Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise

Puppet | 2019.8.11

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

32 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mithil P.

One of the best configuration management tooks in the market.

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The scope of possibilities it has and the growth in managing different technologies.
What do you dislike?
Not being too friendly in managing networking devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ease of deployment on several range of systems with simple code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is really useful tool once you get accustomed to it. Ease of deployment is one of its best factors


    Insurance

Puppet automation

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, automation and the capabilities to drive consistency and speed to configurable controls
What do you dislike?
Nothing, except this survey form that requires me to use 40 characters to just say nothing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automating repetitive tasks


    Computer Networking

Puppet Enterprise is good at enforcing states, but...

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It enforces states and is extremely reliable for that. It is the means by which we have treated servers as livestock rather than pets.
What do you dislike?
It's not easy to learn, and is way more "Dev" than it is "Ops." Not a tool easy for Systems Administrators to adopt, and much of the functionality has been superseded by the (free) ansible, except for the enforcement of states.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used Puppet 3, but our entire model broke with the advent of Puppet 4. After the disaster of trying to transition everything over, me made the decision to retire Puppet over time.


    Thomas M.

Puppet Enterprise makes it easy to classify machines and track changes.

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to track changes on machines. Also the ability to go back and look at previous reports to see what changes were made during previous puppet runs is really great. Further, the number of modules written for Puppet by third parties show it's maturity in the landscape of configuration management software.
What do you dislike?
I wish that some of the puppet supported modules would continue support (rather than losing support as they start to be picked up by other vendors). Also, Puppet Enterprise is pretty expensive compared to some alternatives.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it to track changes across our fleet of machines and to ensure consistency across our entire environment and datacenters. We have found Puppet Enterprise to be excellent in getting from an unpuppetized environment to close to 100% penetration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Puppet Enterprise is more expensive than other options. It has good software support support. It also has many modules both written and supported by Puppetlabs as well as modules written by third party companies and individuals. I would recommend Puppet Enterprise to individuals or companies that needed to keep a fleet of machines (whether it be hundreds of identical machines or a couple dozen similar machines) configuration settings consistent over time.


    Abdel K.

Puppet for Automation

  • December 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about using puppet is that it reduces the amount of time spent building and deploying software. A team of 3 can do the work of a team of 8 if they properly use puppet.
What do you dislike?
It is sometimes very hard to move between the community edition and Enterprise edition. Choose carefully when your first starting out.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use puppet to deploy and configure all of our infrastructures. It allows us to have a rebuildable stack on any platform (aws, rackspace, data center, etc.)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend using Puppet just for the community support. The puppet forge has almost any module you can think of to accomplish your tasks. Makes puppet a great product.


    Aditya S.

Great tool for automation of your infrastructure!

  • December 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It supports ruby and yaml which are easy to code and maintain. Licensing and GUI is also user-friendly.
What do you dislike?
Viewing puppet agent run log in debug mode in the GUI is extremely tedious to scroll through.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Middleware Service, Authentication Services, Code Deployment & S/W Management.


    Information Technology and Services

Manager, System Engineering

  • December 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The overall technology worked well. The dashboard was nice as well.
What do you dislike?
The price. We used open source puppet for our lab environment and ultimately the benefits of enterprise did not justify the costs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were initially trying to do configuration management and automation. We have since moved on to using it primarily for configuration management only while utilizing ansible and other technologies for automation.


    Deepak P.

The DevOps tool

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Idem potency, and open source community like puppet forge
What do you dislike?
As infra grows, the time takes to agents to completes the run also taking time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security compliance and autdit


    Financial Services

Not ready

  • December 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Puppet is good at maintaining configuration files.
What do you dislike?
It just doesn't not have good enough reporting features or abilities to tie into our ticketing system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Actually nothing we could not do with other existing systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at blade logic and see the difference in youregards product and add the missing features and you will a very strong competitive tool


    Human Resources

Impressed by the power of Puppet

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am impressed by what Puppet can do. It can install and configure software quickly. It is a simple push to multiple servers and the servers are configured.
What do you dislike?
The main issue that I have with it is that I need to have a puppet agent installed on each server. I also would like to use this to push deployments of wars and html pages. However, it is not a small feat to accomplish. To deploy to my environments, I had to learn Ruby to get the deployments to deploy in a fashion which I could verify. I can get more details if needed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Puppet to install Tomcat and Apache and to deploy java applications and static web pages. The benefit is that I can push one configuration out and all the servers are identical.