Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CENTOS 8 Desktop - NICE DCV for 3D NVIDIA-GPU based graphics instances

NI SP - Remote 3D and HPC | 2021.3

Linux/Unix, CentOS CENTOS 8.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

281 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Security and Investigations

Fast process I love how easy it's to work with your product

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The command prompt very easy and flexible
What do you dislike?
I don't have any problem that I think of
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing my vms and appliances


    Rahul P.

Free replica of redhat

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and the replication of red hat version saves license requirements
What do you dislike?
Now heard they are discontinued the version then difficult to get alternative
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All server and software in Linux environment easy to test before go live


    Sujeeth K.

Feel like Ubuntu but Powerful!

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
centOS stream has overcome most of the bugs present in CentOS 7 and earlier versions. Open source projects with vulnerabilities can be easily identified with native security tools on the server edition. In addition, workstations can be parallelly installed for low-level server tasks. Recent announcements from the community have led this OS to regain its power because the developers have promised to bring regular updates. Being lightweight, it costs much less when spun up into a Cloud Provider. Enterprise tools and Java Developer Kit works smoothly with centOS, where we can host out Enterprise Java Applets to run on a virtual machine.
What do you dislike?
There are several drawbacks that developers have to bear with CentOS. Primarily it does not support sockets and programs that could help you directly to connect with the virtual machine via virtual connection adapters. Hence while installation, you have to engineer the wifi and LAN adapters to connect OS to the internet. In addition, most of the time, you will be facing problems with updates being unsupportive to the previous version of the OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enterprise Java Applets run in the background where our client's whole infrastructure resides on CentOS. CentOS helps to reduce the billing cost of AWS and efficiently utilize the resources on the cloud for our clients. Being old school os, it has good support with old technology required by our client hence CentOS has to be the priority.


    Chamal A.

The most secured Operating System.

  • December 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best pat of CentOS it is free and community-driven. It is highly secure and reliable for any servers such as file server, mail server, web server, database server, etc. With correct configuration CentOS is the most hard break OS in the world.
What do you dislike?
Like other Linux distributions, CentOs need terminal expertise, such as remembering all the commands you need to run to accomplish any tasks. All the Linux systems key feature is correct configuration, CentOS also follow the same path. The wrong configuration make the server vulnarable, so it is upto user to make the server secure that is not very good approach.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS to host all the web applications written with Laravel. CentOs saves thousands of dollars by providing a free operating system for my infrastructure. CentOS has wide verity of software repositories. CentOS equipt with many adavanced features such as firewalls, file management, process management and networ monitoring than makes system admin life easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am highly recommending CentOS to anyone who is looking for affordable server solutions for any level and any size of the organization.


    Humair S.

CentOS expert review

  • December 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
stability is the best in a production environment
What do you dislike?
Centos 8 is not suitable as compared to centos 7
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IT infra level issue like clustering hosting virtualization


    shivank g.

Completeness in use and speed

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed is a kind of significant factor as well as security. As similar to its Linux predecessors, it's easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Not many features as likely should be present as compared to time and users. Less UI compatibility created an uneasiness.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly to run several applications for organization support. Use it in deployed server for better performance.


    Information Technology and Services

centos user

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is Reliable lines up with red hat
What do you dislike?
i am a being a beginner, and there need to be a forum for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am still very green in this space.


    Computer Software

Wonderful and capable linux project that meets realworld needs

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, community-driven, stable, enterprise supported and price!
What do you dislike?
UI and GUI development effort lacking and supported timeline can't be extended, fee or no fee
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We want the flexibility of using an OS with developmental features yet ready for production enterprise workloads. Centos meets both requirements and knowing there is an easy path to migrate to Redhat is reassuring.


    Nicolas B.

Best for stability

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the stability, speed and reliability of the operating system, it is a very easy to use operating system offering many very useful tools such as cockpit.socket
What do you dislike?
Everything is fine with CentOS, I have nothing bad to say about this operating system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS to do virtualization, the cockpit.socket tools allow me to know everything about the server and locate the problems of my servers more quickly.....
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Unfortunately, CentOS will be shutting down soon, consider switching to another similar operating system such as Fedora or RedHat


    Information Technology and Services

Wonderful, even if near at the end of support

  • October 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a complete Linux distribution, strictly related to redhat, so you can test everything on it without cost, and what you test there will very probably work also on redhat linux.
There are many VM ready to use and a lot of installation of all the versions so that you can switch between versions in a very simple way.
What do you dislike?
It is at the end of support (the end of this year).
So also in production enviroments a lot of users are dismissing it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
test linux redhat in a free way.
really a very stable linux.