Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 SP2 (HVM), SSD Volume Type with Support

terracloudx | SUSE Linux Enterprise Serv 20200721

Linux/Unix, SUSE SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15 SP2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

19 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Government Administration

SLES

  • August 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the robustness and ease of use of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server. The support is very good and also the documentation.
What do you dislike?
SUSE Lineux Enterprise Server solves my issues, I don't have any particular thing that I dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for several things, containers, web applications and databases for example.


    Retail

Nice and stable Operating System for SAP Applications on IBM Power

  • July 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Suse linux Enterprise Server because of the variety of Custom OS versions for different CPU's like IBM Power and Intel and different applications running on it and also because they deliver both on-premise and cloud-based services. We have Suse Linux Enterprise server running on 6 IBM Power systems, installation is running very smooth. I defenitly like the administration portal for the subscriptions. I also think installation of Upgrades for this OS is really easy. Suse support is great and their community is growing rapidly with very fast response to resolve issues.
What do you dislike?
I really do not have much in a list regarding dislikes. I suppose if I had to pick one thing, it would be the fact that some IBM RST packages are hard to find and manage. I don't like it that some application vendors do not support Suse in their compatibility matrix.
The updates is more a Linux global thing, if you patch once a month you will get a whole bunch of updates. I would like to see cumulative updates like Windows update in Microsoft windows servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As we use Suse Enterprise server for our SAP Environment we needed an operating system that has high compatibility with SAP on IBM Power system. We found Suse Enterprise Server for SAP applications for this usage. We are very pleased with this OS, because it is easy to deploy and maintain. Also when using Suse Manager to distribute updates in a Dev, Test, Acceptance, Production environment through a Content lifecycle project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Suse linux Enterprise Server is well suited for production enterprise systems. You need to pick a linux distribution thats most compatible with the application you need to use. For us Suse enterprise linux is the one! This goes without saying, but make sure that SLES supports all of the various applications that you would want to host and buy a support contract. The licensing portal (Suse Customer Center) is very easy to use, I've never had to use it but I know that my coworkers have found it very valuable in the past. Suse linux Enterprise Server is perfect for any size business and should definitely be in the shortlist of operating systems for just about any business critical system. just do it, it is one of the highly secured Linux environments available out there in the market.


    Automotive

If you are going to use a Linux operating system, let it be SLES.

  • December 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
If you need an environment that requires uninterruptedness, it will be very useful for you to use suse enterprise. If you have too many servers, you can use it with susemanager to manage it very easily.
What do you dislike?
The prices are expensive. Especially because they are released very often, they want a lot of money from the versions that enter LTSS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuity and management of Linux servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest you prefer this over other distributions


    Maximiliano P.

A robust enterprise linux distribution

  • June 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME experience for GUI is excellent. Also the zypper repositories management is straight forward. I've used it for MicroStrategy server and it was a good experience overall. SUSE joined the openstack project. It is healthy to have another player on GNU Opensource disputing the throne of Redhat. Using Redhat content delivery is also a great feature.
What do you dislike?
If you are more familiar with RedHat/CentOS you find some annoying differences that you need to get used to (E.G. apache2 vs httpd). Also the GUI experience is resource intensive. But overall no big complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've implemented MicroStrategy Intelligence Server, Apache & Tomcat with mod_jk and a custom JSTL Based app for authentication againts Teradata sources. We implemented multiple environments for dev, prod, uat, etc on virtual servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No advise, but personally I'd rather work with Red Hat.


    Information Technology and Services

SUSE is the best OS for people who like the GUI

  • April 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SUSE works well for beginners to learn the Linux OS as it features an (YaST) tool which is a GUI interface to install packages, manage storage, among other things.

SUSE also works very well on the IBM Mainframe running z/Linux.
What do you dislike?
I haven't encountered anything that I have had issues with in regards to SUSE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SUSE has made it easy for me to maintain and manage servers running on Mainframe.


    stephen k.

Enterprise quality Linux distro that you can depend on.

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The support is top notch with custom vetted secured packages.
What do you dislike?
Since it's corp oriented distro you are not going to get the latest kernels or packages. It's probably better to stick with ubuntu or debian
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
System admin and light servers for http server and print servers. And hosting containers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If it's too much risk to try it right away, openSuse is out there for ones to test-drive this product before deploying to production.


    Telecommunications

Upgrowing Linux Enterprise Server is a Linux-based operating system

  • April 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Suse have its own specialty on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
What do you dislike?
There is not much dislikes for suse. Its complete solution for linux based operating system and products. But little upgrade also required on interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Suse has solved problems on delivering high-quality Linux and open-source programs and services to customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend Suse over redhat performance wise.


    Matt W.

Suse in a DC Datacentre

  • April 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Formed from the roots of a community developed OS, the operating system is very resilient and fails hardly ever. Software is also very easy to install. Excellent control centre.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that i dislike is some software doesnt come packaged for SUSE
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using SUSE to run webservers. The low footprint and resource usage allow us to have many containers running SUSE


    Mitch S.

I have used SUSE on my servers for decades.

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Yast is a decent UI for server management. The SUSE and linux documentation is served pretty well. It is a very stable system. Not much down time. Installation and upgrades usually work pretty well with not too much for problems. Mostly, I am a great linux fan and SUSE is a decent distro.
What do you dislike?
Yast could manage a multitude of things that it does not. Some applications have obscure bugs that take a while to find and fix and/or work around. Most of the problems I've encountered are difficulties with linux not SUSE based.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The primary packages we use are survey tabulation, statistical analysis, and the LAMP stack. These allow us to conduct large market and employee research studies. SUSE helps me to keep this software and my servers running well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look around at the different distros and pick one to suit your needs. SUSE works well for me.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

SUSE linux for enterprise

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast os machines for heavy jobs using huge memory
What do you dislike?
networking issues sometimes with slowness
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running big jobs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fast os machines