Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 Extended Life Cycle Support (ELS)

Amazon Web Services | v20230718

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

712 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Phil C.

KVM the FLOSS virtualisation solution

  • June 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Kvm is supporting Intel's VMX hardware virtualization which is optimal on intel powered system, I assume it's the same with other ventors isnt AMD providing vt instuctions set too ?
What do you dislike about the product?
It can be confusing to have several incompatible virtualisations system on the same host , which is not possible but afaik there is no abstraction service to switch from one system to an other.

Setting up network interfaces can be confusion, and supporting accelerated GPU is not fully supported, so it can be inappropriate to test opengl application, that said vmware with mesa gallium driver can be an alternative to consider.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used kvm to test some distros like Tizen:Common which are using the same architectures.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
you can also look for libvirt and virtman which is providing a nice user interface if you're not confortable with command lines or man pages. Something also useful is to disable the GUI windows and use ncurses mode to use the guest machine on host's terminal. Last but not least even if kvm is a good product maybe there are other way to address isolations needs, for instance containers can also be considered, check also for CGroups, LXC, docker, rocket ...


    Blagovest P.

My experience with KVM

  • June 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Combined with LibVirt, KVM is one of the easiest and free hypervisors. Windows, Linux or UNIX operating systems runs without any problem. Windows drivers are provided compiled online from RedHat.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's hard for setup if it's used without Libvirt or a similar tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our infrastructure is based on KVM and Linux Containers. We had a lot of VMWare legacy but it was converted to Ubuntu and KVM hypervisor for about a year. Management and backup is a lot easier with with Ubuntu and KVM. Especially combined with ZFS and snapshotting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it with LibVirt or integrated system like ProxMox. ZFS for the file storage is a big advantage! Also, it can be used with storage clusters lice Ceph for a bigger environments. OpenStack, the industry standart for compute clouds is mostly compatible with KVM.


    Georgios G.

Maybe the best free Virtualization System

  • June 10, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The first fact that I like a lot about KVM is that it is a free and open source software, and it does not lack any of the features that other propertiary competitors provide .

Additionally it's easy to grasp and configure .

Finally , it's performance and reliability are very good ( comparable or even better that any of the alternatives ) .
What do you dislike about the product?
One downside that I can think of is that it lacks availability for other processor architectures ( with ARM and RISK being the most important ) . This feature might also be very useful in the embedded system community .

Other than that I am very satisfied with this product .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using KVM for running different virtual machines that provide different services in the Intranet without the need of many different physical servers .

Also using KVM for deploying virtual machines for testing new features .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a full virtualization solution go with it ! It surpasses all the alternatives that I am aware of .
It wil not take long to learn how the configuration works so you will get the benefits pretty fast .


    Ameya K.

Best solution for automating application and ETL batch jobs

  • June 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
All functionality and features available. Easy to install, upgrade and maintain open source applications.
What do you dislike about the product?
upgrading the OS between major versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
all our ETL and application programming is run on this server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
easy to implement all solutions and schedule batch jobs using shell scripts.


    Food Production

Virtualization of a testing environment for IPv6 network testing

  • May 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the fact that KVM is Open Source software and thus compatible with a lot of applications that can be easily run in a Linux server with a very low cost.
I also find KVM lighter than other solutions in terms of hardware requirements.
What do you dislike about the product?
KVM is not available for all the processors. Also the process of setting up a network is not as easy as with other solutions.
I did run into some implementation bugs but they were fixed in newer versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used KVM to test IPv6 integration in a testing network environment. The aim was to learn the differences from a sysadmin point of view of administrating an IPv6 network to IPv4 networks.


    Milad N.

The Stable Linux Server

  • May 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I am using linux for more than ten years now, I worked as a Linux Jedi for 5 6 years, RedHat was one of the most stable with lots of support I worked with. RedHat 7 has lots of new feature that I like, changing its directory server was one of the interesting changes.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's price actually, some changes in new version need more memory and are not suitable for the some old machines
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using Redhat for deploy lots of different kind of problems, I deployed a directory server for more than 100,000 users using 389-ds, I used it as infrastructure for cloud processing for more than 50 servers and I also used it for different web services, I also recently I deployed a cluster computing facility with lots of automation which I think is a beautiful work with help of RedHat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Where I worked for four where we have lots of computers in windows and linux, I loved to have a central administration tool if it was possible. Samba4 cannot handle lots of users and computers


    Michael T.

Incredibly satisfying

  • May 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Besides it being a gnu/linux distribution, RedHat constantly provides stable and polished releases. They are keen on providing fast support and bug fixes. And of course the community behind RedHat is one of the best.
What do you dislike about the product?
The RPM could be a bit better, it is quite a challenge when switching from APT or OpenSUSE. At least for me a cheat sheet is required. But this would be more of a note to all RedHat distributions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All of our web apps are deployed on a RedHat linux distro, either CentOS or RHEL.
It was never a question of an operating system, Windows or GNU/Linux, it is pretty self-explanatory. It is imperative to have a rock-solid operating system running all of your business, be it websites, data bases or internal mail servers, administration panels . With an enterprise solution you no longer need freelancers or to search through countless forums to find a fix for your problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The support is great, it is indeed a great choice for a Linux distribution if you are in need of support and a balance of updates/stability. It will definitely take you some time to get used to it, especially if you're switching from a Debian distribution. You might want to consider hiring a RedHat Enterprise certified tech specialist just to be on the safe side of things, especially if this is in concern to your app or business security or data privacy.


    James D.

Open source Kernel Level Visualization.

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free.
Easy to use and quick to configure.
Does everything most companies will need in terms of Visualization.
What do you dislike about the product?
Lack of "Over selling" - Unlike container based visualization RAM can not be oversold.
Has a small overhead, uses much more resources than container based visualization.
Although these are downsides of Full Visualization and not KVM its self.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We currently run 5 KVM VM's avoiding the need for 5 physical servers.
We also use KVM to separate our web server from development platforms.

In the past I managed a VPS server that had over 200 KVM VM's on it. The only issue we had was when we accidentally over allocated resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fantastic product. As good as the costly alternatives.


    chedi t.

kvm review

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
In the Linux world KVM is a very reliable solution that can be used for x86 architecture virtualization with a reasonable overhead. Reliable and extensible, with a tight integration with linux security facilities like SELinux, KVM just does the job.

You will unlikely have to see kvm if you are using a cloud solution because of the seamless integration. If instead you are a Linux desktop user, KVM is the solution to go if you have to start virtual machines with linux or other operating systems with almost zero extra configuration needed.

That said, KVM have a rich options set that can be directly used or via wrappers like LibVirt.
What do you dislike about the product?
The support of virtualization in the recent generation of x86 processor is almost a must have, so the only negative aspect of needing hardware support to have a fully functional kvm can be dropped. It would be nice if the support for other platform like ARM or Risk was as good as the x86 one, but I think with the democratization of chromebooks based on these chips and mobile devices, it will not take long for that to happen.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Full system virtualization is a necessity for some testing cases or in the event of evaluation of new functionnalities. Booting up a vm in a few seconds and having an almost genuine systems that can be can linked in very different network typologies for almost zero configuration were the main reasons of our choice of kvm.


    Government Administration

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's not just an operating system, today RHEL is an ecosystem of products and services whose tools simplify the process of automation and management of ours data center, the documentation is very specific and comprehensive, and ¡it works! because behind the best developers that they can afford.

If you want to test some solutions for academic purposes, any Linux operating system could help you, but when it comes to saving time, effort and money, RHEL must be your best decision.
What do you dislike about the product?
1.- The knowledge base(KB) is not public, you must pay for access.
2.- The licenses is in permament changes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Anthing you can imagine: RRHH, Web Services, Transactional/NoSQL Data Base, development any services of mission critical, RHEL is a operating system standard on the industry.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and fast deployment, mission critical solutions, red hat education is a good optcion to deem and service support.