Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GUI Gnome VNC

Arara Solutions | v0621

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,010 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

The Overall Best Linux Distribution

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
While I predominately work in an OSX environment, there comes a need when I have to use a Linux install for particular tasks and programs. My number one choice for flexibility, speed, and reliability is Ubuntu. The best feature of Ubuntu is that you can create a "live" version of it that runs straight off of a USB stick. I usually keep the latest distribution on a USB 3.0 stick for my Linux needs.
What do you dislike?
As a beginner to Linux, you might have some troubles setting up the OS and using the terminal to complete basic tasks. However, once you start using it, it's very easy to pick up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu has allowed me to quickly and easily get a Linux environment set up when needed for development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out before you install permanently to a hard drive. With a Live USB drive, you can test it out on your hardware before committing to using it. This lets you test compatibility, along with get familiar with the UI and the terminal if you haven't had any experience in the past.


    Michele A.

The best linux distribution for newcomers

  • January 10, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the Ubuntu Store, which was the first marketplace for applications on a desktop computer, prior to the Apple Store on MacOS X. The Ubuntu store allows users to install with just a single click thousands of applications and extend their linux box.
Now Ubuntu has a mobile version and the convergence mobile-desktop is pretty awesome: the User experience is linear and the nice to see
What do you dislike?
The update management must be improved. From a version to another, sometimes the upgrade might break the installation (e.g., when updating from 15.04 to 15.10).
Some other distributions, such as Arch Linux, make incremental upgrades so the machine stays stable and is kept updated forever. Ubuntu doesn't do this and offers Long Term Support builds and some normal builds, whose support ends after 9/12 months.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I helped customers with old computer to keep using their hardware and switching from WIndows to Linux and make their life easier and virus-free.
I have also installed Ubuntu on Macs, since MacOS X wasn't allowing any other update and it was just too heavy


    Isaac Z.

Ubuntu has the best user experience, but ignore your existence.

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Good user experience.
2. Nice desktop environment.
3. Nice look.
What do you dislike?
1. Ignore you existence. In this case, Arch Linux is a good distribution --- "I know what should I do".
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Server
2. development machine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For newer of linux.


    Yehuda K.

More flexible and intuitive than other distros

  • January 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu just makes sense to me and lots of our other admin staff. Package management is easy, installation is easy, server and desktop editions are both great products.
What do you dislike?
Unity places too much emphasis on web searching. I don't want everything I type to be sent out for a web search. Once in a while a package is removed from a new version, but traces of it remain and it can be hard to sort out what is going on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Ubuntu for most of our desktop systems and for a while most of our servers. (We switched most of the servers to RedHat simply to have them on the support contract, but Ubuntu still has a great presence in our environment. ) Our users generally appear to be happier to use Ubuntu on the desktop than RedHat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
LTS releases can get pretty old and users often want newer packages that aren't available. Test out a regular release well and unless you have some specific reason not to, just do the in-place upgrade.


    Munendra S.

Ubuntu-The Best OS for All

  • January 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Been using Ubuntu since 4 years for various projects. Recently used for new application development for the organization during the internship.
Ubuntu is free, open source operating system and has best supported community. Easy to install and getting better every year. It is also most secure OS. Best for the beginners to learn and highly customizable.
What do you dislike?
User Interface needs to be better. Some softwares or the packages are not available.
Search includes web results by default, which is not required always. Ubuntu software center is not up to date with new version of software and majority of them not available in software center.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I designed whole back-end of the application using Ubuntu.
Benefits:
Immune to viruses, malwares.
Good support and ease of use.
Good for Development
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is best Linux distribution. If your are a beginner go for Ubuntu which has best community support and security.
Customizable GUI with many DeskTop Enviornments (Unity, Gnome , KDE)


    Nandini B.

It has been a satisfying journey...

  • December 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Ubuntu on my development machine for the last 5 years and over the years I have seen it grow into a very matured and stable operating system. Now to the things I like about Ubuntu -

1. It is FREE, and it is updated every 6 months.
2. It is safe, fast, secure and very stable, the earlier versions use to crash or hang sometimes, but the 14.04 LTS version that I am using now works like a charm.
3. Fantastic for software development. Be it in LAMP stack, Cordova/Phonegap, Java, Python. It is easy to set-up and easy to work with. Using svn/git is a breeze
4. It is Linux, but the UI has become to friendly even laymen can use it for their day to day uses like browsing, watching films, listening to music.
5. Support is fantastic. Any problem you face you can get the answer from any of the software forums.
What do you dislike?
It still has a bit of a learning curve for layman users. You should be able to use the terminal confidently.

And they could have given some more default desktop wallpapers :).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have using it for development for the last 5-6 years. I work with open source stacks like PHP - MySQL, Python, Java and I find Ubuntu extremely useful.

I even use Ubuntu instances on ec2 and find it the best platform for hosting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You don't need to pay for your Operating System and then pay for every upgrades. Especially if you are developing on a open source stack, there is nothing better.


    Semiconductors

Linux for everyone from starters to developers

  • December 28, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of installation and helpful to get started with localisation options and accessibility features included
Neat user interface with search functionality that lets you search apps and content
Software center simplifies package management
Designed and targeted towards common users not just sysadmins or developers
Not many different versions that confuse beginners
Short, known release cycle
Enterprise ready, cloud ready.
What do you dislike?
Until Windows introduced UEFI, installing Ubuntu along with Windows was easy
- it could be installed like another software for Windows 7 and earlier

Search includes web results by default, this needs to be turned off.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A stable Linux distribution that is suited for all kinds of users.
Easy to use as a base for cloud infrastructure or apps that are deployed on cloud
Long term support availability makes it acceptable
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good distro to get started with. Doesn't disappoint as one progresses to full-time use or development on top of it.
Easy to deploy on cloud or build a cloud infrastructure on top of this.
Great community to get help from.


    Emile S.

Ubuntu is my favorite distro of linux

  • December 23, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu does not require that much custom setup or maintenance.
What do you dislike?
If you work in a GUI and have no use for the command line, OSX or Windows may be a better solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our web servers are provisioned with Ubuntu


    Christian V.

Great free Operating System!

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is an OS, witch is very easy to setup, update and maintain. Very great is the software library system. Everything could be updated from one place! The PPA service is very great service for integrating further software.
What do you dislike?
Some software is not available as PPA or through a comfy source and setup could be less comfortable. Updating to newer LTS should be done about 2 Month after release of next LTS version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintaining computers from remote over years with LTS versions. I do create .debs for all custimization, so they could be rolled out very comfy!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
great distribution, but with some specialities: Own Desktop Envirionment, perhaps using Lubuntu desktop is more appropintait for some users.


    Phil C.

Ubuntu : GNU/Linux for human beings

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Community, Despite first, I thought it was a threat to debian project, Ubuntu development I was wrong, their model is pretty good, rebasing each 6 month on each unstable branch of Debian is an excellent idea for both distributions. PPA service is amazingly nice from Cannonical too.
What do you dislike?
I am not a fan of unity on desktop, It could make sense on the mobile, but I rather use KDE or XFCE or LXDE which can be also installed on other distros, other than that or privacy infringement (amazon in shell) I am fine with other tech, it has the GNU/Unix behaviour that's all I need.

I am bored to use Esc key in emacs instead of Meta (Alt) Key , so I might leave unity soon or later , I am trying it each couple of years but I never stick to it.

Not to mention, I trust Debian more than Ubuntu , so I don't use Ubuntu on my main laptop, but it's quiet similar.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to deploy xubuntu (XFCE) in the past for a team of developers, I don't remember any complained. It was easy to sync distro using rsync and blacklisting a couple of files it worked... my parents are on lubuntu for maybe more than 15 years now I do upgrade by hand and keep move the same installation over different computers it's quite the same.
I was not involved into this but some Tizen community member used lubuntu as a base to deliver SDK on liveDVD which is a nice for curious ones who just want to try.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to install etckeeper to keep /etc sane after tweeking