may encounter big errors. You may cause the operating system of the computer to crash.


    Prashant W.

An application developer's operating system

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Fully Open Source, So easy on your pocket.
- Easy to Install if you understand the basics of Linux
- Good support from the community. If you are stuck you are bound to find the solution.
What do you dislike?
- Driver support can be irritating sometimes. Graphic drivers are still not up to the mark.
- For some applications, you are still depending on the mercy of the contributors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- From the development of desktop & web applications to machine learning Ubuntu suffices for all. It doesn't hogg system resources as much as Windows hence can be installed on older hardware as well.


    Dipesh P.

A good open source operating system.

  • November 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Completely free and open source.
- Can run smoothly even on older hardware.
- Installation has become friendlier over the years.
- Allows greater control over the system than windows.
What do you dislike?
- Still catching up with other operating systems like Windows & Apple.
- Poor driver support especially for Graphics Drivers.
- Isn't really that popular outside the programming circle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Wide support of development tools from.
- Being a lightweight operating system, it allows performing tasks that need a relatively more share of operating systems.


    Higher Education

Linux, open source and easy to install!

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an excellent way to use Linux for beginners. It is better than Windows in speed for programming. It has been around for a long time, which speaks to its quality and usability.
What do you dislike?
I have been using this software since high school computer science class intermittently, and I find it easy to use now, but originally I found it quite difficult to install or understand. With a few years of experience, I find it easier to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu solves some of the issues with speed that I have with windows. While setting it up makes the process slower, I find that when I need large computing power, I turn to ubuntu.


    Computer Software

One of the most favourite OS!

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is one of the most favorite OS (Operating Systems) based from Linux. It's an opensourse OS (Operating System). I like the Desktop Environment of Ubuntu. Ubuntu supports every smart app (Software or Applications). I can easily operate ubuntu because its UI (User Interface) is so perfect for individual users. I can easily use every programming apps very perfectly, Also. can use many browsers (Google Chrome, Firefox, Chromium, Brave etc.). If I need to use Windows (It's an operating system powered by Microsoft Corporation) based Applications, I can use them on Ubuntu! Because Ubuntu supports cross-platform software using some 3rd party app (Wine). Also, the pre-installed Applications help me a lot. I can create, edit and customize documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and paint using their pre-installed 3rd party Office software. Also, it supports all of the files for computing also supports media files. So it helps me to sort out my every individual work and official business work. Ubuntu is totally free of cost. Also, you can connect their millions of communities and can access the global resources built by ubuntu. It makes your life so easy and comfortable. Also, it secures all of your data because no one has malware or viruses attack Ubuntu (a Linux-based operating system).
What do you dislike?
Actually, I dislike the Extention ecosystem of Ubuntu. Ubuntu is unable to use all of the software. Sometimes need third-party apps to access some software that is based on windows or make OS! Also need to fix some appearance issues for Dark or Light mode. Also need to fix the cross-platform ecosystem. Some apps not working perfectly or not responding.,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actually, it helps me to sort out daily basic work. I can easily use open-source software. Without paying any organization or company I can use the software I mean the Ubuntu OS! It's very helpful for me to sort out my daily work, docs, presentation, spreadsheet. Overall it's such a great OS!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I wanna share my experience. Ubuntu is such a great OS (Operating Systems). You can easily use Ubuntu and if you wanna shift from another OS, defiantly you most like the Ubuntu OS features and it can help you to give a smooth performance. Also, it helps you to secure everything I mean every file, important media, and your data is protected on Ubuntu.


    Pravin Kumar P.

Open Source Best for coding and lightweight compare to other OS

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, freeware, Most secure, multiple user, multi tasking best CLI. Awesome for coding.
What do you dislike?
As of now I didn't get any difficulty while using this application so nothing here to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For multiple purpose like to run command of Linux, user management, SSH, work with Jenkins, Ansible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best Operating System for development, robust, secure so best to go with the software.


    Tigran M.

Ubuntu for development

  • November 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the most popular product for development, it's easy to use and with the terminal, users can work and improve their skills. It's very fast and use less memory that expected
What do you dislike?
I think there is no concrete something that I dislike, maybe it's not comfortable in the first time to use a terminal for work, but after some time you can adapt with it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The most common problem that I solve, it uses docker for my application, before used windows and it's very difficult to work with docker, but with ubuntu it's easy and fast
Recommendations to others considering the product:
What you are a developer and want to learn many things with terminal work, or security, and when you work with the cloud, I think it is the best way to start it with ubuntu


    Bobby V.

Ubuntu is a great OS for development.

  • November 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Ubuntu for its development-friendly environment and free open-source tools available. It's a great and free alternative to MacOS for development purposes and day-to-day tasks.
What do you dislike?
Using Ubuntu requires some getting used to. Simple tasks in other more user-friendly OSes might seem a little complex in Ubuntu. Building up Linux skills and being comfortable with the CLI is an absolute must if you want to get the most out of the OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm running Ubuntu on a VM under Windows and use it for development purposes when my Windows machine is just not cutting it. Ubuntu is helping me to be more productive and accomplish things quickly when it comes to using CLI tools.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Free alternative to macOS when it comes to meeting development needs.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu is a awesome OS

  • November 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great OS for both server / workstation use
What do you dislike?
I have been using Ubuntu since version 10 and I have nothing to suggest. Ubuntu just gets the job done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Main workstation / providing server services like SSH Plex Bitbucket Samba File Server Active Directory etc.