Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN - Free VPN Server on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

129 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rajesh D.

OpenVPN for Secure Connection

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using OpenVPN for Secure connection to our remote branches & Applications. It provides advance features such as Two-Factor Authentication that we can integrate with Google Authenticator as well. It also provides Options such as route the traffic via internet as well. It provides certificate authentication that helps us to encrypt & Secure the enviorment. We can also configure & Manage the same with Openvpn admin GUI as well. It provides DNS Options & user management as well.
What do you dislike?
The only issue with Openvpn we found when we try to connect or configure the client environment, it doesn't accept the certificate sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN resolved our Secure connection environment issues & helped us to connect with our remote branches securely & also allowed us to encrypt the data over the public network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a Secure VPN Connection & data encryption as well, then OpenVPN is one of the best solutions.


    PRABAKARAN A 1.

Excellent open source vpn server

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have set up my VPN by running an open VPN server in docker containers on my Azure virtual machine.

I have achieved the following things,
1. Reduced latency and increased browsing speed
2. User - I have added 5+ users, connected through mobiles
3. Adblocker, I have configured pi-hole in my open vpn server. Able to get rid of adverts
4. Security, my azure virtual machine is well secured. My VPN is secure
5. Reliability, very reliable. VPN never disconnects automatically.
6. Bandwidth, based on an Azure virtual machine, not our wifi. getting 50 to 80 MBs through open VPN
What do you dislike?
Content caching is not in place. Otherwise, it would be more speed browsing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have set up my vpn and connected through mobile devices, able to be safe and secure in public wifi.

I have configured pi-hole adblockers, surfing freely without too many advertisements


    KanuPriya K.

OpenVPN for VPN access

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about OpenVPN is I can easily import VPN files given by the client and connect to VPN, and it saves the profile; hence next time connection to VPN is just one click. I like the UI of the Open VPN.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about the Open VPN is it timeout automatically in a couple of minutes, and that leads to inactivity of my established connection in the Putty.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using the OpenVPN for VPN establishment to the private network, and I feel it is easy to use OpenVPN compare to other VPN clients.


    Hospital & Health Care

OpenVPN; A Startup's Experience

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN was a free solution (with the right company configuration) that worked for our small, rapidly growing company of ~50 employees. Mostly hosted on AWS, we were able to dedicate an EC2 Server to managing the VPN needs of the company, primarily to provide access to other AWS resources in a secure manner. This solution scaled very well as we grew.
What do you dislike?
We did run into some latency issues, for example, when we had entire company calls and everyone had their video and audio on. Sometimes the speaker on a video call would break up and then reconnect. This proved to be a minor but noticeable drawback.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have developed a strong, standardized way of accessing protected resources. The VPN allows us to keep our private servers securely tucked away from public access, allowing us to keep our customers and our own sanity satisfied. IT has been part of our journey to High Trust accreditation.


    Computer Software

Non-invasive VPN Software

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that OpenVPN is quite easy to setup. I use OpenVPN at my company in order to access internal files and portals that are only open to those on the VPN. "Logging in" to the VPN is as simple as typing in a username and password that I create, then gaining access. One thing I also appreciate is that every once and so often, OpenVPN will remind me to change my password. In addition, some VPNs significantly slow down internet browsing speed, which I have not noticed at all with this software.
What do you dislike?
While I understand this is the nature of the beast, I don't like that I have to login with my username and password EVERY time I login to my computer. I would hope that there are certain ways to detect that it is in fact me accessing the software. I've also had the VPN abruptly disconnect at times, requiring me to re-login in order to access needed files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Information security, really. I'm not on the IT team but I've never had issues with security, hacks, phising, et-cetera.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Open VPN review

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful was the way it remembers credentials
What do you dislike?
At times the internet connection in the laptop stops working
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of OPEN VPN we are connecting to database and access data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One should consider OPENVPN if the want to access data in private network.


    Diego G.

This Package provides Secure and Accuracy VPN solution and easy system to start.

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Through many different servers offered by the OpenVPN team, you can access secure internet browsing at any time from anywhere.
Shifting from one server to another using OpenVPN is very easy and effective, as well as the Authentication capability.
What do you dislike?
OpenVPN has a very straightforward installation procedure and easy to start using after the implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Accessing the required internet anytime from various locations.

Document and data management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Wonderful solution for secure internet browsing activities, enabling access to the internet from any required location.


    Tony E.

The Most SECURE and RELIABLE Internet Experience with Open VPN

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Security, stability, and ease of use is how I describe OpenVPN, and for these modern and changing times, this is the number one priority for everyone in this world. OpenVPN will provide you with that and more. I've never felt so safe before; Working at home or even in a public space is a priority for many people around the world due to this exhausting pandemic. You will be safe at all times with your OpenVPN turned on. I recently moved from a different VPN software at my company. The way this software works is amazing and I can really see why we chose OpenVPN to make sure our computers and business are safe at all times. It just takes care of that, and more.
What do you dislike?
I would say there are no negatives that I can mention. It provides what is described: a virtual private network system that implements techniques to create secure point-to-point or site-to-site connections in routed or bridged configurations and remote access facilities. So simple, yet complete.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I handle calls, texts and emails every day. Making sure my clients and the company are safe is a number one priority. Ensuring that my company and personal information is fairly well protected is non-negotiable. OpenVPN is the best shield to use at all times to make sure everyone is safe and happy so that we can provide exceptional service to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have any questions regarding OpenVPN, just send an email to them, they will respond back with all the information you need regarding the program.


    James P.

Powerful VPN for Remote Browsing.

  • December 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN its a main and most powerful Visual Private Network provider and the VPN features accessibility its nice.
The easy of implementation and the overall services quality from OpenVPN its incredible. With the VPN its very easy to access various servers on different countries Worldwide.
What do you dislike?
On my side i got none to dislike and the tool performance and the features are very easy to set and manipulate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helpful for private browsing.

Remotely browsing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is my favourite VPN and very powerful software with many servers on different locations and easy to install.


    Javier R.

Great VPN app for working

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use, fast, excellent performance
What do you dislike?
Nothing, everything works perfect for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connecting to remote computers. Very fast, use it on RPA automations and works perfect.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great app for VPN, excellent performance, love the small interface.