Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server for Fedora 31

Kurian | Apache 2.4.46

Linux/Unix, Fedora 31 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Shabbir H.

Apache is the simplest and cleanest webserver available today.

  • June 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that Apache works across all platforms, but also that it is so amazingly extensible. The fact that you can proxy servers from behind and make them available via this secure engine is brilliant - especially for node.js and dot net core projects.
What do you dislike?
Very little, there is almost nothing to dislike - perhaps the only thing I would say is that for Windows/Mac users there isn't a decent reliable GUI tool to admin config files - aside from a text editor - but to be honest that isn't really a dislike, it is just part of working with Apache (and its related pieces of software).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows us to host dot net applications as well as any other technology that we want - but still have the security of Apache.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a simple web-server that can be used cross-platform (config files cascade operating environments with minimal problems for example) - and want to use it to secure and hide other services you have behind and have those services served by Apache - or a secure Web Server - then Apache is the way to go.


    Noel M.

Excellent web server

  • January 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is very easy to configure and use on any version of Linux. The configuration is fairly standard and plug ins plentiful and easy to use
What do you dislike?
Like any Linux software there is a learning curve at first, but this is easily overcome once one gains a little experience
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's very easy to set up a web server for any size or scale with Apache and we are able to host multiple websites with it


    Computer Software

Wonderful server, easy and elegant

  • January 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use Apache server most of the time because it is free and easy. I like Apache Tomcat webserver, and use it all the time.
What do you dislike?
I used to have issues with less documentation or resources but nowadays I find plenty.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it locally to test our web application. It is very handy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is nice and easy tool, great for newbies, not too complex.


    Matthew L.

System Admin

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a top notch product that really provides great service. It is also popular to find good information for it on-line .
What do you dislike?
There is a learning curve associate with it. So it takes some time to become familiar with it. Once you find out the logs and how it fits into the application you should be good to go.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it because of the applications that I support use it. It's very stable and once you become familiar with it and the logs it makes it easier to maintain.


    Matt M.

Apache Server Admin (In-house)

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Server is very easy to set up and maintain. Apache is the standard server to learn web servers on and will be around for a very long time. Well designed graphical interfaces help new users become comfortable with a new online environment. Default passwords are easily changed and other safety measures keep your server secure from online attacks.
What do you dislike?
Because of Apache's widespread use, Apache Servers are the targets to malicious attacks from hackers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve small business problems such as in-office connectivity among our employees and web access with clients When there is less time wasted on trying to learn difficult new software, there is more time for employees to be productive and maintain a steady workflow in an office environment. Keeping cost down for the employer and maintaining a proactive business model, in effect keeping profits high and payroll down.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache Server is the best choice for the most common web solutions today. Ease of setup and with a small learning curve makes Apache Server the right choice.
Great online resources are readily available for new and old users. I recommend to try out Apache Server even with an established server solution in place due to Apache Servers ease of use.


    Michael P.

Works fine, lasts a long time.

  • September 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast, secure, and easy to set up. Apache is very well known, the community is well-established and can provide a plethora of information for any use case you can think of it modern web development. There are extensions and tutorials available for practically any feature imaginable.
What do you dislike?
Some of the configuration can be a bit obtuse, but there is tons of information available online to help you get through it. That is just the price of flexibility. Also, being the biggest name in the game, Apache is also often the target for exploits as well, though you can't really fault them for that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Serving web pages is fast and easy, more complex things like preprocessors, CGI, etc can be added on with relative ease. There are no major snags or hurdles that I've encountered in 5+ years of working with Apache. It just works.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
What else are you going to use? Nginx is fine and has some speed benefits, but lacks features, and doesn't have the proven track record of Apache. Node.js is OK if you *really* want to roll your own server, but even that is better served as a module in an Apache stack. I don't really know of any other web server that comes close to competing with Apache.


    Information Technology and Services

good general Web server

  • August 02, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about Apache Web Server is that it just simply works. It's very easy to set-up and configure, get a website up in a few minutes. Good scripting support
What do you dislike?
Then command line interface for the product is fairly poor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting basic websites up and running for business apps and services


    Oil & Energy

Fantastic Experience!

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I find that Apache server is straight forward to use and integrates perfectly with *NIX systems. The configuration is easy to pick up on and module installation is quick and easy.

It fully supports PHP and MYSQL allowing the majority of cms' to install and work perfectly.

It is also great to use as a proxy, I use it to proxy a tomcat web application and the proxy is easy to configure, supports SSL and logs errors correctly
What do you dislike?
Its not as fast as NGINX.
Updating Apache can be tricky due to the number of dependency however this is dependent on the OS uses.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this not only for hosting websites ourselves but also to proxy a web application to hide it from the web. It also allows us to proxy a none SSL web application and add a SSL certificate via Apache to make things more secure for our clients.


    Marco B.

The most used web server on the web.

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best of using Apache Server is that it is built with real problems in mind: Security, safety, and availability. It has a very long history of development, and that makes it the most secure web server around. Its documentation is well written, and complete, but not that important: You can find solutions for most configuration issues online, for free, or you can buy consulting services. It is also extensible via loadable modules to provide more functions when they are not build in.
What do you dislike?
The configuration is complicated. OK, it's very flexible, and there's a lot to configure so it has a very steep learning curve if you want to know everything about it. This can be frustrating to the newbie, but with some effort you can get to do what you need. Configuration is only possible via multiple text files. There are external tools for helping with configuration, but community help requires knowledge of the text configuration files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most web servers I write software for are Apache Server, often with PHP. Having an application run on Apache Server makes it readily available on most external providers for hosting, both shared, and dedicated.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always start with a default configuration. Read the default page that appears after installation: It gives you insight on where configuration files are, and how to manage them. Make searches on the internet, there's always someone that already faced (and solved) the same problem you are facing.


    Benjamin B.

The gold standard for web-servers.

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set-up for anyone familiar with Linux servers. Install with package manager of choice, edit a few config files and off it goes. Included in practically every distribution's package repositories.

Great performance without much tuning.

Rock-solid stability.

Very widely supported. Easy to install extra CGI extensions like PHP and Ruby/Passenger.

Completely free and open-source.

Actively developed and updated.
What do you dislike?
Beginning to become outdated to the likes of more performant web servers like NGINX.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used to serve my websites and web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a simple web server to host your websites, you can't go too far wrong with Apache Server. If you're looking into something more performant and modern however, check out NGINX.