Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Boston WorkStation 20

Boston Software Systems | BWS 20.100

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Uma V.

Senior System/Business Analyst

  • May 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support for the using the product and working through your issues is great
What do you dislike?
My limited technical, but Shawn, the support person I worked with is great in working through the issues at my level.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Entering a large amount of data with limited time and staff. The benfits are getting projects done before deadlines


    Ron R.

An Automation Application Appreciation

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have used this application for well over 10 years. It has saved us countless hours of repetitive work and has been a go-to tool for us. Its ease of use has allowed us to spin up automations rapidly in response to critical issues and provided excellent results.
What do you dislike?
I haven't come across any major flaws. No dislikes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For many years we ran hospital backups with Boston Workstation. It was great peace of mind as well as a very economical solution for us. We have used it for numerous updates to dictionaries and configuration files of other software systems. The effort to benefit ration has been wonderful for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Know what you need to accomplish, and know your workflow to get there. BWS is a great tool.


    Uma V.

Support for Script issues

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
They are extremely helpful. There are helpful links on the website and support will work with you to help you get through any issues you are having with a script.
What do you dislike?
My technical skills are limited and sometimes I don't understand why a script doesn't work. But, the support team are helpful to talk at my level of skill. Maybe some more easy helpful lessons/ tips on the website.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting through changes in the system faster, helping to meet deadlines. Allowing staff can work on other things.


    Hospital & Health Care

Amazing Customer Service

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am very new to Boston and had an issue come up. I was fortunate enough to have Sashi call me back. He was exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable. I would say his service was Holy Cow Awesome. This was my first interaction with Boston. I am completely blown away. Sasi was great. Everyone should have the privilege of a Sasi experience.
What do you dislike?
I have not had enough experience to answer this question.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using scripting for permissions and updating screens. The benefit is that you do not have to worry about miskeying in data as the script does the data entry for you. Typos are the devil.


    Hospital & Health Care

Shawn Yeaton Review

  • May 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My team and I are proficient with the product, and we usually only need help with "unusual" issues. Shawn has always been very helpful and thorough with assisting us with getting the most out of the product like screening grabbing with Meditech Expanse.
What do you dislike?
There are no real downsides. We just happen to come upon some "unique" uses that we reach out for assistance for from time to time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We script user changes, billing, and dictionary changes on a daily basis for this as well as many one-off ad hoc items like our budget.


    Tammy E.

BWS Assistance

  • March 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automation made easy! Scripting of thousands of TEST patients with data into MEDITECH makes it so much easier and faster. I tried one other system; however it was not nearly as robust.
What do you dislike?
I wish it was easier to do point and click functionality. I had to reach out for assistance with that. The is the only things that would make BWS better 1. is if it was easier to do point and click and 2. If it could simply record and memorize your steps and play them back without having to train each step
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Definitely a time saver! What we use BWS for is to refresh Test patients for staff training. If done manually, I would absolutely hate my life. 😂 business performance has increased


    Steven I.

Support is always willing to help

  • March 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Automate our Epic application and our payer websites . Support is always available to help with the issues we run into.
What do you dislike?
BWS20 is still in the Beta development stage. As a result, we don't always know what the capabilities of Boston are without doing a support call. Not possible to remove a script project without losing all of our Content Objects as we want to have one database since our database is a GB in size. No way to track what changes were made and when to the existing content objects within Boston itself.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automate handling of claim errors, automate Elig checks, and automate processing files without human intervention or adding more staff.


    Hospital & Health Care

Boston Workstation for Automation - is it worth?

  • October 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This the the best tool for process automation if we talk about web automation mostly used in healthcare companies for claim processing. The interaction with HTML pages of this tool is very accurate and fast as conpared to other tools. Moreover due to hard code scripts debugging is so easy for developer which makes its easy for developer to use and code. VBA is primary language in this tool which makes easy to manipulate with HTML elements and can do complex tadk easily. Overall the experience with this tool is satisfactory
What do you dislike?
This tool is good for web development however when it comes to window automation and OCR automation , this tool is not as compititive as other tools. It doesnot have enough commands in its library to play with citrix and window elements. Moreover the coding is too hard for window elements which is complex for developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i have used boston workstation in my company to automate healthcare process.
Below is the problem statement is was working on
Claims are processing manually which is time taking, poor quality and lot of human effort on daily basis. Business asked to automate this repetitive task to make it more accurate, fast, doesn’t require any human interventions.
High level Use Case:
Create bot for processing insurance claims to fetch the input from a excel file that contains PHI(Patient Info) and Login and Search claim on payor website to extract specific values basis on label (Claim Status, Claim Status Date, Claim Description, Reason Code) and again login and feed to XYZ application by searching the same account by Visit Number.


Key items to cover in solutioning
• Define Initial requirements to start development(technical/non-technical)
• Define Scalable Architecture
• Define Control Room, Bot Creator, Bot Runner
• Declare below requirement of setting
o Config
o Initialization
o Logging
o required Validations
o connector
o Custom Task management
o Output file
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your company is majorly based on web automation than boston workstation is best for it but for windows and OCR automations this tool is compromised


    Arun G.

Good tool for Experienced VBA Developers

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User Interface is very easy to understand. Web and Windows Application develop by Boston Work Station easily. Most of the Healthcare organizations like and use Boston Work Station (BWS), and all the core developers specially Visual Basic 6.0/VBA love it.

1. BWS is the powerful scripting platform where developer automate manual and consuming task.

2. BWS support verity of methodological coding including HTML, CSS and JavaScript (Like: InnerText, OuterText, Parent Element, Child Element, Index)

3. BWS Support Keystrokes like: Tab, Shift, Alt.

4. Excel Data and MS SQL Server Database handle easily with BWS.
What do you dislike?
BWS is not for beginners, because every things handled with the help of coding. It is more complex compassion to other Robotics Process Automation (RPA) tool like Automation Anywhere, UiPath.

BWS support only Visual basic 6.0 / VBA as a automation development language.

BWS follow Internet Explorer (IE) web browser by default, all the Web automation run on IE only. It is to complex because many times IE not supported the web portal properly, and automation script not capture the right information from web element.

What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Healthcare industry is very wast , and day by day we handle the information is more complex. Information used in various formats like Text, PDF, Network Drive. PDF and Ctrix Automation is more complex with BWS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Enhance Technical as well as provide the better support for developers and end users. Like: Create online text, videos library for training sessions to know BWS in more effective way.

Example: Automation Anywhere provide the online training session free for all.


    Tuhin C.

Good too for healthcare website automation

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Boston workstation uses vba programming language ,with some keywords of its own. This enables the developer to unleash the power of vba.
Since uses vba and you need to code ,so you can code for anything. Unlike latest automation tools where you choice is limited where one has to use from a selected list of components.
very good for healthcare website and excel automation.
Can include dll or api files.
Can also read and write text file
can be used to read and write mails
can connect to ms sql server
Uses java script code for web scrapping like getelementbyid , getelementbyclassname
What do you dislike?
As a legacy tool,it lacks a lot as compared to other tools in the market.
One has to code in boston workstation
Its hard to automate system based application,requires a very high skill level to do the same
lacks the concepts of image recognition,evn the concept of ocr is very different then other automation tool.In boston workstation ocr is used to find the position of a object,rather then reading the text .
Hard to perform citrix automation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we automate healthcare websites,excel automation,email and file folder automations
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes its a good tool , but there a better tool than boston