Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

iRedMail (IMAP, SMTP, POP3) Email Server on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

24 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cassandra W.

It is a great server! Easy to use once installed!

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Process in Ubuntu Linux can be controlled and customized.
Applications that are deployed run fast and are easily scalable.
It is open source which I really like. It is also user friendly. It is very versatile, as a lot of free and open-source software. We find it extremely reliable as a desktop and server OS.
What do you dislike?
Not as much support for apps as Windows, so its reach should be widened.
No dedicated support to contact through if anyone need it.
Not much suitable for beginners on the instal
In my opinion. One downside is that if you are not familiar with Ubuntu Linux, it can be very confusing; however, once you have a grasp of the concepts and fundamentals, it is a breeze to manage. Linux is more of a do it yourself OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I see for Ubuntu to help manage cloud applications. It is easy to implement on Linux based systems and is more safe and reliable in case of process management.
It also addresses. Problems on windows machines. Flexibility. It is easy to add and remove services. As our business needs change, so can our Ubuntu Linux system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu Server setups are great for most server solutions. Security is good enough and usability is off the charts compared with other alternatives. The most common use for Ubuntu Linux is probably for web-based applications.


    Cris S.

Powerful and lightweight

  • March 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most is the facility of installation, the installer is guided step by step and I could follow anyone. Another crucial aspect when talking about an operating system for servers is Robustez, usually do not produce problems with this aspect.
Another of the great advantages is the large application base available. In addition Ubuntu Server is a very popular operating system, so there are manuals of all kinds.
What do you dislike?
At the moment I have not found any considerable disadvantage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Although many people do not like, Ubuntu Server is very good as a production server. I think it is ideal for deploying services such as mail, cloud storage or web server of a small business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good choice for the ease of starting.


    Mental Health Care

Free alternative to replace some costly MS or other manufacturers solutions

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's absolutely free! No cost, which is great in a non-profit organization.
What do you dislike?
You will have to teach yourself. But there is a lot of support out there on the web.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solved issues with proxys, LMS, monitoring, intranet sites, and more
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Put the time in to learn it


    Martino Nauli R.

robust, secure, user-friendly linux based server

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- easy installation,
there is no doubt that ubuntu-server installation step is so simple, although it's in text-based but it show short and clear information about installation steps.

- patching kernel without restarting server
through livepatch service, you can receive patch or hot-fix to ubuntu's linux kernel, and apply them on-the-fly without restarting the whole server, this service is very helpfull if you have heavy-duty server that can't have any down-time

- well documented user-guide
ubuntu also provide detailed documentation about server's usage, how to install and configure them.

- community support
if official documentation is not enough, you can obtain help from community, usualy problem you encountered already been solved somewhere else.

- easy to customized for your need
if you didn't comfort with CLI (Command Line Interface) you can add many desktop environment you like such as gnome, kde etc
What do you dislike?
until now, there'is nothing I dislike from ubuntu-server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
same like ubuntu-desktop, ubuntu server give me many solution that I need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
free to use linux based server operating system that very easy to use


    matthew g.

Ubuntu Server - getting better every year

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a great product, and the server distro is really nice. They've done a great job continuing to improve on all aspects of Linux server, and even some of the historically bad aspects. For example, their adoption of snap packages to overcome some of the problems with delay in the LTS repos.
What do you dislike?
I'm confused as to why Ubuntu (and other Linux distros) are so intent on implementing ZFS and adding to its functionality. It's really almost useless at this point as platform or cloud-level storage improvements have made ZFS far less helpful. If you're running on bare metal or have storage systems that can't do modern functions, then I guess it can be useful but for me, it's too much complexity for what it's worth.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great open-source server OS that can be used as for just about any application - from low-end, small footprint all the way to high-end, high performance. We've taken advantage of it's LXD support for our DevOps teams, including Docker containers.


    Feterzon B.

Ubuntu Review

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has lot of live update from many region
What do you dislike?
some update dificult to get because of obsolete application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To many tutorial out there on internet, so need to deploy and many testing for a problem.

Easy to learn because many tutorial out there


    Nil K.

Easy to get started and use.

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to get started:
Ubuntu is one of the easy to use Linux Distro. As, Ubuntu Server, Ubuntu Desktop, Pop OS all share same core inside, and these desktop are the best easy to use Linux OS we can found in the Internet. So, anyone can easily get used to with Ubuntu server by using these desktop on daily life.

Large community support:
Ubuntu has large community so if we face any problem we will find most of the solution already existed and also we can easily ask and get response from community.

Great Documentation:
Ubuntu has detail documentation about how to install, configure and it also has getting stared guide for beginner.

Light size:
Even with such feature Ubuntu server still has small size.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu Lack support for some of the major market sharing web control panel like cPanel, Centos Webpanel.
And, Due to its rapid update and changes , sometime it won't be effective as CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu server on number of my web server. Also, mine primary OS is Ubuntu.
Its easy to debug and solve the problem in Ubuntu as solution of most problem already existed in the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Ubuntu desktop as primary OS so that you can easily get used to with Ubuntu System then it will be much easier to enter the complete CLI based server.
I have been using Ubuntu Server for years and also mine primary OS in my system is Ubuntu Desktop.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Stable and secure Linux server

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support and Online Community
Ubuntu Server community support, documentation and online help are abundant. You can easily get help online for anything like setup and troubleshooting. It's easier to manage and tools are plenty as compared to other Linux server I used.

Management
It's easy to install the application you need and repositories are plenty.

Stability
Our Ubuntu Servers are stable and we did not experience and serious issues using it during our years in production.

Security
So far, securing and hardening the server is straight forward and complete.
What do you dislike?
For 6 years of using it, I don't experience any cons on this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is our first choice in hosting Linux application. We have used if we need quick setup of gateways, vpn and other messaging applications.
It saves us a lot of time in putting those application in production as they are easy to setup with the wealth of guides and online community that will help you in setting up the application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Ubuntu Server as the first choice if you plan to host applications in Linux Servers. It will be a lot easier to support Ubuntu Server with the wealth on online community help.


    Muhammad Abbas D.

Ubuntu server used as a server in a hotel

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I liked most about Ubuntu Server is that it is Linux based which means it has a command line interface. It makes it easier to install or uninstall applications or libraries and it also makes it easier to open directories without having the trouble to manually navigate to directories.

Another thing I liked is that it is very responsive and can be tinkered with.
What do you dislike?
The thing I disliked the most is that Ubuntu server doesn't come with a GUI. Therefore I had to search for the commands to install a GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There were Microcontrollers, such as the Arduino and Raspberry pi, that were installed and getting data around the hotel. The hotel wanted the data to be stored and accessed in one location. Therefore Ubuntu server had been installed on an MSI CPU.

A LAMP server had also been installed to create databases and websites for easy viewing.

Virtualbox was used to create a virtual copy of the server for backup.


    Computer Software

Best WSL till date!

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When I started my ruby on rails journey, I had a windows laptop. But setup of rails required linux based terminal. Windows didn't had it. Seniors told me to use Ubuntu server. I was so much excited to finally develop rails based application using Ubuntu Server. I made it easier for. Later on I installed ubuntu OS itself as WSL is still not fast enough for rails development.
What do you dislike?
Overall, need to improve basic color themes otherwise it's best for it's purpose.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For developing and debugging rails which requires linux based terminal. Ubuntu server had all benefits which windows os is lacking currently
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you don't have mac, Still you want to develop rails based applications or tool that required linux base system and you are a windows user, then don't worry. Ubuntu server is savior for you all. Just install and run it windows. There might be some complications due to windows but you will able to all such things with ubuntu. Just go for it.