Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Desktop 20.10 - GUI Gnome with VNC and RDP

Arara Solutions | v1021

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

53 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hector H.

Very efficient and light OS allowing you to have your personal and business applications working

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is light and allows to run concurrent sessions and have big application working
There are many emulators and you can run Windows applications
Easy to use,
Does not take a lot of hardware resources
What do you dislike?
it breaks if too many processes are running
You have to be monitoring available hardware resources (HTOP)
Some windows application are not compatible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can do my daily job easily: All business applications, eMail, chat and also server simulations; All personal apps Youtube, Gmail
I Can run a full production server and emulate all user access to it
Communications are easy to use, so I can share my programs with the community
Easy to deploy my new programs using open source tools such as GIT
Integrates all steps of the software maturity process
Allows to work from home
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very good OS for personal or business use.
Please consider: - It is NOT windows, so the interface varies and some users will struggle
- For running windows applications, you must select an emulator or wait for the app to be available for Ubuntu
- Support is not always found, as far as it is an open software, you must rely on the internet support sources or to know someone else with good technical knowledge

Based on multitasking, you can can have servers and users emulations in your computer
You can save expenses on additional hardware
Old hardware is supported


    Charu A.

UBUNTU an ideal Solution for LINUX Capabilities

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the linux features are very well integrated in UBUNTU Desktop. The ease of using the terminal
What do you dislike?
GUI capabilities can be much more enhanced and can be improved with more debugging and troubleshooting options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
connecting remote solutions or using putty terminal for connecting different servers, it also is an effective replacement for RHEL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
do make use of terminal and GUI to the fullest


    Information Technology and Services

The OS that will make you tech savvy

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux based OS. Complete control over OS
What do you dislike?
Getting driver support for old hardware might be require getting your hands dirty.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development for Data Science, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence


    Mirko T.

Solid and free!

  • November 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free and easy to use, lots of regular upgrades.
What do you dislike?
Not as user friendly as windows and might need to have some knowledge of terminal commands.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Saving money since it's free to use and in tough times this is a major perk! Also nice to operate everything from the terminal.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

prolong the life of your old computer

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have an 2010 27" iMac. Running MacOS X on this machine (no SSD) became unbearably slow. And then when I installed Ubuntu on it, life returned to the machine. You could browse with as many tabs as you liked and I even run Windows 10 Home on a VirtualBox inside it without issues. It sure gave the machine two more years of use.
What do you dislike?
Bluetooth support is awful. I cannot begin to describe how much. As a result I was using a USB Apple keyboard and a wireless mouse with a USB dongle. Also, every time I've tried to use Bluetooth headphones the result was disappointing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to keep a perfectly functioning machine in use for longer. It allows me to run Linux on a good hardware without the fuss of searching and / or configuring drivers. It is a viable third alternative to Windows and MacOS X, if you want to do web browsing, word processing (Libreoffice and Google docs are good alternatives) and ssh. I can also run docker containers and microk8s at ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're an IT professional, give it a shot. If you have children, let them try this. They will teach you how to use it after.


    Retail

OS for developers

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is linux based operating system with clean & simple design and powerfyterminal
Being a developer i can find each and every software, tool, editor etc for ubuntu(linux).
The RAM management in ubuntu is superb, for example android studio in windows 10 with sane configuration do not run smoothly but works well in it
For initial ubuntu user i recommend person to use gnome tweek tool to add some windows like feature
What do you dislike?
Settings is not that simple.
Specially settings environment variables through.bashrc file
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Resource management - ubuntu uses very less resources which allows application to run smoothly
2. Terminal - in windows we need different terminal for each like git bash, node cmd etc but in ubuntu single terminal is capable of doing everything
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have newly started using ubuntu then install gnome tweek for getting windows like feature


    Pratham V.

Faster than windows but difficult to manipulate.

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and ease of Installing software's.Also we can manipulate anything as it is open source.It also posses large variety of open source software and it's freely available.Making it available for people's even with budget problems.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to manipulate sometimes due to variety of different errors as everything is controlled by user.Also it is strictly for bussiness purposes and can't play or test games in this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to for development purposes using node js.It is easier to manipulate and faster working than windows for development.Also it provides much larger variety of development tools.It also has better and freely available tools.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if you require more control and try to understand the system.There can be errors but try to learn about it.


    Mahesh K.

user friendly and open source

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the gui which which comes along with ubuntu desktop version. Its user friendly and very easy to work with. Installation can be done very fast and its open source to use. I have worked with both ubuntu 14 and ubuntu 16 versions. Though it does not require antivirus we use Mcafee to protect the system. you also get community support for the issues.
What do you dislike?
Since it is a open source getting support for application compatibility and other stuff is difficult. Some softwares are not compatible with ubuntu and we dont get required drivers. GUI has to be improved more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I regularly work with ubuntu and interact with users when they face any kind of issues which are related to application which they are running on ubuntu. I mostly solve issues related to ssl on ubuntu and disk related issues. Also issues related to deployment from vrealize automation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use and its open source. GUI is good and it has to be improved. I will definitely recommend to use and experience the ubuntu desktop version.


    Anjali P.

Ubuntu Desktop Review

  • November 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Virus Free, More secure
- No blue screen of death, no random reboots
- Easy to maintain and update
- Doing things on terminal is way faster than doing it with a Graphical User Interface
- Amazing for developers who want to go straight to development
- Easy to use for developers who are adept with command line
- Heavily supported by a wide users of Ubuntu Community
- Ubuntu is preferred for wide variety of emerging technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
- Makes it easy for the developers to develop things locally and later deploy it globally
- You can always use ubuntu with windows and Mac by using a virtual machine or dual boot it with the existing OS
What do you dislike?
- Might not be handy for users who are not developers and cannot find their way through the command line
- Might have to use Vim editor for coding (not an ideal option for people who are not developers)
- For easier use, some amount of technical expertise is required.
- Technical expertise is required for adding ubuntu with the existing operating system
- Not user friendly for people who are not having a programming experience, specially if they are transitioning from Mac or Windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Software Programming and Development
- Virus Free, More secure
- No blue screen of death, no random reboots
- Easy to maintain and update
- Doing things on terminal is way faster than doing it with a Graphical User Interface
- Amazing for developers who want to go straight to development
- Easy to use for developers who are adept with command line
- Heavily supported by a wide users of Ubuntu Community
- Ubuntu is preferred for wide variety of emerging technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
- Makes it easy for the developers to develop things locally and later deploy it globally
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Any questions related to ubuntu can be easily found on Stack Overflow and Ubuntu Community


    mohamed a.

ubntu vs windows for me

  • November 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer
What do you dislike?
the coding in anything u want to do or install anything because sometimes not all peoloe have langue pregaming and didn't coding or love to dcode we need something easy and i dislike also i can't start games on it i need market place like windows on it to can installed app on it or buying app from it the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
scalability and ratability and its fast more than windows an stable and i installed software on it and it working fine and i can't open in in windows the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown
Recommendations to others considering the product:
the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer