Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins with CentOS Stream

Cognosys Inc. | V 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS Stream 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

262 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Defense & Space

A Great Linux Distro

  • October 06, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is a fantastic Linux Distro. The UI is cleanly designed and the features within are powerful and highly customizable to your environment. You can scale up as needed and ensure the needs are met for your environments work flow. It also comes with plenty of free software already if desired. If you are unsure how to something, there is an excellent amount of documentation and a great user community to help you out. Definitely one of the top 5 Linux Distros of all time.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. If you need a great Linux Distro comparable to RedHat this is it. The only thing to consider and this is not necessarily a bad thing; you won't receive the enterprise level support that you get with RHEL. Remember, RHEL is fully enterprise level linux with all the support you need. CentOS has a great community but ultimately relies on the knowledge and capabilities of your own staff to maintain it. Not a deal breaker, but just something to consider.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Databases, web servers, productivity, software devopment.

Everything with CentOS is easy to do and works flawlessly. Users enjoy using this distribution and administrators enjoy maintaining it. A win-win for everyone.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely recommended to anyone who wants to use Linux. If you are new to Linux, this is also a great Distro to learn on. You really can't go wrong.


    Herm H.

A powerful alternative to a Windows based server

  • October 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source. Stable. Updates without rebooting.
What do you dislike?
Learning curve if coming from Windows. Works best with a custom distribution like ClearOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing stable networking, file storage, remote access, and email.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Linux as a server platform. CentOS is a top contender in the Linux arena, particularly when coupled to a platform like ClearOS to provide simple configuration and support.


    Information Technology and Services

CentOS simple and easy to use

  • October 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to find Information on the internet. Exemple: When you want to install new feature.
What do you dislike?
For sure it’s a Linux, Windows users will have a good learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our backup solution is running in CentOS


    Computer Software

Full featured and easy to use OS

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install and support and provides the security and performance that we need in our applications and services.
What do you dislike?
running a cron job using "sudo" in the command requires a tty device even though in the OS that CentOS is based has removed that requirement a long time ago.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying our Cloud-based applications in AWS. The biggest benefit has been the ease of installation and getting the system up and running.


    Nick H.

Best Server Operating System

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is easy to configure and is my go to operating system for running server software. Once you figure how to use it, it's really easy. The packages are updated but not often to ensure better security. You can get the minimal version which is the stripped down version so you don't have to all these packages installed that you don't use.
What do you dislike?
The GUI isn't the best but I don't really care cause all I use is the command line. CentOS 5 would run on only 256MB RAM but now CentOS 7 requires 1GB RAM and is only x64.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provides the best stability for running servers. It's free so it's very cost effective.


    Jenn C.

CentOS experience

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use the command line a lot and the centos interface is pretty good for that.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that Google Chrome browser is not compatible with CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My job is highly computational so this allows me to use a variety of computational analysis tools.


    Derek H.

A great option for most SMBs

  • September 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy package management, software updates, and administration.
What do you dislike?
Initial setup can be painful on SOME hardware. Usually this isn't a big problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used CentOS for many of our more cost-conscious clients who are in need of a reliable server. It allows us to use very affordable hardware to produce an effective solution.


    Retail

The Best Server Distro we find

  • September 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this distribution for the simple way to install and configure
What do you dislike?
The graphical interface could be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server Side testing envirronment with upgrading online


    Government Administration

Lightweight OS for Development Purposes

  • August 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of the OS amkes everything you do very simple and basic. It offers a lot of functionality for inner code development and has a user-friendly UI.
What do you dislike?
The look could use some updates and the process of automatic updates could be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Programming Development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
While it is very good for what it is, a development platform with plethora of development tools, it could use a few updates.


    Michael S.

CentOS 7

  • July 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS 7 is like a rock it just works, I have tried them all, well almost. But I away's come back to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
Won't run with VT-d enabled in the BIOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good development tools pre-installed.