Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fedora 32 (ARM) Base AMI with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210409

Linux/Unix, Fedora 32 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vikas C.

Satisfactory

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like live environment as it boots up quickly enough. It is less prone to virus and other malignant applications. And the biggest change on this release (Fedora 17) is the unification of the file system that moved /bin, /sbin, /lib, and /lib64 directories to the /usr folder. Fedora security updates for each release stop coming out after only about a year. Users who want to keep a system up and running for longer than that have to make the move to RHEL or CentOS. Ubuntu users can select a "Long Term Support" release of the regular distribution. One of GNOME 3.4's features is where window decorations change to a greyscale theme when focus is removed. It's a little weird and unexpected when first encountered, but it's not a complete disappointment.
What do you dislike?
It is not user friendly, especially for a non computer guy. The weirdest fault that I've seen in a long time is the lack of Verdana as a font in Fedora 17, when it was good in Fedora 16. Hardware-manufacturers don't see Linux as a marketshare worth considering and hence the users will eventually find some (brand-new or obscure mostly) hardware that sadly doesn't run on Linux. Fragmentation in terms of distros, user-interfaces (QT, GTK, etc.), packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am currently inclined towards providing E-Learning packages to facilitate learning elementary concepts for school children. No benefits so far.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider using fedora only if you are looking for a substitute for windows and free for malignant software and applications. And most importantly the user must have preliminary coding experience so as to reap the maximum benefit from it.


    Abhi A.

Fedora: A Useful Linux Distribution!

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The booting speed is very fast in Fedora. I run Fedora virtually for my project, and turning on the Fedora GNOME screen is a matter of 10 to 15 seconds. And being a Linux distribution, security requires not much concern. It even promotes SELinux feature that implements multiple security policies, which is not the case with all Linux distributions.
What do you dislike?
Since I use fedora virtually for my project purposes, I don't see particular flaws in fedora apart from the general drawbacks of all linux distributions such as gaming, no extensive applications as it is there in windows and so on. Other drawback that first time users generally find in fedora is that it is a quite hard to learn and get used to fedora.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use fedora mainly for programming purposes and to run some of the softwares such as ns2 and octave.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I personally feel comfortable using a Linux distribution than Windows as OS. When it comes to Linux distributions, you can go either for Fedora or for Ubuntu (again, my opinion). The apps are nearly the same in both flavors. If you want some impressive looks, then go for Ubuntu but if you want to use your resources effectively and avail features such as fast boot, easy bug fix etc. then go for fedora.


    Munendra S.

Fedora- worthy Linux Distribution

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Based on Red Hat but it is free. Like all linux distribution it is virus-free OS. Fedora can be used as server. It is open source hence good support. high stability and easy to apply bug fixes. Easy updates and always reversible updates of the kernel (really helpful in-case of problems in updates ).
What do you dislike?
The biggest setback is non-availability of up to date versions of the softwares in packages. Package manager many times has older versions. Created by the community. It may not support many music or video files due to the limited codec availability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Fedora generally at home. It makes me highly productive, have used for projects in academics.
Benefits:
Many Red hat features for free.
Rollback in-case of kernel update failure.
Good Desktop Environments
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fedora is easy to set-up, flexible. If you want Red hat Features for free, Fedora is the one. Need time to learn, if you love challenges Use Fedora.


    Computer Software

Great product, very useful, cutting edge

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fedora is an amazing operating system. I use it day to day and it comes with the latest cutting edge software while maintaining a high standard of security and stability. It also strays minimally from upstream software, allowing bugfixes to be quickly applied.
What do you dislike?
Fedora can be a bit difficult for beginners due to its focus on command line operations. It also has less support for proprietary software, causing people with certain hardware to need to perform more difficult tasks to obtain their drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fedora is essential to everything I do. It provides an operating system that is very useful for me, and allows me to perform all my tasks. It benefits me by allowing me to use the system as a development OS, while also using it for entertainment purposes. It is fast and efficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fedora has a learning curve, but as long as you configure it so that you are the most efficient with it, you will come to enjoy it.


    Iulian-Constantin M.

Most secure and stable Linux distribution

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used many Linux distributions and Fedora gave me the best experience. One of the best features in this distribution si that after a kernel update the bootloader gives you options to select one of the last 3 kernels you have installed, so if you encounter any problem with an update, you can easily go back. Another big feature that is the driver support, something that other distributions does not offer. The package maanger (dnf) is fast and reliable, usually you can find most software and libraries you need. You have multiple choices of desktop environment (I used Gnome), so you can have fedora in any "flavour". It is easy to set up, has live desktop and is very stable.
What do you dislike?
The package manager offers many choices of software, but sometimes you can not find latest version of something (for example, latest version of node in dnf is 0.10), but can be solved by adding more repositories in the package manager. Else, I was very pleased by this distribution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Fedora at home and work. In Linux (especially Fedora) I feel and I am very productive, given the very flexible environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I fyou are looking for an easy to set-up, flexible and stable environment for work and home, you should really consider using Fedora as your Operating System.


    Steven S.

Leading Edge Linux

  • March 17, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Fedora, you stay just one step behind the bleeding edge. If you care about where the "commercial" Linux world (i.e., RedHat) is going, make sure you use Fedora daily.
What do you dislike?
Fedora's strong commitment to FOSS often means that some software is only available through side repositiories like RPMForge. It's not a big deal to get them set up, but it's a stumbling block for new users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For your desktop and dev servers, NOT for production servers. In productions, stick with CentOS.


    David S.

open-sourced OS

  • March 01, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free, open-sourced collabration based on linux. A virus-free OS. Supports firefox for web browsing. Many companies have servers which the fedora platform is based on, which makes sense to develop on fedora before implementing on a larger-scale.
What do you dislike?
Lacks any major office-tool and even major software programmes. Created by the community. It may not support many music or video files: codecs are limited.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your a developer and looking to create software and work with others this is ideal. Very similar to Ubuntu so its worth looking at that also. If you have the hard-drive capacity its possible to run this simultaneously with a partitioned hard-drive. Majority of programmes are created by the community, lacking any sort of support you may expect from a company-based software programme.


    Administrator in Computer Software

RedHat's Free Little Brother

  • October 01, 2012
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fedora is just like RHEL, but free. It is meant for use as a desktop, but as it is an open source Linux OS, it can be used as a server without any issues.
What do you dislike?
As it is an open source product, there are some delays in getting patches, and support is solely based on the community (unless you pay for it).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fedora is an amazing desktop OS, consider the next time you are looking at costs and operation systems ;)