Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server on Ubuntu 20.10

Arara Solutions | v0421

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pepe B.

Apache, the web server of reference

  • September 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache it's a Unix software that permits create a web server without much difficulty.
It's available for all distributions, and after install it from the repository it's working immediately.
There are hundreds of configurations available and there are a big manual to deal with them
What do you dislike?
In general nothing. Maybe it's a bit hard to get it configured with SSL and signed certificates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it to publish some internal and external websites of my company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best web server, much better than ISS of Microsoft and Java alternatives.


    Jose H.

A multiplatform server, free, robust with great security and performance

  • August 08, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This software is a multi-platform, free and robust web server that has a great variety of functionalities. First of all it allows efficiently manage a large number of requests made via http, controlling the delivery or denial of service according to the security policies that are established, in a second place, it allows configuring access restrictions to the files to prevent unauthorized access to them, thirdly, allows users to show some predetermined web pages or information in general when there is an error in accessing a server resource, fourth, allows efficient management of logs with requests received and the errors produced in the server, in order to generate access statistics, and finally, the apache server also allows us to configure virtual hosts with encryption of type https.
What do you dislike?
Extensive knowledge and experience is required to achieve a great performance of the web server and optimal security settings, therefore, installing the web server and making it work in a production environment would be fatal because it only has the default basic configurations, therefore under these conditions the server would have great vulnerability and low performance, on the other hand, there is no configuration panel that can facilitate the administration of the web server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Es un software que fácilmente puede ser implementado para alojar muchos proyectos web, así como también permite ahorrar costos porque es gratuito y además, se puede instalar en una variedad de sistemas operativos porque es multiplataforma, asi que con una configuración óptima del servidor web se puede tener un software potente para la gestión de servicios vía http.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this web server will be used in a production environment, make sure you never leave the settings that the software comes by default, because it would be a very high security risk. In this sense, it is required to make an optimal configuration at security level, and an optimal configuration to have the best performance considering also the technical characteristics of the hardware on which the web server will be implemented.


    Higher Education

Apache Server

  • August 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, performance, great documentation, lots of help/info on use.
What do you dislike?
I'd like a config GUI for our non-technical users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Anything that requires a web server. We use it everywhere.


    abhishek k.

Best OpenSource webserver till date

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is robust and simple and was far easier than any other opensource webserver currently in the market. It is very simple but at the same time quite powerful and handy to use in different environment
What do you dislike?
The frontend GUI for adminstrative purpose is not as good at other enterprise tools in market but the fact is it comes with no cost and easily be handled without any heavy money being put for implementation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
this was used for light weight application development used across cross platform. It also provides the secure environment for our app even though it is open source
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend to any organisation to go ahead with apache server as this is best tool in market today which comes with no cost to organisation and also there is lot of open forum which resolves the bug fixes and issue in no time compare to big organisation which require lot of money to be put on the product for its maitainence cost . This is one the light weight and amazing tool every organisation should approve and support to go ahead with best capabilities and utilisation of this amazing , robust , easy and secure product


    Amit K.

apache server is used for web proxy redirection

  • July 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy configuration, proxy redirection, SAML authentication integration, filtering
What do you dislike?
some configuration issues at compile time, performance tuning when concurrent user access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
useful for Web Proxy Redirection, Control to server request to multiple redirection, Fault tolerance,


    Banking

A simple yet efficient server

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its flexibility and can be used in different OS, Easy configuration, Well documented
What do you dislike?
Should have a better Web UI for configuration and deployment management, needs user guide documentation to understand all functionality, sometimes it doesn't scale as well as we want
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting PHP apps , It can be used as a server or even a proxy.


    Computer Software

Very robust and configurable web server

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that apache web server is open source, has a very large userbase and can be configured to do pretty much anything one could possibly want to do with an HTTP server.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how easy it is to DoS with slowloris exploit. I also dislike the configuration file syntax in comparison to nginx.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using apache to host client websites and applications, as well as internal systems, both of which are fundamental to my business needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Probably the best HTTP server implementation around. Nginx is really good too though.


    Allan W.

Apache web server

  • July 22, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compact and fits in small servers. The TLS and SSL layers.
What do you dislike?
I have nothing bad to say about Apache Web server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web server for business and personal
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Several years ago, or a decade ago. LAMPs and WAMPs were a study unto itself. Nowadays, Wordpress and vairants will do the Webpage setup for you. No need to be a back end programmer anymore.


    Program Development

Very Easy to use

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In my modest opinion is the best way to emulate a web host. For example yo can use for joonla and wordpress templates devolopment. It rules perfect with Net Beans IDE.
What do you dislike?
Some times it uses the same port than other programs, but it is very easy to solve, change a port is very simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's multiplataform, so we can use in all our computers, I use Apache to wor with windows 7 and 8.1, but some partners work with Ubuntu without problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good option.


    MA P.

Webserver service

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free , open software and got lot of community and worldwide knowledge.
What do you dislike?
Really nothing, it's great in everything!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's my cloud server for websites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Using windows you could use an IIS Server