Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Wordpress With Windows Server 2016

Cognosys Inc. | V 1.0.1

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

2,112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Publishing

Although the platform has gotten better, I find it still more difficult than it needs to be...

  • July 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I get my domain name through word press, and like the price of $18 a year. I used WordPress formally for my website and blog, and liked the community feel for it at the time.
What do you dislike?
Although the platform for blogging has gotten better (I have used it to guest blog on EverAfter Romance), I find the website building platform more difficult, especially loading widgets, and styling it the way I want.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having my own domain has been great for branding and using WordPress as a guest blogger has helped reach new readers. I have played around with it a bit, and although the formatting is better, I don't like that I have to pay extra to customize my website. (With weebly, I can use a custom format for free.)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
WordPress is great for better visibility. It is about 20 dollars less than Weebly per year right now, but it is billed monthly. Their premium plan includes a website domain, (which pay $18 separately) and $100 advertising credit, so it's not a bad deal. However, everything WordPress charges for in their premium package (customizing my websites background for instance, a pretty simple feature), I can do on Weebly for free. So, although WordPress is definitely going in the right direction, if you are just starting out and trying to save money, I wouldn't jump into a paid plan with them.


    Higher Education

Wordpress

  • July 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free! It makes running a website really easy because the software is simple to learn. Even people who aren't experienced with HTML can use this tool to run a webpage.
What do you dislike?
I can't think of many things that I dislike about this, however occassionally there are glitches with some plug ins.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The non-experienced user can gain a lot of web knowledge from using this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's free, try it! For the most part, anyone can use this.


    Derek B.

WordPress.com Review

  • June 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think that WordPress.com is a great asset for companies to create blogs and other marketing campaigns. I feel that WordPress has helped me to understanding more about web-site building and also creates and easy form of adjusting and creating materials for both personal and professional usage.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that WordPress does not have a mobile application that is easy to use and create material on. I find that the website is a great tool for the programming software but wish the company would create a mobile application for users to interact and engage with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The software has not really solved or benefitted our organization. I think that the software is great but it only serves as a small piece of what my company is looking to create.


    Information Technology and Services

I used Wordpress the most

  • June 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The product and user interface were easy to understand and use.
What do you dislike?
Having to download the program to edit templates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I design websites and launch social media for businesses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It doesn't matter if you're a web programmer or not but it's really easy if you are.


    Philip J V.

Good for Basics

  • June 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
FREE unless you use a custom domain or certain templates.
What do you dislike?
Wordpress claims that you don't need to know much HTML. This is true as long as you use their templates or work only from the main "design" page. Occasionally, the design doesn't translate to the "live" page, and they have to be addressed by directly tweaking the HTML.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Wordpress makes it easy to quickly add pages as needed at no extra cost. We are able to host a large quantity of HQ images, to make our pages eye-catching without requiring a lot of time or effort. For a small company, this makes it easy for us to manage our own content. Our marketing team is also able to log in from anywhere to make changes, without requiring us to be near our server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's important to learn some basic HTML and consider paying a little extra for your own domain. There can be a few extra costs involved in Wordpress, but they're worth it in the long run.


    Graphic Design

Friendly Staple

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the endless options available for both beginners (myself) and advanced programmers. There are so many themes and plugins available. In my opinion this is the standard.
What do you dislike?
It would be awesome if some how wordpress created a drag and drop, layout collaboration with adobe. Where you can just easily type commands with out having to know coding knowledge. One big problem I have is when random updates are made and everything goes rogue / disappears. Friendlier shopping cards would be great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a graphic designer representing various client needs from services to products for sale. Wordpress is the most versatile and adaptive platform that grows with my clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Never leave lorem ipsum on a theme, it automatically makes you look like an amatuer. Good photos go a long way! And white space is always a good choice when in doubt!


    Isabel H.

I love wordpress

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That I can be very flexible in how I want my website to look like plus all the great plugins that are compatible with it.
What do you dislike?
That some updates mess with my theme. I can never be sure that when I hit update that it won't change the way my website looks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Looking professional on the internet. It is great to create something that can represent and reflect my work and who I am.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend wordpress for its convenience in creating a professional looking website without too much hassle.


    Music

great basic website / blog development tool

  • June 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Offers easy to use what you see is what you get web development, with access to many free or for purchase templates. gives small businesses the opportunity to create a web presence without a major cost output
What do you dislike?
when searching for commonly used / popular plug ins, it is sometimes difficult to filter the 'legitimate' safe to use plug ins from the spammy or unstable ones. would be nice for wordpress to have a better collection of 'sponsored' plug ins that service common problems/opportunities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are a small construction business who needs a simple, easy to use / read web presence for our customers. however hiring a web developer to build a website is often not worth the cost. wordpress helps us build a basic, professional looking website without outsourcing the work to somebody else


    Kelsey S.

2 websites built on Wordpress couldn't be easier to manage

  • June 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use, anyone can be taught to work a wordpress site. The navigation is easy, plugins are easy, theme integration is easy, can't ask for anything better. We were able to integrate an Aveda Theme into our wordpress site making it much easier to customize to our liking. I like the options of plugins that are available. Whenever we are trying to customize our site, I know I can search for a plugin for an image gallery, slideshow, timeline, event page, etc. and no matter what I search for I am always able to find something I can use.
What do you dislike?
There are a few glitches here and there with plugins and the server we use, we have WPengine and some of our plugins don't mesh well and tend to have small breakdowns. I'm not sure if it's the wordpress platform itself or an issue with WPEngine but we do have to get an outside developer involved when this occurs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With our members site we have been able to integrate Learndash with our Wordpress site making it easier for our students to maneuver through their courses. We're able to integrate learning platforms, ecommerce, event planning and everything through our WP system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to use and more then capable of handling everything you need when it comes to a website. Whether it's a blog, a large or small company, wordpress is my go to choice for web development.


    Jerry P.

Simple, effective, powerful

  • June 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Wordpress to my mind is the standard when it comes to CMS. Considering the basic package is free, the power and the range of plug-ins make this a hard one to ignore.
What do you dislike?
Unless you host it yourself, you are limited, but that is a small price to pay, and when you are ready to move on you just migrate your site to a new host and then you can do what you like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For setting up a blog or simple site where little programming expertise is required, or available, this is the first choice option for me.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a no brainer, try it out, chances are there are plug ins for just about everything you need to do.