Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PHP Runtime with Laravel Framework

Websoft9 | Laravel 8.49.2 - Amazon Linux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Abed H.

The PHP SwissKnife of the 21st century, expressive yet compact, satisfies all PHP developers levels

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Here are five facts that I likes most about Laravel:

- The expressiveness that it provides with its naming conventions. i.e. you create a user with User::create(['name' => 'Abed Halawi'])
- Dependency injection that adds invaluable power to your application's architecture
- Decoupling at its best, every piece handles its responsibility and only that, packages everything
- Built for performant and scalable applications
- Provides easy integration with major, commonly used 3rd party services
What do you dislike?
Being a maintainer of many Laravel-compatible packages, the breaking changes they sometimes provide with their updates adds a bit of a maintenance overhead.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working as a team is never easy when there are no guidelines to set the line for coding, especially that coding is much of a subjective act. When there's a framework that draws the line and provides structure to your application it will always be contained by these boundaries that helps keeping it together.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take your time in understanding how things really work in Laravel, it will warm up your mind about wonderful design patterns that might be very helpful to you in the future, regardless of whether it is inside Laravel or outside.


    Gökhan E.

Laravel powered me up!

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used laravel for my senior year project and for operational dashboard for my part time job. It does very well job. I have used php artisan with it and mysql migrations are so useful. Laravel eloquent ORM is also very useful for database transactions
What do you dislike?
I have used Laravel 4.2 and it updated so quickly and changed the syntax so much in 5.x. With 5.x the documentation has changed so much so the developers should read and need to focus on updating the existing code and it is painful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Operational Dashboard did very well job and it has great functionality. Also the newcomer programmers can easily learn the code easily thanks to laravel.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have used Laravel 4.2 and it did really great job. I recommend people who wants to learn php framework should start with laravel without any doubt. Learning framework with laravel will save you a lot of time and makes you understand how the framework especially ORM and MVC works well.


    Winter F.

Cuts down on development time

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Laravel provides a great framework for building a application on top of. Once a developer is over the learning curve it makes it easy and quick to develop new features that are easy to manage. The development process makes it so that bug fixes are quick and easy to track down and fix.
What do you dislike?
There is a steep learning curve that can cause newer developers to write code that is harder then needed to manage. There are some small things that can be irritating as a developer but none of the problems we have run across have been anything close to a show stopper.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Laravel has cut down on feature development and deployment time, it has cut the number of bugs we get and cut down on the amount of time it takes to fix each bug and on top of that Laravel has increased the performance of our site. Because of the cut in development time, bug fix time and overall performance our users are happier and because of new features being released sooner and bugs being fixed quicker the developers and staff are happier.


    Rahul C.

Laravel - Lifeline of any php based website.

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using laravel for over a year now, boy do I thank the day I chose it over other frameworks in market. I remember having doubts between laravel and codeigniter, and saw a few reviews and decided to go with laravel.

Let me summarize laravel in one word for you. AWESOME.

The thing that I like best about this framework is its elegance to load the developer with all tools, but at the same time does not boggle you down with unnecessary code. It is constantly in development, have a strong community support.

In my opinion, laravel brought back the dying php back to life. Even when compared with other frameworks, the response time is faster.

I love IOC container of laravel, and their QueryBuilder class is the best. Validation is a breeze, and all of this is FREE.

If you need something to build a website, 90% probability, laravel provides it in a clean and efficient manner.
What do you dislike?
Okay, what do I dislike about laravel? This is tough because I am "go-laravel", and so I don't have much to complain about. I would however like to see "nosql" support out of the box, and would also like the socialite plugin to integrate with more oauth providers. Their redis driver uses predis, but in my opinion php-redis would be much faster because that is a binary protocol. Laravel didnt go with php-redis because it was a hassle to install it and stuff I guess. I hope they go with php-redis one day.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My website allows users to distribute digital products to their customers. Laravel helped me easily do:
1. Session management.
2. Authentication.
3. Basic security protection like SQL injection, CSRF.
4. There is so much more little stuff that I cannot list here.

All in all, I would say that this framework in my opinion is the most well written framework I have seen in my life. I am sticking with PHP just because of laravel. Other frameworks could learn many things from Taylor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Laravel is an advanced framework for web developers. The devs are supposed to know a fair bit of things to work on this level, like IOC, injections, etc. There are many ways to code in laravel, and soon things can become cluttered. So don't expect magic from laravel. You still have to understand what good code should look like.

In terms of learning curve, first start with a small app, and then work your way through. Don't just go straight to coding on all fronts. E.g. if you don't need to know queues, don't read queue in the beginning. Read when you have to implement it.

One thing that I faced (because I was a novice a year ago) was to re-do my code. I deleted and restarted my project 13 times, and must have deleted atleast 100K lines of code, before I actually got the hang of beautiful coding. Many a times I found to do things the right way in laravel, and hence had to redo my code. But its just part of the learning curve.


    Joshua D.

Enjoy your code again

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Taylor Otwell, et al, have and continue to put an enormous amount of effort into creating a flexible and easy to use framework. Each release strives to add additional, useful features and listen to what the community is saying about PHP and architectural standards that are popular among developers. The artisan console also makes prototyping rapid fast.
Everything from naming conventions to consistent comment formatting is really icing on the cake for the only PHP framework I have used for years.
What do you dislike?
It's difficult to find something I don't like about the framework. The best thing about Laravel, is that all of the pain points in other php frameworks are easier and standardized here. That being said, if you haven't used any other PHP frameworks you won't be able to grasp how beautiful this framework is. It is definitely beneficial to have worked with other frameworks before
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Laravel functions great as a simple REST API and a fullblown Saas back-end. We have used it on a wide range of project needs. It also our go to for rapid-prototyping. We can get the basics for a decent sized app setup in less than a day.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look through the docs page by page. They are well written and really help you understand the architecture behind what you are building.


    Dawid T.

Laravel a solid PHP framework

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are a few reasons I started using Laravel The first one was a clean and simple API which support the most important principle in programming DRY (don't repeat yourself). Another point was great documentation which lets you start quickly and guides you step by step. The last but not least was testability.
What do you dislike?
In my experience working with junior developers I have noticed one drawback which can impact others as well. Laravel has been implemented with many great design patterns. Those design patterns make Laravel extremely flexible and allow to use many other features. On the other hand, for young developers who don't have enough experience it requires more time for development.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great support is the main problem Laravel solves for my business.


    Facundo E. G.

It just makes developing web apps a breeze

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It contemplates many common programming use cases, and solves them in an elegant way.
Excellent, thorough documentation, filled with examples.
Amazing ecosystem, most commonly used framework for PHP, lots of packages, regular bugfixes and versions.
Expressive API, reading code written with Laravel is the closest you will find to true english language.
What do you dislike?
It's slow, but gets the job done and is so fast for writing programs that you can easily put your money on the servers instead of hiring more developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rapid Application Development, generating prototypes quickly, fast developing of web applications with easy maintanability and beautiful syntax.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you love writing expressive, succint and beautiful code, switch right now to Laravel!


    Amit G.

Laravel is good PHP framework

  • February 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When I use Laravel I see the response is very fast.
Database can be handle easily with it.
It's templating engine blade is very good.
Addons can be installed easily as per requirement.
What do you dislike?
Some time it become complicate if we have to create some query.
I was unable to host my site in godaddy due to not availability of PHP version recommended for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have developed carpooling(http://www.sameroute.in) site with it. I have created Australian lions club site. Which can be managed by their City/State level authorities.

Any website can be developed with the help of laravel quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good framework to quick development.
Performance is very good. Secure from SQL injection, XSS etc.


    Vishwas R.

Good PHP framework

  • February 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Laravel is Free, opensource framework that is written in php.. it offer easy php extension installation.. More over it is easy for someone who has worked with MVC architecture, as it also follows MVC architecture.
What do you dislike?
The installation is quite timeconsuming and cumbersome for someone who don't have a prior experience with frameworks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web application are built rapidly using this framework. This framework offers many modern tools and is compatible to many modern technologies.
For me.. it is fun to build web application using this, we could build it in matter of some days.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Laravel for to anyone. If it's a beginner, you find lot of resources on internet.