Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

33 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Relatively new, but won't recommend for new users on AWS.

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides more security and durability by providing data replication. Self healing clusters is a win. The best part was integration with amazon could watch where I could set up alarms for my instances.
What do you dislike?
API's are read only.
No access to logs.
No access to node level metrics.
No frequent hourly backup schedule available.
Customer support is worse. Every time they try to focus the attention on shards instead of trying to troubleshoot the issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To scale up my instances and integrate popular AWS modules. Used it in my 1st intern project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Elastic Cloud instead.


    Samira B.

AWS Elasticsearch

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Elasticsearch itself is an open source scalable, distributed, real-time search and analytics engine from Elastic, the creators of Logstash, Beats, and Kibana. Elasticsearch makes an excellent alternative to Splunk.
What do you dislike?
Amazon Elastic search is hardly overwhelming, coming with a very basic tool kit and an outdated release version. And it’s expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A full range of instance types from which to build your clusters.


    Dylan C.

easy Analytics in the cloud

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Elasticsearch is very well integrated with a lot of key AWS services including Lambda, your VPC, Cloudwatch, KMW, and many many others. On top of that it's pre-integrated with Kibana, making it super easy to setup impressive analytic services in the cloud on AWS. Using such a system is going to allow your DevOps/Infrastructure team to focus on much more important issues rather than implementing yet another system for logging and supervising your infrastructure. In my opinion, the tradeoff of customizability is worth the incredible convenience Elasticsearch will bring to your infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
the query DSL is much less known and less customizable than an equivalent database service like Postgres using SQL. You also have less control over your consistency than you would if you were running a private log caching system. In my opinion, AWS services are also incredible difficult to debug since all the hardware is off-site and only accessible through the console, meaning setup and debugging will take much longer than if it was an on-premise solution. AWS really needs to document their services better and/or offer comprehensive, in-depth tutorials on each service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating easily-maintable, low overhead logging and searching solutions for applications and server infrastructure. This allows us to get the general information we need without having to dedicate an entire team towards gathering simple analytics in our cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest considering whether you really need the customizability of a private logging solution or whether you're looking for a more generic dataset.


    Zochilth F.

Managed Service that is easy to deploy, operate and search!

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In the end it’s a great product and easy to use. Our department chose the Elastic Cloud service since the setup was simple and it was up and running within minutes after installation.
What do you dislike?
Amazon ElasticSearch Service helps with my Amazon ES domain in which the cloud that computers and storages resources that I specify, helps immensely such as the number of types, number of instances and many options for storage. The many benefits of the managed service include self-healing clusters, enhances security and node monitoring.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The only problem that may occur is the sensitivity of using these services since one is very limited to storage as well as the clusters provisioning are linked on memory and disk space, so in order to have more space and storage, one would have to bump up the memory. And having to bump up the next tier when my storage and memory usage was not close to being maxed out.


    David T.

Managed Elasticsearch provides nice scaling and automation

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can get a cluster up and running quickly without a lot of hassle.
Managed versions means I don't need to configure a lot to get running out the gate.
What do you dislike?
It is more difficult to customize some aspects like the version.
They didn't open the java port so all requests have to be done via REST.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need to collect customer data from various sources into one searchable space. This made is possible to do that, and gave us full document text search.


    Anuj M.

very important service provided by aws

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very important services and widely used service of amazon which collect the data and used for filterization the data with help of kibana and logstash, automated tool of elasticsearch. Very fast and real time service for data filtering and data optimazation.
What do you dislike?
I can say there is no disadvantage of this service only cost is efficient other wise all things look good into this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is solving data filter problem with help of kibana and logstash UI attached with this service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
very good service for data filter most of the company using it and very real time and highly available service of aws. Everyone should need to try this who are not using only i can say.


    Anuj M.

elastic search is awesome service of aws

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I can say best service of aws to collect the data and for filterization, the most advantage for this is very fast and reliable to use and very cost efficiently. Elastic search is managed service which provide real time api's and data as well. This service have built in application with Logstash and kibana, which is very good and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
sometime it not works then aws says you have lot of shards which is disadvantage of elasticsearch other wise its very good service provided by aws.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are solving data solution with this, we can filter large amount of data within seconds from kibana and logstash, very useful and important service of aws.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
everyone should need to use this serviceas it solves very big business problems of data filtering. Kibana and logstash is the best part which is provided by aws with elasticsearch.


    Computer Software

Easily create and manage Elasticsearch cluster

  • July 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Managing an elasticsearch cluster can be a lot of work. Hosting via Amazon takes a lot of administrative overhead away and makes it easier to focus on business cases and needs.
What do you dislike?
It tends to cost more than hosting locally, and scaling vertically and horizontally increases those costs exponentially.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Elasticsearch serves as a very speedy data storage and querying service, and it works great for our use case of storing millions of data entries that need to be queried by software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a cloud instance of Elasticsearch Amazon is a great way to go. If the price isn't an issue for your organization you will enjoy the hassle-free service akin to other AWS services.


    Brandon E.

Great solution for indexing and searching massive amounts of content.

  • July 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of pushing data into the service is the best part of Elasticsearch. With just a few lines of code I'm able to send a massive amount of documents & have them indexed in a short period of time. The sending process is quick and easy & I have yet to experience any downtime.
What do you dislike?
The thing I dislike the most is that the documentation doesn't always seem straightforward. When setting up my connection from a PHP server it takes a decent amount of time to get things up and running. I feel as though they could provide more detailed documentation and perhaps a few tutorials to help people get up and running quicker.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Elasticsearch solves the problem of indexing and searching large amounts of records. Instead of writing custom queries to search the records; Elasticsearch has allowed me to offload that process. This has saved time and resources as well as provided more accurate search results. The clients seem to be happy with the speed and accuracy increase.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend that you at least give it a try to see if it meets your business requirements. Spend at least a day with it before deciding to use/switch to it.


    Education Management

Used for storing calculated results.

  • June 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the good documentation provided, helps a lot when starting as a beginner.
What do you dislike?
There are no clear cons so far, as set up was easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Improving search engine result speed.