Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker Host for Debian Linux 10

Kurian | Docker 20.10.2

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

52 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Shubham P.

Ship your app to prod through container

  • April 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Docker, It makes easy to bundle d application n n helps to scale the application easily.
What do you dislike?
More oparational in perspective of a developer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Local docker application development with windows machine is made easy with docker hub GUI.


    Information Technology and Services

Best tool for containerised applications and working in large development teams.

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing i like about the docker is the amount of time it requires to start a container, unlike VMs, which take so much time to start and configure.
What do you dislike?
There isn't much to dislike about docker but It would be great to use VS code in development of the application, as it just got announced and is still in the beta stage, I'd like it to come sooner so that we can use it to develop in multiple platforms efficiently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker helps to deploy, test, manage different environments via containerization in a very efficient manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's great if you have to share your coding environment to others in the team like for example to switch from developer to QA or to Production. As a developer, i feel its a must to learn about docker.


    Jimesh S.

Docker - Feature-rich container

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In this cloud computing and microservice-based environment, containerization is inevitable. Containers have solved the critical portability problem which allows us to isolate code from the infrastructure underlying it. Packaging the application including all running objects, bins and libraries are required to run is wrapped in a single image. And, this image/container will behave identically in all environment or operating system.
What do you dislike?
To work with Docker, we need to remember several commands and also required a good command of the Linux machine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker has made easy our work. We just had to define one Dockerfile and define all required commands within it. Whenever any software or tool is required we just need to start the container. Likewise, we defined Dockerfile for our database(on stage environment only) and it was quite easy for us to change software or tool. We do not need to install any software, we just need to start the container and stop whenever done.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dockerized container is behaving just like running software in your operating system. It does not require a Hypervisor like it is required within Virtual Machine, which means it is not like running any other Operating system. Docker can isolate the application at a different level.


    Jericsson C.

Increíble herramienta para crear servicios en tan solo instantes.

  • February 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Una gran comunidad colaborativa de software abierto para ejecutar, distribuir y desplegar aplicaciones. Gran cantidad de plantillas de distintos servicios. Aislamiento y escalabilidad que hace énfasis a la nueva tendencia de microservicios.
What do you dislike?
Se requiere de conocimientos avanzados para crear aplicaciones a gran escala.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Costos de mantenimiento, portabilidad sin dependencia del hardware, Servicios integrados de forma aislada y con mejoras en la seguridad.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Probar la tecnología y ver la documentación, el gran contenido que ofrece la comunidad Open-Source. Se encuentra soportada por muchos colaboradores a nivel mundial.


    Samir K.

Tool for all your container needs

  • February 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. works well in all OS
2. Great Community forum to resolve your query
3. Efficient -create lightweight VM which can deploy any application
4. integrates nicely with all major CI/CD tool available - also easy to set-up
What do you dislike?
1. Security - since there is no actual OS, so it comes with limitation
2. Network connectivity for the traffic flowing in - can be pain sometime
3. needs improvement in CLI and GUI
4. Tighter integration with WSL and MacOS lacking
5. volume feature i.e. resource sharing can become complex sometimes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. to rapidly deploy any kind of application
2. bring up DR servers in no time, in case of fail-over
3. in testing - helps us to match SIT env pretty close to PROD
4. micro services which are built into these docker containers can be easily deployed into any cloud vendor with proper CI/CD set-up
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Docker is incredibly useful tool if you are managing, deploying and hosting your own application infrastructure. It leads to reusable components that can be linked together in order to build a fully-functional, reusable system.

However, if your application is simpler and hosted on something like Elastic Beanstalk or AWS Lambda or RedShift, Docker might be overkill for the application development team.


    Defense & Space

the only major source of containers

  • November 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
wide range of containers for every architecture, big user base
What do you dislike?
I wish they had more on more rare architectures
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
new containers on Power9PC, containers for HPC.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is the most wide repository of containers anywhere


    Praroop G.

Docker | Simple & Powerful

  • September 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker provides simple & easy way to deploy code in cloud. It allows multiple micro services to function together. It's available for windows operating systems as well now. It provides command line interface to deploy in docker hub. It gives flexibility to create public & private repositories. It also provides restrictions at various level for security purpose. It also has very good support. It gives flexibility to scale any running application without stopping the same.
What do you dislike?
Networking & Logging is bit complicated. It also has stability issue like some time it takes more time to respond. It doesn't have data support, it's only for software. It doesn't have GUI for managing application. It's bit complicated to debug here, not user friendly. It's still required lot more support to ease lot of work since it's new, there are still lot of things to improve, it's like box inside box.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am deploying code for dev/sit/uat purpose and scale it as per requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's good for Continuous Integration and Continuous Deployment. If you need to have your system promptly up and running, Docker is a perfect choice, even for the new users. It's well suited for use with micro-services, where multiple small size databases need to spin up easily and consistently across environments and need to scale it. It's easy to integrate the same with aws cloud & CI pipelines.


    Prathamesh S.

Easiest way to deliver containerised applications.

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Availability of all major softwares in the form of certified docker images.
Docker repository to publish images which aren't already available.
Support for all major OS versions like Mac Os, Windows, Linux, Debian, Fedora etc.
What do you dislike?
Debugging is a challenge sometimes. Also some docker versions have issues with some Mac OS versions. Recently we had to downgrade the docker version, because the upgraded version just wouldn't work with Mac OS Mojave.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Containerisation of applications - With the onset of AWS and scalability as the primary goal dockerising the applications is one of the biggest problem solved with docker hub.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it as going ahead, Docker hub will be the gold standard when it comes to dockerising or containerising various applications for deployment of cloud platforms like AWS. With the onset of DevOps tools like Docker hub will assume significant impact in the overall scheme of CI/CD pipelines.


    Mingmei Y.

Multi-Level Cloud Storage

  • March 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has plenty of variety for using private repositories and offers many levels of cloud storage. It's a very small medium offering a nice user interface to work with, it allows me to host my own registry without complications using Docker hub is much easier to implement and integrate than other services that I consider very expensive in addition it fits perfectly to any type of company. I can have my own hosting service with open source. The best thing to do with this service is to host all my containers on my local computer taking full advantage of my operating system and computer resources. I can dump everything from my CPU and then extract it from any client hosted in docker. It is a very tidy service allowing to create backups of all the files that are being stored, it also allows to create private repositories although with some limitations for the initial version. Great variety of commands to execute in your platform.
What do you dislike?
Docker's weaknesses are at the service level, they offer you as a sample a free account but with too many limitations they only offer a private repository that is to say that all your work must be public if you are not willing to pay for their services. Don't get me wrong I understand that the service has a cost but they should offer more options at this level I consider that if they allow more initial resources other customers may consider purchasing the service. In the command area it is really complicated to use because if you are not a programmer it can bring slight problems at the infrastructure level. I would like to see more integrations with web hosting services with content for Mac Os.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker HUB is used to contribute images to help developers deploy web services in the cloud. It allows me to share all my implemented images and also use the ones they have in their system among which I can name the redis, Ubuntu and mysql having access to all this privately paying very little in the process. Creating images from a dockerifle is also another benefit of using this platform. It is also useful for me to build the images and get the traces that are generated in the whole work process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The main function of docker is to provide the best open source container that allows you to develop and run any application system in the cloud from anywhere, and I must say that they do their job very well since I use this service I can only give very good feedback, I've had some problems in the process but no program is perfect and docker has been in charge of giving me very good results since I'm using it in my work, it gives an excellent visualization of what you want in a container and it's totally usable in any operating system you want it's perfect to extract and execute images and its database is very extensive being able to work from any region and country.


    Elliot B.

Specialized data storage in information technology

  • March 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It offers me many advantages in the area of web development and application creation. Docker is an open source project, it's easy to access and its interface is quite simple to understand since I can access any public repository without further complications, there is no need to purchase any plan at first since it's totally free. The transformation that it offers for software development and execution is magnificent having servers all around the world. As for testing and adaptations to work with hardware, it offers a range of possibilities especially for working with data authentication systems. Its containers allow me to encapsulate applications without dependencies on other systems. It is very easy to configure and can be deployed on any operating system without major difficulties. Starting from Linux, it offers without a doubt the best range of container registration that I have tried since I develop applications for companies specialized in IT software. There are many free images I can use of this service, from busybox to Ubuntu offers a variety of alternatives in its repertoire allowing its use in almost any operating system.
What do you dislike?
The current Yosemite version that I use in Mac has many errors in the design and implementation I consider should work more with this operating system, since at design level I consider it more specific than Linux. The Amazon and Azure integration is not to my liking since it presents many complications in the initial configuration but it behaves very well with JFrog. It can have some errors in files and folder if the initial code is not executed well, I consider that the platform in this area is not well distributed. The Nginx and Apache servers hosted in the container options are somewhat ambiguous, I don't recommend them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker Hub implementation for web development and cloud applications. It is without a doubt one of the tools I use the most because of the image bank it stores in its containers. Currently it allows me to encapsulate my entire work environment so that I don't have to resort to virtual machines like AWS instances to solve factor authentication problems. It offers local and private servers which are available in almost every region of the UK. It allows me to reduce my application testing times and I can get favorable results in the services I offer for hardware solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With docker you don't waste time in configurations. Its easy initial interface and simplicity make it possible for anyone with little knowledge in software development or implementation to use it to cover their needs. It is not an expensive product nor is it aimed at large companies, in fact it is a service open to everyone offering a large storage capacity, you just need to have good performance in your computer to run it properly without affecting performance.