Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Logi Report (JReport) Server for AWS BYOL

Logi Analytics | 18.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

169 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Russell W.

Embedding Logi Analytics for Reporting and BI

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
From a development perspective we found embedding Logi into our existing user interface to be quick and easy. Most importantly, Logi is highly customizable so our users have a seamless experience as they move from the original user interface screens to the Logi based reporting and BI screens. We were also able to get our development team up and running quickly in Logi Studio since it has a similar feel to tools they have used in the past such as Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services.

In order to kickstart our development activities, we have had two engagements with the Logi Professional Services team. They have been great to work with and have worked hard to help us deliver our initial functionality while helping our developers learn the product. These engagements shaved weeks of time off our product development schedule.
What do you dislike?
Logi is transitioning to an API based approach which is being rolled out gradually. We like the direction the product is taking but would prefer to do our development once this transition is complete.

The one deployment issue we had with the Logi product is limited web server services support. In order to embed the Logi solution in our product we had to modify our system design because the web server originally used by the system was not supported by Logi.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are embedding Logi Analytics into our Unified Communication monitoring platform to provide reports and dashboards to our managed service provider customers and their end users. We’ve learned there are an endless number of ways our users need to view and report on their data. By embedding Logi in our solution and using the Logi Self-Service Module we can provide this flexibility to our users without requiring custom development work for each new request.


    Wendy D.

Dashboards and Data Analytics with Logi

  • November 08, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good for speedy development of panels and reports. The dashboards built in functionality allows for easy setup and creation of new panels. The analytic grids provide the functionality that our end users need and allows us to provide the functionality to meet multiple customer’s diverse needs with a single report.

Logi allows us to customize our product in a myriad of ways which allows us the freedom to create a product that best meets our customers’ needs. This includes the ability to hook into custom plugins, data sources and template modifiers.

Our customers love the built in exporting functionality (Excel and PDF).
What do you dislike?
Logi is easy and quick to use for simple solutions. However, the learning curve for developing complex solutions in Logi can be challenging. Some of that is due to the fact that our product is highly customized, but part of that is because it is so customizable that there are many ways to implement and it can take a lot of trial and error to figure out which way works best for you.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Overall, Logi allowed us to provide access to data in a way that is simple to use with a powerful feature set that meets a varied set of needs from a diverse set of customers. We were able to spin up an initial dashboard product quickly and have continued to add functionality (both built-in and custom) as well as new reports at a relatively quick pace.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are merely looking to expose data from a database to users, this is definitely a good tool to use. Following Logi's best practices guide will help you maintain the growth and health of your Logi application, Logi health checks are a good way to find out or confirm the health of your application.


    John R.

Logi Analytics for BI

  • August 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After initial learning curve (Logi Studio), can quickly prototype and develop a BI site. Can create "dynamic" connections to data sources (SQL Server for instance) to allow for multiple connections. Ability to insert "dynamic" variables before query is submitted to SQL server engine is a big plus. The ability to quickly and easily filter data by customer without creating hundreds of connections is a major advantage when trying to quickly add additional customers. Being able to create standard reports that apply to all customers by using the "dynamic" variables is something we have not see in other packages.

Unlike some other solutions, Logi does offer some good initial elements what would require programming in other applications (MS Excel/PDF exports, charting, data filters, etc.).

The company has evolved over the years from being a "complete solution" to being more of a tool kit for embedding BI into websites, but can still be used as a "complete solution". Given the time, resources and tenacity, you can do a lot with the software.
What do you dislike?
Documentation on Logi DevNet site is rudimentary and lacks details or, in some cases, has been found to be missing steps; samples are also very basic compared to their main website's "visual gallery". Support is also lacking at times, spend more time trying to explain a problem then resolving it, most often coming up with our own solutions. User forum is not very active, cannot find solutions elsewhere (web searches / Google), only on the DevNet site.

The company has evolved over the years from being a "complete solution" to being more of a tool kit for embedding BI into websites. Unfortunately, you will need someone well versed in html and javascript to take advantage of more of the advanced capabilities the Logi application offers. Trying to take advantage of the advanced features may require hiring a consultant from Logi, as anything above the basics is not well documented.

The software does not appear to be able to handle large data sets (hundreds of millions of records), with no easy initial filtering when using their more advanced analytical tools (Analysis Grid, Discovery, for example).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We analyze the transportation industry and need to replicate different data formats across hundreds of databases to support multi-tenant (customer) BI reports and "ad hoc" data review on millions or hundreds of millions of records per customer. Using the Logi software we have the ability to create one dynamic data connection and hundreds generic reports that dynamically filter depending on the customer or the customer's unique requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Logi Analytics (Info, add on items such as Discovery/Thinkspace) will have an initial learning curve, as will any software product. The product is great for quick prototyping/development/release of a simple BI solution, but does not handle large (hundreds of millions of records) well, but Logi does offer some built in attributes that will help with some of the large dataset loading for basic report creation. The solution does not work as well for their advanced tools/analysis or exports. However, for exports, anything over 10k records is not longer a report but is a "data dump".


Trying to do something more advanced with the Logi Analytics software may require hiring a Logi consultant at $$$.


    Roger W.

Embedded Analytics For Food Safety and Quality

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of Creating and Deploying Embedded Analytics. We can build and release new reports, charts, dashboards with complex interactions and drill down in a short period of time.
What do you dislike?
Inconsistency across self service features. Certain critical features are supported in one area, like Analysis grid, that are not supported in another like Thinks Pace, and visa versa. Often I am left with no way to get everything I need in one place.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We collect lots of data for our customers. To Gain value, customers need to view and interact with the data in lots of different ways. With the introduction of Logi Analytics, we have greatly increased customer satisfaction and we selling more. Demo's now focus on the value of the data through Analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Making An Analytic is quite easy. Figuring out a broader plan to search, sort and fitler data takes some design planning.


    Hospital & Health Care

Value rich application!

  • July 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The elemental design makes Logi Info easy to use, and consequently able to deliver business and dashboard reporting quicker to our internal/external users.
What do you dislike?
I'd prefer to have anyone on my development team contact Logi support rather than have only one designated Point of Contact (POC). If the POC is unavailable, it's causing delays in resolution of issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have integrated Logi Info into many of a customer-driven solutions to support their reporting needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In my opinion, they have the correct Product roadmap.


    Catherine K.

County of Sacramento Dept. of Technology Experience with Logi Analytics

  • July 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Out of the Box widgets/tools
- Wide variety of data connection options
- Easy to create simple report quickly
- Easy to create reports for mobile viewing
- Embed-ability into other applications
- Customizable with JavaScript
- Built-in Export/Download options and formatting customization
- Quick and simple upgrades to the new versions
- Very responsive support team
What do you dislike?
- Too wide of range for Logi products to pick the correct one for your need
- Scheduler is cumbersome to set up
- Formatting can be tricky if specific placement of fields is needed
- New features are add-ons rather than just updates to the basic product (eg. Self-Service Module)
- Needed clearer examples/tutorials for caching solutions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Making reporting easier for presenting data to non-technical users
- Updating older reports into easier to manage modern applications
- Easy BI solutions


    Information Technology and Services

Pretty easy for a bunch of non-developers

  • June 14, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
After the initial learning curve, adding content can take place at an exponential rate. Very impressive to compare what we built in the first 6 months to the next 6. Can't wait to see what the next 12 bring.

Logi's support and professional services groups have been excellent through our first year of using the products.
What do you dislike?
Learning curve was a bit steep, but we were primarily a group of sql coders and not web developers so we did need to enlist the help of Logi's professional services to get us started.

The naming and licensing of the various Logi applications can be extremely confusing at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are a services provider using Logi Analytics to deploy interactive tools to our customers to help them visualize their data - response has been quite postive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the Quick Start!


    Russell H.

Prime Care Technologies Experience with Logi Info

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast embedding, powerful visualizations, support for a shared widget architecture between our multiple software lines of business
What do you dislike?
The license key management is cumbersome to use and more complex than necessary
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Consistency in data visualization look and feel across product lines. Fast development of widgets, reports, and dashboards.


    Steve "Kaz" K.

Great BI Tool

  • April 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to connect to multiple data sources and present a seamless report to users, reusable components, good sample applications, and Super-Elements like the analysis grid that allows use to create slice and dice capability for people that should not be let near a database. Interface is easy to understand. Exporting in Native Excel formats where you can define styling is a big plus.
What do you dislike?
Wish Logi Studio tool ran on a Mac. Hate having to RDP into a Windows box to run Studio and IIS. Pre-defined themes are nice, but would like more templates to create a reporting application instead of having to build all of the UI components. Dashboard sample app is a good starting place. Need more of these templates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was taking entire days to create 1 report. Data in report was usually a month old. Reports had to be put on a shared server that took forever to access and was prone to people deleting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Logi is not the best tool if you are deploying to data scientists. It is great when reports are created for users and super-elements like the analysis grid users slice and dice capability without having to create cubes.

Strong point of Logi is accessing the data where it lives without having to build a data mart.


    Information Technology and Services

Solid reporting capabilities for developing a custom analytics offering

  • April 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to white label all aspects of the Logi platform. Within our web platform, Logi controls can seamlessly live alongside home-grown elements without feeling choppy or disrupting the user experience. The Logi offering provides a nice mix of features, allowing us to design and publish more intricate, complex reports developed within Logi Studio, while also allowing our clients and users to develop their own reports and dashboards via the Logi Self Service Module, which offers a fairly powerful interface for analyzing, visualizing, and sharing reports and dashboards.

Logi offers high-quality documentation via an intuitive web portal. Overall, their account management team is friendly, knowledgeable, and a supportive partner. Even if the account manager doesn't have an answer to something, they will refer us to the appropriate resource, which can usually provide a response in a short period of time. We pay for the premium support, and find the support team to be quick and generally helpful in the responses they provide. As a technology partner, Logi does reach out to share information about new features and they've engaged us with opportunities to serve as early adopters/collaboration partners for new features in development.
What do you dislike?
Based on our current needs, I don't have any major issues with the organization or its software. There have been a few minor inconveniences, but nothing significant:

In the two years we've worked with the Logi team, we've seen a bit of turnover with our account managers, though it appears the transitions have all been the result of professional development/growth, so I can't fault them for their commitment to their employees.

A recent (minor) software release did not have any release notes/documentation posted to their portal for a few weeks, which caused us to hold off on moving forward, though it was subsequently posted.

Based on our recent contract renewal (our first), it felt that Logi's development/sales approach is to evolve a feature set to a certain place, and then to brand further updates as a new module, requiring separate licensing/renegotiation during contract renewal. While I understand this approach (they obviously need to bring in revenue to support product development) and I feel like we ultimately landed in a fair place for our current contract, I am more sensitive to the fact that more significant software updates could result in cost increases based on this pricing strategy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize and resell a white-labeled version of the Logi Analytics toolset alongside internally developed BI capabilities. Our decision to move forward with Logi allowed us to balance speed-to-market for core reporting capabilities while utilizing our in-house resources to develop more specialized BI components to support the unique needs of the industry we support. Overall, the Logi platform is flexible, integrates well with our custom features, and to date has supported our needs. My hope is that the Logi roadmap continues to align with our own and the needs of our user base, but for now we continue to invest in this hybrid model, which to date has served us well.