Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker on Ubuntu 18.04

Arara Solutions | v0121-1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

52 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Docker - A developer-friendly architecture

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker offers immense potential to radically simplify and speed up how software gets built.
What do you dislike?
Container support is being built into Windows tools at the very lowest level, with Windows containers now a deployment target for Visual Studio 2017. You can build and deliver applications as a container, ready for test. Making containers a simple mouse click away is an important step
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Decoupling applications from the underlying hardware is the fundamental concept behind virtualization. Containers go a step further and decouple applications from the underlying OS. This enables cloudlike flexibility, including portability and efficient scaling. Containers bring another level of efficiency, portability, and deployment flexibility to developers beyond virtualization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Decoupling applications from the underlying hardware is the fundamental concept behind virtualization. Containers go a step further and decouple applications from the underlying OS. This enables cloudlike flexibility, including portability and efficient scaling. Containers bring another level of efficiency, portability, and deployment flexibility to developers beyond virtualization.

The popularity of containers underscores the fact that this is the developer-driven era. If cloud was about infrastructure innovation and mobile about usability innovation, the container is the much-needed force multiplier for developers.


    Sara S.

Easy to use

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First time when I tried docker I was afraid as I think I need to download things but after I discoverd DockerHub now in only 1 minute I have all I need. In my opinion is a grate search tool for any Docker projec. You also can submit your own Docker projects in order to others find it.
What do you dislike?
Should have also a categorized catalog, but nothing essential. Should have more icons in order to reduce words.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Looking for docker projects, downloading and easy use.


    Deepak S.

Lightweight and easy to use

  • October 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Setting up development environment becomes so easy with docker.
All you need to do is set up an image once.
What do you dislike?
It can be hard to get started. Things can get complicated when you access dockers from other dockers and so on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Setting up development environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool to fast and easy set up of your development environments.


    Nicola C.

Amazing tool for sharing containers publicly across developers

  • October 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker hub is the fastest way to share your custom containers with the rest of the world.

Docker containers are famous for being big and not so easy to distribute. Docker hub fill perfectly this gap, providing a simple way to share your containers with the rest of the world
What do you dislike?
I think that the UI could be improved a bit. Looks a bit old from my point of view.
Furthermore, you don't have so many tools to customize your container page. I think the Markdown support is missing some features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Semplicity and free hosting of your custom containers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please have some knowledge of Docker before using Dockerhub (that's obvious). Furthermore, if you plan to host your dockerfiles on Github, you can use the automated build feature.


    Internet

Experience using Docker Hub and comparing it with other hosted container registries

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to get started with Docker Hub as it is very well documented. Many docker images are available publicly and they are updated soon compared to others. It is also very well integrated with other tools like Github to automatically build docker images. People familiar with Github can easily get started with it as we can add collaborators for repositories. Automated builds and build pipelines can be easily setup.
What do you dislike?
Performance. There are no SLAs for performance for example when transferring the build images. A single image repository cannot be converted to build repositories I think because of no auditing present. I don't think this is a major issue: Only github and bitbucket are supported for hosted repositories.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker images are readily available for anyone in the company or team to use. Teams can collaborate on docker repositories. Same images doesn't have to be created multiple times. Deployment and build pipelines can be created and automated which saves a lot of time for the teams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend this product. Please check the pricing and performance conditions before going ahead.


    Education Management

Docker? I hardly knew her!

  • October 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of adding new images. It’s easy to create and maintain new tags.
What do you dislike?
Not seeing enough info about the image. Only the tags are easily available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maintaining images for microservise architecture. It’s cost-effective.


    Hélio C.

Great marketplace for docker already implemented containers

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First contact I had with this tool was when I needed to pull a legacy PostgreSQL application. It was super easy to find the Official PGSQL repository and ready its Dockerfile contents. There I could find the Github project where that file points to, allowing me to do more than pull, but update by contributing with code, improving Dockerfile qualify, fixing some found bug or even to bump its version to the latest one.
What do you dislike?
The main problem with Docker hub in my use is lack of detailed listing projects. The listing page, just right after you searched some term, is very bloated with tons of community projects and it's not ordered by contribution or last updated version. This become a really mess when I was looking for Elasticsearch image to pull, which made me search on google before to find the right link to it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Integration on teams. I can push Company specific dockerfile and distribute it along my remote teams everywhere hassle free. For me its a superb feature that can save a lot of configuration time even if you have or work in a small team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take this if you need a reliable way to distribute your Dockerfile throughout your peers and colleagues or if you want a centralized place to pull verified and reliable Dockerfile for any project or purpose. Also, consider this to contribute on opensource projects by improving its Dockerfile to others on the community.


    Josh T.

Good place to find new docker images

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It looks nice, provides simple instructions on how to pull the docker image and also easy links to a github repository.
What do you dislike?
It's not the easiest to find new docker containers. I usually end up using Google to find the best result.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A way for discovering and finding docker containers for our continuous integration servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To use Google to find the docker containers, the explore list is good for finding official repositories though.


    Michael R.

The default (and best) place to manage docker images, public & private

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple but comprehensive UI.

Integrates perfectly with the CLI tool offered.
What do you dislike?
Was somewhat slow in bringing on desired functionality, can be difficult to find what one is looking for.

No easy way to click through to the Dockerfile definition unless the image author provides one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing and managing private and public docker images. Very simple to interact with via the UI and CLI
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As a standalone docker image repository, in my opinion Docker hub stands apart as the best.

One can use it with services that allow deployment of docker images - while still allowing one to avoid vendor lock in with say, the AWS container offering.


    Computer Software

Github for containers

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a very convenient way to share your containers with colleges. As a bonus - 1 private repo for free.
What do you dislike?
Comments on popular containers usually flooded with lots of spam.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it as a main container registry for all of our infrastructure (Jenkins, Kibana, etc)