Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 10 for SUSE Linux Enterprise 15

Kurian | 10.0.2

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 SP2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

90 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vinicius K.

Apache Tomcat is a good option for java web based application

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is a lightweight web server which runs smoothly java web based applications.
Once you have a war file, it's pretty much straightforward to deploy it on Tomcat.
What do you dislike?
Tomcat is a Java servlet container and web server, and, because it doesn’t come with an implementation of the full JEE stack, it is significantly lighter weight out of the box. For developers who don’t need the full JEE stack this is definitely a advantage but there were times when we had EJB applications and we had to deploy them on another application server, which increases maintainability by having different servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Tomcat to deploy Java Servlet, JavaServer Pages, Java Expression Language, and Java WebSocket Technologies for large-scale, mission-critical web applications. It's open-source and free! It reduced the costs that we'd have by choosing another vendor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is an excellent option if you need to deploy java web-based applications (WAR). If you need a container that takes care of other aspects such as database connection pooling, transaction control, use of JSF, JMS, JNDI, security applicable to all these additional subsystems and managed in the container, then the use of Application Servers Full Platform like JBoss AS and Wildfly is more recommended. In addition, advanced features such as high availability and data replication are features already integrated into JBoss AS and Wildfly and managed by web administration tools.


    Girisha P.

Apache tomcat server

  • February 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat server makes it very easy to build and deploy projects. Tomcat is mainly used for testing purposes while developing project. It is very handy to use tomcat in order to deploy the project and test our application.
What do you dislike?
It takes a lot of time in order to build and deploy the project and everytime we need to build and deploy the project which makes it very time consuming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing the entire project locally in order to make development fast-pace


    Information Technology and Services

Apache Tomcat review

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat server is best for light weight application.
Easy to setup.
Administrator console is easy to use
What do you dislike?
Doesn't support very huge application
Node configuration is not possible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have telecom business application for quotation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best product for light weight application


    Han-Tsung L.

Apache Tomcat Server

  • January 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat has been around for almost 20 years. I find it best for its stability in the software development process and a popular method for deploying Java applications for providing middleware support for web applications. Best of all, it is an open-source software that is maintained by open community with new releases and updates periodically.
What do you dislike?
I have not found any reason in particular to dislike about this product. For someone who is still new to the web development process, such as using Eclipse or the terminal to startup tomcat, and how server works in general, then it might be difficult to figure out how to configure your environment for JRE/JDK and CATALINA environment variables. Otherwise, it is fairly straight forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is currently used as it is intended for hosting server-side components of a web application and providing endpoints and data retrieval from the data storage in the database. One benefit in which I have realized is that Tomcat has built-in users and roles which allows a team/developer to build user authentication and roles for the web application under construction. Furthermore, to deploy a web application is as simple as starting up the Apache tomcat server then drop the WAR file generated from building the web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your end goal is to quickly spin up a new server for hosting a server endpoint for a java application and possibly using Eclipse as your IDE, then tomcat is definitely the one to go.


    Financial Services

Apache tomcat

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source code, java servlet, provides great environment for java code to run.
What do you dislike?
I do not dislike anything other than the issue that it fails sometimes. Thanks for all your advice on tomcat documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to run our java code on a java servlet in tomcat.


    Raghu T.

Best Open Source Application server

  • November 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most used Server and light weight.
WAR files are Hot Deploy-able, Not need to restart the server.
If we struck in configuration settings, we easily can find the solutions in internet easily.
What do you dislike?
Need more out of box security layers.
if we want to develop rich applications, need to think of other application web server.
If more WAR files are deployed, server will take time to restart the server.
Needs to improve the documentation for the explaining the configuration settings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open Source server, No need to buy license.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best Open Source Portal.
Easy to migrate from one version to another version.


    Higher Education

Apache Tomcat server

  • October 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Can run applications developed on local machine.

Bit fast to check the applications.

And the performance of the product.

Some with knowledge of JAVA and a basic understanding of PATH would be able to get a Tomcat server up and running in a couple of minutes.
What do you dislike?
Bit limited in providing documentation.

Access Log Valve not being enabled by default.

User-friendly CLI messages would be great for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most of the applications that are required by the business are developed and then further testing by running them on Apache tomcat server on local machine. Saving time to keep deploying on actual server. It being open source software and a huge community base.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A great product to used


    Computer Software

Much like the rest of Java, bloated, slow and cumbersome

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing, even the logo is annoying. It's like going back a decade or more in awlful software.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything about it. IIS is more user friendly, Nginx is cooler to use, Apache is far more performant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The only reason to use it is that you've built your application on Java/Swing. And may God have mercy on your soul if you've started a greenfield project using these outdated technologies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Move away from Java slowly....slowly....Choose anything else!


    Information Technology and Services

Simple and powerful server

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best application server for Java available in the market. Its simple yet very powerful for use.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing in specific to dislike about the product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting applications on the internet


    Information Technology and Services

A good back end software for web based apps

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
For the most part, this application is solid and very reliable. We used it for back end software applications and it's rare we even need to touch it.
What do you dislike?
Java updates constantly break it. This is no fault of the software but it is extremely annoying. It can also be a huge memory hog unless you limit it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We benefit from a reliable, easy to troubleshoot application that does what we need it to do.