Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 16 (ARM) (Ubuntu 16.04 LTS) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

972 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Flavio L.

Fast and easy to use

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is very easy to use and it is light! So much faster than the other OS I used.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the software you need, you're going to learn command lines to be able to install it. Also, the risk of a new device not connecting and you need to install drivers manually.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not having to pay for an OS, and it is fast which means I have much fewer memory issues and slowness.


    Rahul S.

I found, when i am using Ubuntu This is The Best Operating System

  • August 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu I an awesome operating system and no comparison with other OS.it is free of every version, robust, stable, and easy to use.
Ubuntu is the most popular open-source operating system. That makes it a worthy Linux distro. It's highly customizable and has an S/W centre full of apps.
What do you dislike?
I dislike a little bit using ubuntu for Two major reasons "Popularity" and "Unity".
Ubuntu is so popular that it would easily seem like the flag bearer of Linux. In Ubuntu, the design decision makes sense on mobile devices, or when you use your machine for no more than texting and the internet. But on a laptop or workstation, when you are doing serious work, it's a correctable but nagging efficiency.

Ubuntu being user-friendly in that it puts effort into easy-synching and unifying your ubuntu installations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My Samsung laptop R- series is very old. I was trying to install windows but I felt then I installed ubuntu 20.04 LTS this is working awesome so ubuntu support is excellent and now I am developing projects using ubuntu operating syatem in python and Django I am feeling very easy to install any packages and software using terminal command.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend every person to use ubuntu because this OS is virus-free, safe, and stable. The only route to get infected by the virus if we download files and install self.

First-time will face a little bit of difficulty to use UBUNTU and also you will hate it but after some time you will definitely like this OS and trust me you will never use other OS because Ubuntu is more secure and save comparison to other OS.


    Georges A.

UBUNTU IS the safest and most stable OS but at what cost?

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UBUNTU was the best OS I used because, as advertised, it compiles itself to run on your system and not the other way around: just click "ESC" while booting, and you will actually see it loading and compiling a ton of drivers and stuff to give you the optimal experience your hardware can manage.
The server version can be set up to accept WINDOWS clients and link to a MICROSOFT network environment, and it offers a wide range of variants to choose from.
The best thing is it is virus-free. Programmer boast that if you wish for your computer to catch a virus running UBUNTU, you will have to manually download a virus and install it yourself.
What do you dislike?
Many of the applications I use at my office are WINDOWS compatible, and they are not compatible with UBUNTU. You can try to run WINE, but it's not the same thing.
You can find a counterpart for every software you need, but you cannot share their files unless the recipient has the same software, so yes: compatibility is a big problem, and that's why I stopped using it.
Updates need to be launched manually, and if you did not configure the repositories well, you would not be able to do it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At school, we have many old laptops that cannot run windows smoothly because their hardware is outdated. UBUNTU can run on almost any hardware configuration, which is one of its' major strong points.
Also, WINDOWS sometimes just refuses to access some external storage devices like USB keys or even HARD DRIVES. With UBUNTU, as long as the device is still functional, you can access it and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU is like your private tank: it just keeps going while helping you get the most out of your hardware.
Secure, fast, and dependable, it probably is the best OS out there.
If you do not mind learning other software, it is the solution you need: it's free, available in many versions and distros, and runs on virtually any computer.


    Aviation & Aerospace

One of The Best Linux Distros'

  • August 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu offers many facilities among Linux distribustions.
What do you dislike?
Since the advent of WSL, Ubuntu has been more widely used. Support for GUI applications based on Ubuntu in windows will be highly appreciated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu for using OpenFoam application and I have been having an amazing experience.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu Desktop and server Review

  • July 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm using ubuntu Server & Desktop Since, last 2 years in IT company. it's very user friendly and easy to use for beginners in my company. In this OS my best feature is user friendly.
What do you dislike?
I'm facing a problem with the installation of the PHP version. I'm also creating online repo that used this command Sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ondrej/php but, php7.4 is not installed in ubuntu 16.04. I'm installed free OS in my system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have resolved OS upgrade issues and fixed the grub rescue mode issue. They provided so many solutions on his website.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu 18.04

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux commands and docker which can be used on regular basis.
What do you dislike?
Switching between terminal and files because it distracts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker, superset, python, Django, visual studio code.


    Gerge H.

The BEST OS by far.

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UBUNTU is the best OS by far, and nothing can catch up to it. It is free, virus-free, stable, and robust.
Updates are available regularly, and connectivity is fast and very easy.
The most significant advantage it has over other OS is the ability to recognize your hardware and compiling itself to adopt it, and not the other way around.
In other words: UBUNTU is here to serve you and your hardware, not the other way around.
What do you dislike?
The software library is limited and, with all the diversity it has being open source, you can find multiple variants for the same application. Hence, it is easy to lose yourself amongst them.
Also, versions are abundantly available, so you might not know which version is compatible with yours and which is not.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My old laptop was suffering under Windows, so I installed UBUNTU 20.10 on it, and now it's running smoothly.
Many of my USB keys get rejected by Windows, so I use UBUNTU to format them and make them reusable again.
Sharing my digital library at home has never been easier, all thanks to UBUNTU and the ease with which you can create a shared folder and be sure it is safe.
Launching UBUNTU, it automatically adapts itself to the hardware present and works with what you have, not what it needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU is the very best when it comes to OS. At first, you might not like it; heck, you might even hate it but, once you experience the freedom, speed and reliability it gives you, you shall start to appreciate it.
UBUNTU is the safest and most stable OS you may ever use. The only way to get infected by a virus on UBUNTU is by downloading the file and installing it yourself, which alone is a significant advantage.


    Priyam K.

Amazing for development

  • July 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Control it provides to a developer to explore and do multiple things
What do you dislike?
Have to do. multiple things manually, no user interface for everything thus making it difficult for some people
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for web development, socket programming, os programming, etc


    Balamurugan S.

Best in Class Operating System For Developers

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The bests are the Clutter - free UI, attractive icons with simplifed titles, open source and softwares, inbuilt unbuntu store and smooth experience. Above all, I love the installation process and time it takes to boot and start process. It's fast and best, and works much better in lower end computers and laptops.
What do you dislike?
I could not see any cons. At the same time, I have to say, Ubuntu is not for creative designers and professionals who work with graphic softwares. It lags while using the alterative desiging softwares and won't meet the needs of a creative graphic designer. But, Ubuntu is best for word processing, browsing, attenting online classes, exams via video conferencing tools and other professional works.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Ubuntu, I was able to make my lower end pc's work super fast alike the modern one. Also, with opensource tools, and easy installable OS, I am able to switch off the pc without any hassles. Since, I mostly work online with word processing tools, linux based office tools helps me a lot.


    vijith V.

Best open source OS with support over multiple architechure

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
best and fast open-source OS based on UNIX. trusted and can be used for office purposes as well as personal use.
What do you dislike?
sometimes it gets laggy in low configured PC, it would be great if there is some graphic throttle option to run OS with fewer graphical options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we can use this OS for free of cost and can be used on multiple devices without the need of a license fee or anything as such. we can highly configure the OS for the best use cases.