Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 10 for Ubuntu 18.04

Kurian,Inc. | 10.0.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Saurabh K.

Most Stable web container

  • May 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure on the cloud as well as on the local system. It helps me to deploy/test my java web-based applications. Application startup is faster than other web servers. The good thing is it's Open source and free. I can also configure additional security like configuring certificates, add http headers in the tomcat easily.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the service consumes more CPU. Apache team needs to work on that. Also, sometimes I find it hard to restart the server. Service becomes unresponsive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can deploy multiple java applications on Tomcat. Tomcat makes the deployment easy on local as we as on the cloud. Also I can implement additional security in Tomcat like adding certificates, configuring http headers,etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an open-source web container, and one can deploy multiple applications via tomcat. Also helpful in running heavy applications. If you have multiple applications to deploy, go for apache tomcat.


    Vishwanath T.

Vishwa's thoughts on Apache Tomcat

  • February 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is user friendly which is sufficient for web applications developed in Java.
What do you dislike?
Cant manage EJB or JMS applications on this server. It would be better to upgrade.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some of the benefits are easily deployable, easy debugging the issue. Easy to install on any platform.


    Lilan S.

Recormand tomcat for automate web app deployment

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to configure locally, well as the cloud. I have mainly used to automate web app deployment because we have more than 25 services to deploy at once. Application startup is faster than other web servers. I liked it most because tomcat is open source.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult to find the plugin for automating web app deployment in AWS. I have to write my own plugin for automatic restart.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application startup performance. Tomcat is a Lightweight server. so I able to reduce automatic deployment time and serve our customer requests faster than earlier.


    Banking

I preffer Tomcat because it's easy to work with...easier than Websphere

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to build war files, configure...ease operation
What do you dislike?
I can't find any disadvantage in this case
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As I wrote above. It's easy to build war files


    Airlines/Aviation

Good open source software

  • January 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This an excellent Light weight and open source software, not too difficult to use
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike about TomCat but there can be additional feature you can add to it to make it more user friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it to create a share web resources within my organisation.


    Retail

I’ve worked with Apache tomcat in my past projects and I highly recommend everyone.

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Setting up Tomcat server in the project is real quick
What do you dislike?
Configuring and integration is bit tedious
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have this highly scalable application with needs Apache tomcat


    Financial Services

Application Server Designer-Tomcat

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lightweight
Flexible
Open source
Security
Dynamic Deploment
What do you dislike?
Tomcat doesn’t support J2EE ,EJB specification
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache will boost your website performance and helps you to have better hosting experience
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes


    Bpagadala P.

It has allowed me to emulate the basic functions of a web server

  • November 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It turns out to have an easy to use and understand interface, the fact that it is easy to configure makes it a very helpful tool to test all my developments in a simple, easy and fast way, in addition, it has integrations with other environments development such as Eclipse, which allows me to code my web pages in a much easier way, the fact that it consumes few resources on my computer is a great plus, this allows me to use other applications in parallel simultaneously without being seen impacted the performance of the computer, its customer service team is quite fast and efficient when it comes to answering any questions or problems that arise during the use of this application.
What do you dislike?
I do not have any regarding the use of this application, everything has been quite practical and useful for me to develop my web applications in a quite simple, easy and practical way.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has allowed me to emulate the basic functions of a web server in such a way that I can execute from my computer all the necessary services to be able to visualize the web pages that I create in my web browser, in such a way that I can verify the operation and design of a quite simple, easy and fast way and without having to hire hosting services to perform the tests.


    Sharmila K.

Best server for Java web apps

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful feature of Apache Tomcat is the deployment made easy for java applications. And the logs will be properly segregated based on the deployment which is the best feature. The application can be easily replicated across installations. It helps to manage microservices and make deployment management easier. Very easy and ideal to host all different kinds of APIs.It integrates very cleanly with Eclipse. the software is supported by AWS which makes deployments very smooth. It's used by many developers, it's very well documented and you can easily find solutions for problems. memory consumption is very very low which makes it ideal on all kinds of software.
What do you dislike?
With the frequent updates of the software, up-gradation becomes difficult. There are memory leaks observed while handling large applications and not ideal for large apps. The apps get crashed on overload. Less default logging capabilities on standard OS level. This software lacks a built-in feature to provide auto-recovery in case of failure. OutOfMemoryError and many memory leakage issues re-observed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
software is an open-source implementation of the Java Servlet which the benefit. The benefit is the cross-platform service which works for both Windows and Linux. It is very easy to install, configure, and deploy. The security is also the best advantage of this software. Multiple applications can run simultaneously without impacting the performance of the applications or software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend developers to use this as a server for deployments


    Arfat M.

All in one server.... Best for small and medium scale users

  • May 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best in class server for small and medium scale users. Runs smoothly. You can check logs in proper format. Handle no. Of users. Front end backend everything at one place that is in webapps.. According to database can be customized.
What do you dislike?
When it comes to huge number of applications, apache can't be used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using for business applications. Finding logs is easier..Can change fronted backend.. Restart is easier..