Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Tomcat 9 with Pre-configured Stack with support by Terracloudx

terracloudx | 9.0.37 v20210526

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

95 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    kiran b.

Ideal application server for Windows based application

  • December 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy deployments
Application logs
Application Management
Application configuration
Ease of setup
What do you dislike?
Multi-application deployment causes slowness in single tomcat server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying for internal releases and running web bases applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best application server to host web-based applications. This needs Java JDK as prerequiste.


    Angella S.

Reliable and amazing server for Java applications.

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is a very simple, efficient, and easily installable tool and the configuration process is very basic. It is simple to personalize the start-up and halts the script to alter memory or set-up option. Tomcat assists nearly all web server features that we want such as Tread pool, Connection pool, Https, Mutual and info Source. It offers a set of very rich API. It is powerfully incorporated with practically main IDE including Eclipse, and IntelliJ.
What do you dislike?
It is typically CLI based. Though the GUI support is present, it is not much comprehensive and general. The learning curve of custom configuration is sharp and is not so much instinctive. Tomcat could not suit properly if there is a requirement of EJB or socket feature, and if the app is very complicated or demands a cluster. Tomcat user interface is too basic and have restricted features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is highly appropriate for smaller and standard sized Servlet-based Java apps. It is an amazing app server that does not need a considerable struggle to go on track. It delivers a huge variety of features letting us customize our servers. It enables us to create a computerization script to manage all the distribution methods based on the Tomcat API. Certifications are extensively accessible.


    Mary W.

A highly consistent and remarkable server for Java apps.

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is a very easy to use, simple, resourceful, and creative tool. It offers a very simple and easy installation and arrangement method. It easily customizes the start-ups and terminates the script to modify the memory or format possibilities. It helps approximately all web server functionalities that are essential for the users including the Tread pool, Connection pool, Https, Mutual and info basis. It has robust integration with essentially significant IDE i.e. Eclipse, and IntelliJ.
What do you dislike?
One of the disadvantages is that it is CLI-based. Although the GUI provision is existing, it is not considerably prevalent and wide-ranging. The custom conformation has a steep learning curve and is not greatly intuitive. If there is a prerequisite of EJB or socket functionality, or if the application is very problematic or requests a cluster then the Tomcat does not work accurately. Tomcat UI is very simple having constrained performance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is vastly applicable for minor and ordinary-sized Servlet-based Java applications. It is an incredible server for applications that do not require the users to do an extensive effort to move on the track. It offers an enormous diversity of functionalities authorizing the users to modify their servers. It facilitates them to generate an automation script to handle all the sharing approaches based on the Tomcat API. Its authorizations are widely reachable.


    Meghan S.

Easy Web Server Application.

  • November 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Their open source. Its open source. Very easy and flexible. User-friendly. Well set API. Supports IDE such as Eclipse, IntelliJ.
What do you dislike?
When running large applications, Tomcat often crashes. The software needs to be improved. Tomcat Giving any member access to make the configuration changes. It is great to develop Tomcat documentation for beginners. It is great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our department, Apache Tomcat uses the Web applications of our organization. Apache Tomcat is an open source, easy to use and easy to configure to deploy any Java web app. Tomcat is very flexible and lightweight. It offers an excellent API collection and no installation is needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In maintaining a web application, Tomcat is a great server solution.


    Airlines/Aviation

Best Server for Beginner as well as for Production

  • November 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its mostly user friendly server. Its simple to use for beginner. No extra configuration is required.
Its lightweight server, easy to install, Open source
What do you dislike?
Its does not support cluster environment, difficult to manage from Admin console
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As its in-build in spring boot, for all our micro service we are using tomcat as application server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lightweight server , opensource , stable


    Computer Software

Tomcat

  • November 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simpe and light weight java server. Due to this it is very frequently used in microservice architecture.
Using Maven and spring DI we can get everything in Tomcat, which is there in application servers.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike but some times if we do redeployment again and again then catch (work) folder didn't clear.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Following problems we solving using Tomcat:
1. Deploying Java applications.
2. Breaking monolithic application into small java applications.
3. dockerizing those application for microservice architecture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very simple to use and light weight java server for J2EE applications.


    SREE VISWENDRA NATH G.

Best server program to deploy java servlets and jsp pages

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The server is implemented efficiently to cope up with the high request rate. It is used to deploy java servlets and JSP pages which are implemented in most powerful language JAVA. We can integrate this server with eclipse software which provides a ton of features for developers when working with large scale projects. Tomcat server is absolutely free of cost and open-source software.
What do you dislike?
The performance, ease of access and maintaining the server is very handy. The machine slows down a bit when working with huge request rate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I learned to host my website via the tomcat server using the best object-oriented language JAVA. This is very easy to integrate with the Eclipse software which operates very well for a developer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good server solution when it comes to managing a web application.


    Education Management

Excellent server to work with java applications.....

  • October 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this application because it is very easy to install and run.This application is very useful to run your java enterprise applications which specifies java Servlets, JSP and so on.This is very easy to create a dynamic web project and run by server.it also supports to Eclipse application.It is very useful as it is free of cost.you can easily start the server and run your html pages in chrome.
What do you dislike?
I would like almost every feature given in this application but sometimes it may be difficult to open our project from the files which we have created for different projects.It is not much supportive to to run a large web based application.sometimes it faces performance issues also.sometimes the documentations provided may not be easy to understand but it helps a lot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is very useful and it is free of cost,this server is very effective to work with.by integrating this application with eclipse we can develop our own projects.but every time we modify a file in our project the server should be restarted and it is not simple for big projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this application to all other java developers to use this tomcat server and run your applications successfully.as it is an open source it is totally free of cost.I would say it is very useful to students who develops enterprise applications.it is very simple to use and the interface is very good.


    Dinusha S.

Apache Tomcat is best

  • September 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is incredibly lightweight. And we do not need to spend more time and effort to install it, because it just needs to simply download and run. Also, it is a very flexible and open source. Therefore, we can make simple changes according to our requirements. Then, another advantage I identified is, we can have multiple applications running too in parallel with Tomcat. Also, it has good community support too.
What do you dislike?
However, when we run a large web-based application with Tomcat, its performances are not in that standard which I mentioned above. Actually, Tomcat is not suitable to run large web-based java applications. And I propose that the security features of Tomcat should be enhanced furthermore. It is also a problem work with a development group because Tomcat allows anyone to do the modification in the configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache Tomcat is a server to run Java-based applications. My experience with Tomcat is very positive and I have used it for 5 years or more. And also it is one of the most popular sever for running java applications according to statistics.Because it is open-source and very easy to use and configure when deploying any Java web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this software for who are developing Java web applications.


    Will H.

Good open-source web application server

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is an open-source and simple tool to configure webserver. It is an extremely lightweight and highly flexible tool. Tomcat usually takes 3-4 mins for a server to start a fully-fledged website. This helps us to allocate unnecessary elements of the system. One of the great advantages is that We can have multiple applications running too in parallel. Apache Tomcat is very stable and also it has good community support.
What do you dislike?
Documentation about Tomcat should be improved and structured more to learn beginners. Sometimes, Apache tomcat crashes unexpectedly and taking a long time to begin services.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Tomcat to deploy our web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can deploy your web application with tomcat very easily if you know JAVA language very well. Install and use integrated with cloud and VM environments.