Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud - File Sync and Share Server on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

179 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nicole F.

Personal Storage

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I have a personal cloud for storage, to easily find my saved material.
What do you dislike?
Setting it up to have things automatically save to their took a little bit of time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
That I can easily access saved material to send for appeals.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's great to have a common place for saved materials.


    Financial Services

The perfect setting for secured sharing

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security. I am able to set passwords. You can set folders for easy organization and connect all devices so you have one location to store files.
What do you dislike?
For some reason I have issues with automatic updates. It fails every time. But you can always manually update.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storage. I hate that if my PC fails and there is no backup I lose my files. With owncloud, I have it set to upload images and such automatically so I never lose my photos.


    Edwin R.

A good alternative for drive and one drive

  • July 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
you can manage the store in your cloud provider, the interface is very good
What do you dislike?
the search of files must have filters or tags
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
manage the files in the company, share secure information/files, organise files in the cloud with minimal risk of losing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
is the best open source solution to manage the files of an organization. If your company has services like AWS you can easily configure it and have it available very fast.


    Consumer Goods

I like ownCloud, self hosted on my own server.

  • June 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, simple to use, and easy to install.
What do you dislike?
nothing, everything works fine, the dashboard is clearly arranged.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've got my own cloud, on my own server, and I could save my files on my personal system.


    Computer Networking

Owncloud perfect inhouse cloud

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
No license costs, easy to install. on premise use
What do you dislike?
Updatefrequency is very slow, not a good publich support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Distribution of large files
Recommendations to others considering the product:
look for a partner


    Sunil V.

A superb unit for secured content Sharing

  • May 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature that this is secure and you can run it on your intranet.
What do you dislike?
GUI should be more user-friendly. more improvements towards the android app also required. spreadsheet & PowerPoint presentation support should be there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Intranet-based content sharing is more secure and also cost-effective .you can assign user based quota. if your intranet is inside the secure zone and behind the DMZ zone i.e. people are not allowed to use the internet-based application, Owncloud can remove your sharing and collaboration restrictions.
More of a file-sharing without restriction and without compromising security.


    Mihir M.

own cloud is futuritic cloud computing software for discerning customer

  • May 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cloud computing features memory storage speed efficiancy and downloads on the cloud
What do you dislike?
nothing needs to improve storage space and speedy downloads
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
using cloud storage for company needs very effectively and efficiently and my client has benifited most over last 3 years


    Hannah B.

Owncloud is an efficient way to transfer documents

  • April 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's simple, and allows users to create as many categories and subfolders as is necessary to keep things organized. It was also pretty fast, and the upload speed was consistent. I appreciated that it was pretty instant.
What do you dislike?
There were several instances where files didn't save correctly, were deleted, or were lost inadvertently. This was frustrating, but not a big deal in the big picture.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My team and I are able to share large amounts of files (in the 1000's) with another team overseas pretty flawlessly. It's been particularly helpful in this time of the pandemic.


    Aashish P.

Great tool for sharing files

  • April 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is best to synchronize files, contacts, and calendars. We can easily share the files in few seconds. It is a browser-based application with rich features. It is open-source, and we do not need an external hosting service.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a little outdated now. The usage on server seemed quite large compared to others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use OwnCloud to share work with clients. Using OwnCloud meant we could host the files on our own server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's ideally suited for companies where customers and clients are constantly sharing files.


    Roswall R.

Share data

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Open source platform
2) Share confidential, encrypted data
3) Digital collaboration
4) Amazon S3 warehouse
What do you dislike?
1) Integrate cloud access
2) Customize
3) Third-party software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GNU Linux Server system, JavaScript, and PHP. Encrypted file sharing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Data control, system and file access