Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16 (ARM) (Ubuntu 16.04 LTS) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

966 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

it's amazing for those who loves customisation.

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
you can customise everything, everything is available on open web(open source)
What do you dislike?
you definitely need to understand bits of what you trying to do, instead of copy pasting.
require patience and good googling skills.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. customisation as per my needs( i.e. desktop environment, applications I need)
2. working on different tech seems easier with linux


    Asif A.

It's Free and Open Sourced ! Best operating system ever

  • August 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the best Linux distribution I ever used .It is an easy to install and use operating system.Ubuntu has a very a wide community support.Ubuntu has an excellent Command Line Interface for managing and modifying user access,file and software management.We can browse internet,edit documents ,pictures and manage office works very easily.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike about Ubuntu .Since it is not a one click use technology,new users could feel a bit confused
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is a very useful OS for meeting all business related needs.Ubuntu offers easy installation of free software alternatives like LibreOffice,Gnome,Jitsi,vim and nano editor .We can easily develop applications in Ubuntu.Ubuntu has also been very useful for me in server management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are tired of managing bussiness due to excessive money flow using premium membership plans and subscription for softwares,then Ubuntu is the best choice.The Ubuntu OS has very frequent updates and is also very secure due to its open source nature.


    VINCENT O.

Trust Ubuntu in a thorough networking and programming environment

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has a good level of security, it's robust, scalable, and fast as compared to Windows. It is scalable due to its ability to be intergraded with other software. It's secure since the user doesn't have to install an antivirus to have their files secure. This makes Ubuntu preferred since the user's main worry of data/files loss or corruption by malware is a forgotten history.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu has many benefits compared to its dislikes. The only dislike about Ubuntu is its unfriendly user interface. Most users prefer GUI interfaces. Command-line interfaces user does have issues with navigation since it's not intuitive like windows where there are many icons that easily conforms to user mental models of the intended task and expected outcome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Ubuntu for general internet access. We have enjoyed data and file security from attacks from the internet. In addition, we use Ubuntu platforms in programming tasks. In this area its keys since we have been able to integrate it with other systems due to its robustness features and fast as compared with Windows


    Rishab J.

One of the fastest Operating System

  • August 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The boot time of the Operating System is significantly less compared to other operating systems. It has mesmerizing soothing looks, like icons, window tabs, etc. The Ubuntu Operating System had high security since it's created on Linux architecture. The UI of Ubuntu is a perfect combination for both types of users, new and advanced users. Provide support for a lot of day-to-day used software. Even if the device has a low-level set of hardware, it works smoothly. The way it supports the latest graphics driver is a blessing in disguise.
What do you dislike?
With time, Ubuntu has developed, and many people have become very user-friendly with the operating system, so it will be rude to say it have any dislikes. Apart from many developments, few improvements are still needed like; it needs official support for some standard Windows applications like Adobe Products, Microsoft Office.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu solved many issues I was facing with windows 10 like slow internet, fast boot and reboot time, frequent lagging of system due to RAM used by other applications. I don't have to wait longer for couple of minutes to start my system. There are support for a lot of typical applications, so it is easier to adapt with Ubuntu for new users like me who recently switched to Ubuntu from Windows 10.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One should change their Operating System to Ubuntu or keep both Windows and Ubuntu. Ubuntu is straightforward to learn and use, so new users can quickly adapt to this operating system. Also, Ubuntu is faster than Windows 10 with the same resources.


    Flavio L.

Fast and easy to use

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is very easy to use and it is light! So much faster than the other OS I used.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the software you need, you're going to learn command lines to be able to install it. Also, the risk of a new device not connecting and you need to install drivers manually.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not having to pay for an OS, and it is fast which means I have much fewer memory issues and slowness.


    Rahul S.

I found, when i am using Ubuntu This is The Best Operating System

  • August 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu I an awesome operating system and no comparison with other OS.it is free of every version, robust, stable, and easy to use.
Ubuntu is the most popular open-source operating system. That makes it a worthy Linux distro. It's highly customizable and has an S/W centre full of apps.
What do you dislike?
I dislike a little bit using ubuntu for Two major reasons "Popularity" and "Unity".
Ubuntu is so popular that it would easily seem like the flag bearer of Linux. In Ubuntu, the design decision makes sense on mobile devices, or when you use your machine for no more than texting and the internet. But on a laptop or workstation, when you are doing serious work, it's a correctable but nagging efficiency.

Ubuntu being user-friendly in that it puts effort into easy-synching and unifying your ubuntu installations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My Samsung laptop R- series is very old. I was trying to install windows but I felt then I installed ubuntu 20.04 LTS this is working awesome so ubuntu support is excellent and now I am developing projects using ubuntu operating syatem in python and Django I am feeling very easy to install any packages and software using terminal command.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend every person to use ubuntu because this OS is virus-free, safe, and stable. The only route to get infected by the virus if we download files and install self.

First-time will face a little bit of difficulty to use UBUNTU and also you will hate it but after some time you will definitely like this OS and trust me you will never use other OS because Ubuntu is more secure and save comparison to other OS.


    Georges A.

UBUNTU IS the safest and most stable OS but at what cost?

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UBUNTU was the best OS I used because, as advertised, it compiles itself to run on your system and not the other way around: just click "ESC" while booting, and you will actually see it loading and compiling a ton of drivers and stuff to give you the optimal experience your hardware can manage.
The server version can be set up to accept WINDOWS clients and link to a MICROSOFT network environment, and it offers a wide range of variants to choose from.
The best thing is it is virus-free. Programmer boast that if you wish for your computer to catch a virus running UBUNTU, you will have to manually download a virus and install it yourself.
What do you dislike?
Many of the applications I use at my office are WINDOWS compatible, and they are not compatible with UBUNTU. You can try to run WINE, but it's not the same thing.
You can find a counterpart for every software you need, but you cannot share their files unless the recipient has the same software, so yes: compatibility is a big problem, and that's why I stopped using it.
Updates need to be launched manually, and if you did not configure the repositories well, you would not be able to do it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At school, we have many old laptops that cannot run windows smoothly because their hardware is outdated. UBUNTU can run on almost any hardware configuration, which is one of its' major strong points.
Also, WINDOWS sometimes just refuses to access some external storage devices like USB keys or even HARD DRIVES. With UBUNTU, as long as the device is still functional, you can access it and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU is like your private tank: it just keeps going while helping you get the most out of your hardware.
Secure, fast, and dependable, it probably is the best OS out there.
If you do not mind learning other software, it is the solution you need: it's free, available in many versions and distros, and runs on virtually any computer.


    Aviation & Aerospace

One of The Best Linux Distros'

  • August 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu offers many facilities among Linux distribustions.
What do you dislike?
Since the advent of WSL, Ubuntu has been more widely used. Support for GUI applications based on Ubuntu in windows will be highly appreciated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu for using OpenFoam application and I have been having an amazing experience.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu Desktop and server Review

  • July 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm using ubuntu Server & Desktop Since, last 2 years in IT company. it's very user friendly and easy to use for beginners in my company. In this OS my best feature is user friendly.
What do you dislike?
I'm facing a problem with the installation of the PHP version. I'm also creating online repo that used this command Sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ondrej/php but, php7.4 is not installed in ubuntu 16.04. I'm installed free OS in my system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have resolved OS upgrade issues and fixed the grub rescue mode issue. They provided so many solutions on his website.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu 18.04

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux commands and docker which can be used on regular basis.
What do you dislike?
Switching between terminal and files because it distracts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker, superset, python, Django, visual studio code.