Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker on Ubuntu 18.04

Arara Solutions | v0121-1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

56 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

docker hub experience

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using docker for almost 2 years now. I like the fast commit and push that it provides, helps with keeping versions.
What do you dislike?
it would be better if it was possible to see a short description of each version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am creating docker containers for video streaming services. the fact that your images are always accessible to you is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try to have your docker images organized and get rid of the ones that are corrupt.


    Information Technology and Services

Container orchastration

  • May 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The containers make it super easy to spin up and spin down almost “mini instances” very quickly. Through this I don’t waste time setting up VMs
What do you dislike?
They are not as stable and quite small.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to provide large groups from he company with mini instances to do grow away work on and not waste money on VMs that I have to setup


    Internet

Easy Docker repositories

  • January 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is where our organization hosts our Docker automated builds. East team collaboration.
What do you dislike?
No much. The service is simple and just works. We are able to push and pull with ease.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need to maintain a uniform local dev environment for our app and Docker Hub allows us to do this. We are able to be continuously productive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Seems to be. Simple with no issues.


    Internet

Good basic features, but far from worth paying for

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy default docker image hosting for public and private needs.
What do you dislike?
The automated image build tools are the main reason this would be worth paying for and they are quite poor. The lack features and development seems to be very slow. Some time back Docker bought up a company making something like this, so perhaps that's the plan, but it's been over a year and this isn't any better. There's real opportunity to do a great job here, but it'll probably come from a different company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Store public and private docker images.


    Computer Software

Docker - A developer-friendly architecture

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker offers immense potential to radically simplify and speed up how software gets built.
What do you dislike?
Container support is being built into Windows tools at the very lowest level, with Windows containers now a deployment target for Visual Studio 2017. You can build and deliver applications as a container, ready for test. Making containers a simple mouse click away is an important step
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Decoupling applications from the underlying hardware is the fundamental concept behind virtualization. Containers go a step further and decouple applications from the underlying OS. This enables cloudlike flexibility, including portability and efficient scaling. Containers bring another level of efficiency, portability, and deployment flexibility to developers beyond virtualization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Decoupling applications from the underlying hardware is the fundamental concept behind virtualization. Containers go a step further and decouple applications from the underlying OS. This enables cloudlike flexibility, including portability and efficient scaling. Containers bring another level of efficiency, portability, and deployment flexibility to developers beyond virtualization.

The popularity of containers underscores the fact that this is the developer-driven era. If cloud was about infrastructure innovation and mobile about usability innovation, the container is the much-needed force multiplier for developers.


    Sara S.

Easy to use

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First time when I tried docker I was afraid as I think I need to download things but after I discoverd DockerHub now in only 1 minute I have all I need. In my opinion is a grate search tool for any Docker projec. You also can submit your own Docker projects in order to others find it.
What do you dislike?
Should have also a categorized catalog, but nothing essential. Should have more icons in order to reduce words.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Looking for docker projects, downloading and easy use.


    Deepak S.

Lightweight and easy to use

  • October 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Setting up development environment becomes so easy with docker.
All you need to do is set up an image once.
What do you dislike?
It can be hard to get started. Things can get complicated when you access dockers from other dockers and so on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Setting up development environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool to fast and easy set up of your development environments.


    Nicola C.

Amazing tool for sharing containers publicly across developers

  • October 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker hub is the fastest way to share your custom containers with the rest of the world.

Docker containers are famous for being big and not so easy to distribute. Docker hub fill perfectly this gap, providing a simple way to share your containers with the rest of the world
What do you dislike?
I think that the UI could be improved a bit. Looks a bit old from my point of view.
Furthermore, you don't have so many tools to customize your container page. I think the Markdown support is missing some features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Semplicity and free hosting of your custom containers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please have some knowledge of Docker before using Dockerhub (that's obvious). Furthermore, if you plan to host your dockerfiles on Github, you can use the automated build feature.


    Internet

Experience using Docker Hub and comparing it with other hosted container registries

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to get started with Docker Hub as it is very well documented. Many docker images are available publicly and they are updated soon compared to others. It is also very well integrated with other tools like Github to automatically build docker images. People familiar with Github can easily get started with it as we can add collaborators for repositories. Automated builds and build pipelines can be easily setup.
What do you dislike?
Performance. There are no SLAs for performance for example when transferring the build images. A single image repository cannot be converted to build repositories I think because of no auditing present. I don't think this is a major issue: Only github and bitbucket are supported for hosted repositories.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker images are readily available for anyone in the company or team to use. Teams can collaborate on docker repositories. Same images doesn't have to be created multiple times. Deployment and build pipelines can be created and automated which saves a lot of time for the teams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend this product. Please check the pricing and performance conditions before going ahead.


    Education Management

Docker? I hardly knew her!

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of adding new images. It’s easy to create and maintain new tags.
What do you dislike?
Not seeing enough info about the image. Only the tags are easily available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintaining images for microservise architecture. It’s cost-effective.