Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise

Puppet | 2019.8.11

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

32 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joe C.

Great product with a great future!

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use, quality support, and continued, aggressive, development cycle are some of the strongest attributes that PE offers.
What do you dislike?
There could be a lot more functionality built into the web interface. What you can do is great, but a lot is missing, for example, renewing the certificate that PE UI uses isn't as trivial as it should be.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Primary benefit right now is orchestrate Linux patching
Recommendations to others considering the product:
continue to add features to the web UI


    Computer Software

Puppet Enterprise Review

  • December 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support on supported modules has been fantastic!
What do you dislike?
Learning to use the Ruby DSL language and its constraints to develop modules took some getting used to. Had to depend on the standard library to do a lot of heavy lifting with the basic objects like arrays.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The need for immutable infrastructure is obvious, and any configuration management solution is helpful in that regard, especially puppet enterprise.


    Information Technology and Services

Puppet does a lot of things right and is continually improving.

  • December 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The puppet forge is an amazing resource. Being able to find modules for just about every product is awesome. The ease of mirroring in modules for a quick test is great. The new Tasks feature is a great addition. I was very disappointed when the mcollective interface was removed, I found that quite useful, but it seems that Tasks are going to be a great addition.
What do you dislike?
I wish the report page in the console was more detailed. It's difficult to find one single resource in the report. As an example looking at the file resources you may have hundreds of resources and there doesn't seem to be any obvious way to filter that quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to show auditors a collection of code that satisfies their needs is great. Shifting from deep troubleshooting sessions to being able to simply deploy new systems to a known good state quickly is starting to make things much simpler for the Ops team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to look to the forge first. Don't assume that you are the first person to need a module. You can likely find a module that gives you exactly what you need, or a great base to start from.


    Shiwei Y.

A Puppet noobie reivew

  • December 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like puppet has a ability to manage servers with limited configs
What do you dislike?
Learning curve is bad...
There is a limit on file size that you can sync with puppet. We have to use rsync to bypass that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use puppet to do deployment


    Insurance

Puppet Automation

  • November 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automation for baseline software configuration of servers.
What do you dislike?
Higher learning curve to fully utilize potential.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Standardization of baseline software configuration for server deployment.


    Financial Services

Manager of development teams

  • November 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use for my development teams and the consistency it provides
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, it fits really well into our tool chain.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy to learn and provides consistent configuration.


    Banking

Puppet Enterprise user, for configuration management

  • October 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Puppet Enterprise helped me, automating regular tasks in our environment. It has speeded up our regular administrative tasks.
What do you dislike?
It is Ruby oriented, I rather had it Python based.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automating our Linux installation environment; customers can order there required system servers, with there middelware application server.


    Insurance

Opened the path to a new way of working

  • September 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I came from a development background when I went in to operations. I found the way of working in operations to be lacking with regards to version management and staging, which to me are the main things Puppet brings to ops. There are several other tools that do the same, but the community participation for Puppet is excellent and Puppet has a pretty decent presence on the Windows platform. So for me there hasn't been a need to look any further.
What do you dislike?
Puppet is pretty much geared towards legacy infrastructure, which for me is anything that isn't cloud native. For the forseeable future we're stuck with that and a tool like Puppet, to me, is indispensable. But I'd rather be making a greater push towards cloud native.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As said, we're bringing al of our server infrastructure under Puppet. This allows us better insight into our infra, and better control of our infra. Through desired state we neigh eliminate configuration drift, which is a great help in being in control.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You won't go wrong with Puppet Enterprise, and it offers a solid foundation for your efforts towards Infrastructure as Code.


    Manuel M.

Good configuration management tool

  • September 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Global point of view of your whole infrastructure. Reports.
What do you dislike?
I feel like upgrade path is going too fast. From version 3.8 to 4.x, and from 4.x to 5.x.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Management of a whole online supermarket infrastructure, with their development and production environments.


    Higher Education

Describing config policy in terms of desired state, rather than scripting process is very powerful.

  • September 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility and power of PE is great. There are many ways to fit it into an existing infrastructure in ways that work best for different organizations who may have different stages of devops and configuration management objectives in general.
What do you dislike?
It can be difficult for people from the more "ops" side of the organization, with a more traditional background to adopt and sometimes even see all of the advantages. This improves with exposure to the concepts and product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Consistent deployments of many similar/identical systems that would be hard to confirm/enforce through non-automated methods. Once the target state policy is written and applied, the task of maintaining a large and diverse installation is greatly improved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Focus on helping staff and users understand and see the value