Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured MariaDB Server 10.5 for Amazon Linux 2

Kurian | 10.5 20210810

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

173 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Medical Devices

Senior Software engineer

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility of connection pools with shared memory or sockets. I also like the fact that MariaDB follows closely behind MySQL.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike. I like all of it. It is free, and open source. What is not to like?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a great relational database that can be used for anything where data relates to it. It is fast, user friendly, and has a large amount of use and followers. The documentation is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at the advantages and disadvantages between this and other databases to see if it works for your organization.


    Eleazar G.

More intuitive and effective than MySQL

  • May 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a great solution for partitioning, as implementation feels solid and fluid. Something I really like is that it always stays updated, as new releases for security patches are launched monthly, keeping MariaDB always on top in security matters. MariaDB definitely has some advantages over MySQL. The one I highlight the most are the Alert Table queries, as in MariaDB you’re able to check the progress in a process list, so you can always keep a visual track in the advances. This can’t be done with MySQL.
What do you dislike?
In order to run MariaDB properly, you must a have a decent hardware, otherwise, writes may be effected and you may experience some troubles. Also, the compatibility with MySQL isn’t always happening, as the newer versions of MySQL don’t integrate well with MariaDB. You have to make some internal work in order to make this integration possible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MariaDB is used by our company internally for many applications. The infrastructure team is in charge of using the database for setting up some management tools. This data helps when it comes to report to our customers, as well as keeping some metadata for analytical purposes. The integration with Galera gives this solution a great spot in availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great option for companies or personals wanting to work with open source software that demands active clusters. If you are a MySQL user, MariaDB integrates with MySQL so you can export your database from one to another. Adaption from one platform to another will be easy, as MySQL and MariaDB share similar interfaces, libraries, APIs and commands. However, consider you must have a great hardware in order to run MariaDB.


    Andrew F.

MariaDB is a great MySQL alternitve intergated well with Debian

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it is interrogated with the lamp server package group on the Debian install is great! I can spin up a new server in a about and hour and my customers love it! It works almost perfectly like MySQL and is very easy to backup and maintain.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about MariaDB. There's nearly no learning curve from MySQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is just a great alternative to MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use PhPMyAdmin for a great experence


    Information Technology and Services

One of the best open source Database server.

  • April 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is one of the best relational database in world with very high valued features like Performance Analysis, Multiple Programming Languages Supported and Data Replication. This features are the best thing s which I liked in this product.
What do you dislike?
This product is one of the best database server but it needs some improvisation also like Virtualization and Data Migration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Maria DB helps me for solving Backup and Recovery related problems and analysis related problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is recommended over Mysql as a primary database.


    vicky l.

The transition from MySQL was pretty fast

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Like most users of MariaDB, we started with MySQL. When we wanted to switch, we thought the process would be tedious, but it actually was pretty quick and effective, with no reconfiguration or reprogramming required. This was great because we hold a big a database and this could’ve been problematic. All the reads on MariaDB are really fast and it’s compatible with all the apps developed to MySQLDB, so we still get to use the best features.
What do you dislike?
A couple of times I have found cases of malformed data with no particular reason. Also, when erasing cache data it takes too much time for a process so simple. Also, I think it lacks of some features, such as one that allows user to compute median values for the whole database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MariaDB is implemented in our company as a database server for several of the online services we provide. It is used by all the developers on the IT department and all of them, me included, agree it’s better than MySQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great solution for companies looking for a solid RDBMS. It will give you a high range of management tools to add and perform effectively.


    Arth P.

Fastest sql server

  • April 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mariadb is one of the best open-source sql server available in the market. It also supports noSql queries too.
What do you dislike?
Not all the operating systems support MariaDb
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to query large data using MariaDb


    Andre Ricardo S.

the best and fastest database

  • April 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this is our main database and sites and stores, we already worked with it at one time in our base due to its speed, optimization, perfomance in processing large amount of data, it has much to offer
What do you dislike?
for a long time, I work with mariadb I have never had any that I did not like in its form of functionality so I believe it needs to improve my queries libraries
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the solution to use mariadb, was to install it on our vps servers, and optimize it to work with the demand of our stores with various accesses of customers, and demands for purchases and sales and our security and trust is totally in mariaDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
we never fail to recommend this excellent database, for all that it is capable, if you think about creating a system, sites, stores, online system any other that needs a database can rely on mariadb


    Computer & Network Security

SQL

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good tool for practice of SQL but you have to know the syntax to use it
What do you dislike?
You have to be very concentrated to avoid syntax error
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To test SQL on locahost


    Information Technology and Services

Best OpenSource RDBMS next to MySQL

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source, not owned by Oracle
Access Controls and Permissions
Replication
Innodb Engine
Drivers and Client
Cloud Support
What do you dislike?
Mobile / Embedded DB
NoSQL Engine Support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open Source no cost scaleable RDBMS Solution for Data and Applications. Was able to integrate with multiple applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please switch over from MySQL for better Licensing and Support


    Abhishek D.

MariaDB - Deserves a try

  • April 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have tried Maria DB once when we were working on a POC, it looked like a good database that sufficed all our needs.
What do you dislike?
When we started using it it fulfilled all our needs but we have not tried it in depth to find out things we do not like
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was client requirement and the client suggested us to try and do a POC on MariaDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a good database, definitely worth a try