Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7.6 with support by ProComputers

ProComputers.com | CentOS-7.6-Minimal-20181125-8GiB

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

281 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Same features as Redhat without enterprise cost

  • December 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
open source; ability to debug issues deep down
mature kernel; limited issues resultant of centos itself
yum automated package installation
What do you dislike?
community only support
open source license trouble for legal departments
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OS; platform that hosts the business application
benefits: matures and robust kernel


    Ryan S.

The best option for cost reduction and enterprise linux...

  • December 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a package for package duplicate of the RedHat Enterprise Linux RPM based distribution.
What do you dislike?
This is a distribution not supported by a large organization which would then limit its ability to be used in the enterprise.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS provides the ability for us to use an enterprise class distribution without the high cost associated with it.


    Higher Education

CentOS is a stable OS which is good for research!

  • December 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I especially like CentOS's stable environment. It makes me easy to install and update software packages for research such as Matlab.
What do you dislike?
CentOS got a great jump between 6.0 and 7.0. Compatibility is an issue in this case.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am trying to solve scientific research problems, and most high performing computing languages/packages such as BLAS and C++ work only well on Linux.


    Bill S.

CentOS - great old standby

  • December 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS works with RPM and YUM and a lot of legacy software. For command line use it is fast and easy. For graphical use (X-Windows, etc) there are better solutions on the market.
What do you dislike?
Updates can be slow in coming out. There was once a gap of over a year. It is much more regular now and seems to be likely to continue in foreseeable future.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly hosting requirements. CentOS works well with a LAMP stack configuration but can be somewhat difficult to reconfigure to other needs. One thing though is it has always been possible to do, just not easy. Other solutions that CentOS has provided include SAMBA services and other terminal type applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is best to consider your requirements when choosing a Linux flavor. CentOS meets my needs for LAMP stack configurations but not so much for other needs.


    Information Technology and Services

Bes Open Source Operating System

  • November 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very stable, robust and scalable. Free RHEL
What do you dislike?
Might be scary for beginners, knowledge of linux required
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Call Center, Monitoring Tool


    Computer Hardware

Free. Enterprise-grade. Can't go wrong here.

  • November 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, dead-nuts reliable, great security options.
What do you dislike?
I like this Linux distribution just fine. Can't say that I dislike anything.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using this in HPC applications. Works well for what we need it to do.


    Charles J.

A top notch operating system at a low price

  • November 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is almost an exact clone of Red Hat Linux. So you get everything you would if you paid the price for a Red Hat License. However, it is free.
What do you dislike?
They don't have x86 versions of the distribution another. Which is a trend will all operating systems, but still I have a few cases where the x64 version will not install on the hardware I have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my particular case I use CentOS as my testing platform for ideas that we might end up using in Production at work. At home, I use it to keep my Linux skills fresh and to practice for certification tests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is too easy to try this product out. It is free. It is easy to download from the web. And it will install on almost anything. If you are thinking of switching to Linux this the platform to try out first.


    Information Technology and Services

Centos for in house server

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to set up especially with all the tutorials online. Even with zero knowledge of the OS, you can easily deploy a centos server copying and pasting commands from online tutorials. Best of all, its free!
What do you dislike?
It can get quite confusing when something doesnt work as you would expect it to. Because it is all command line operations, it can take a bit of tinkering to do simple tasks as you would on mac and windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used a windows server based server to host our inhouse web server and wed have problems with our mysql and mssql database when used with ms access. We eliminated this problem by strictly using mysql and recreated our order management software in php. Much faster read and write operations and easy to set up security


    Anshul J.

A stable production ready Operating System

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and performance are the best features of the CentOS. There is no bloatware.
What do you dislike?
It is mainly targeted towards servers. Many desktop applications cannot run out of the box and is not recommended for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implemented a production hadoop cluster. The operating system in use was CentOS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is intended for server use, If you are looking for operating system and doesn't want bleeding edge updates or new features as soon as they are rolled out then CentOS should be the OS of your choice.


    Amol B.

CentOS + Genomics' Research = Not So Fun

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This Linux OS is basically a rock solid system for business enterprise type of capability. It is scalable, provides a robust set of features and after the environment is setup, there is not a tremendous amount of maintenance necessary.
What do you dislike?
The configuration of this OS is quite painful. Documentation is pretty sparse and you have to rely predominantly on what can be searched via forums. What normally would take me a afternoon to setup with a competitor's OS, would normally take me 2 days. Repo's are hard to work with too and it is a general chore to setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilized this OS to store large sources of genomics data and then use that information with machine learning. Maybe that is why it took some time to setup and work with because my lab was use to a different OS and our lab director decided for better stability and version control to work with Cent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It really depends on what is trying to be achieved. They are plenty of platforms to consider. Ours was trying to develop a in house cloud based computing and liked Cent's expandability. We explored other options too like OpenStack and even Red Hat.