Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

iRedMail (IMAP, SMTP, POP3) Email Server on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

41 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Martino Nauli R.

robust, secure, user-friendly linux based server

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- easy installation,
there is no doubt that ubuntu-server installation step is so simple, although it's in text-based but it show short and clear information about installation steps.

- patching kernel without restarting server
through livepatch service, you can receive patch or hot-fix to ubuntu's linux kernel, and apply them on-the-fly without restarting the whole server, this service is very helpfull if you have heavy-duty server that can't have any down-time

- well documented user-guide
ubuntu also provide detailed documentation about server's usage, how to install and configure them.

- community support
if official documentation is not enough, you can obtain help from community, usualy problem you encountered already been solved somewhere else.

- easy to customized for your need
if you didn't comfort with CLI (Command Line Interface) you can add many desktop environment you like such as gnome, kde etc
What do you dislike?
until now, there'is nothing I dislike from ubuntu-server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
same like ubuntu-desktop, ubuntu server give me many solution that I need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
free to use linux based server operating system that very easy to use


    matthew g.

Ubuntu Server - getting better every year

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a great product, and the server distro is really nice. They've done a great job continuing to improve on all aspects of Linux server, and even some of the historically bad aspects. For example, their adoption of snap packages to overcome some of the problems with delay in the LTS repos.
What do you dislike?
I'm confused as to why Ubuntu (and other Linux distros) are so intent on implementing ZFS and adding to its functionality. It's really almost useless at this point as platform or cloud-level storage improvements have made ZFS far less helpful. If you're running on bare metal or have storage systems that can't do modern functions, then I guess it can be useful but for me, it's too much complexity for what it's worth.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great open-source server OS that can be used as for just about any application - from low-end, small footprint all the way to high-end, high performance. We've taken advantage of it's LXD support for our DevOps teams, including Docker containers.


    Feterzon B.

Ubuntu Review

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has lot of live update from many region
What do you dislike?
some update dificult to get because of obsolete application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To many tutorial out there on internet, so need to deploy and many testing for a problem.

Easy to learn because many tutorial out there


    Nil K.

Easy to get started and use.

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to get started:
Ubuntu is one of the easy to use Linux Distro. As, Ubuntu Server, Ubuntu Desktop, Pop OS all share same core inside, and these desktop are the best easy to use Linux OS we can found in the Internet. So, anyone can easily get used to with Ubuntu server by using these desktop on daily life.

Large community support:
Ubuntu has large community so if we face any problem we will find most of the solution already existed and also we can easily ask and get response from community.

Great Documentation:
Ubuntu has detail documentation about how to install, configure and it also has getting stared guide for beginner.

Light size:
Even with such feature Ubuntu server still has small size.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu Lack support for some of the major market sharing web control panel like cPanel, Centos Webpanel.
And, Due to its rapid update and changes , sometime it won't be effective as CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu server on number of my web server. Also, mine primary OS is Ubuntu.
Its easy to debug and solve the problem in Ubuntu as solution of most problem already existed in the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Ubuntu desktop as primary OS so that you can easily get used to with Ubuntu System then it will be much easier to enter the complete CLI based server.
I have been using Ubuntu Server for years and also mine primary OS in my system is Ubuntu Desktop.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Stable and secure Linux server

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support and Online Community
Ubuntu Server community support, documentation and online help are abundant. You can easily get help online for anything like setup and troubleshooting. It's easier to manage and tools are plenty as compared to other Linux server I used.

Management
It's easy to install the application you need and repositories are plenty.

Stability
Our Ubuntu Servers are stable and we did not experience and serious issues using it during our years in production.

Security
So far, securing and hardening the server is straight forward and complete.
What do you dislike?
For 6 years of using it, I don't experience any cons on this product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is our first choice in hosting Linux application. We have used if we need quick setup of gateways, vpn and other messaging applications.
It saves us a lot of time in putting those application in production as they are easy to setup with the wealth of guides and online community that will help you in setting up the application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Ubuntu Server as the first choice if you plan to host applications in Linux Servers. It will be a lot easier to support Ubuntu Server with the wealth on online community help.


    Muhammad Abbas D.

Ubuntu server used as a server in a hotel

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I liked most about Ubuntu Server is that it is Linux based which means it has a command line interface. It makes it easier to install or uninstall applications or libraries and it also makes it easier to open directories without having the trouble to manually navigate to directories.

Another thing I liked is that it is very responsive and can be tinkered with.
What do you dislike?
The thing I disliked the most is that Ubuntu server doesn't come with a GUI. Therefore I had to search for the commands to install a GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There were Microcontrollers, such as the Arduino and Raspberry pi, that were installed and getting data around the hotel. The hotel wanted the data to be stored and accessed in one location. Therefore Ubuntu server had been installed on an MSI CPU.

A LAMP server had also been installed to create databases and websites for easy viewing.

Virtualbox was used to create a virtual copy of the server for backup.


    Computer Software

Best WSL till date!

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When I started my ruby on rails journey, I had a windows laptop. But setup of rails required linux based terminal. Windows didn't had it. Seniors told me to use Ubuntu server. I was so much excited to finally develop rails based application using Ubuntu Server. I made it easier for. Later on I installed ubuntu OS itself as WSL is still not fast enough for rails development.
What do you dislike?
Overall, need to improve basic color themes otherwise it's best for it's purpose.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For developing and debugging rails which requires linux based terminal. Ubuntu server had all benefits which windows os is lacking currently
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you don't have mac, Still you want to develop rails based applications or tool that required linux base system and you are a windows user, then don't worry. Ubuntu server is savior for you all. Just install and run it windows. There might be some complications due to windows but you will able to all such things with ubuntu. Just go for it.


    Telecommunications

Ubuntu review

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source application easy installation steps and updates
What do you dislike?
Not to use extensively for production environment
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All the POC I am preferring first Ubuntu cos easy to understand the command stacks


    Muhammad I.

Ubuntu Server Experienced Review

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am working on ubuntu server for past 3 years and I find so easy to use and manage.
ubuntu server installation is so easy to setup, although its all text base but step are so simple and short.
well documented guide, great community support.
if official documentation is not enough, you can obtain help from community, usually problem you encountered already been solved somewhere else.
easy to customised for your need
What do you dislike?
as i said i have using this for past 3 years and haven't disliked anything about that yet.
everything seems perfectly working. All updates, kernel, threads running smoothly.
As i mostly use terminal so haven't encountered any blockage yet although user experience can be bit improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using ubuntu server as hosting our web based application. as i said i have been using it for past 3 years now and haven't encountered any issue that i have not resolved (already mentioned solution in documentation or community support). It is so easy to install, setup, configure and troubleshoot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend everyone to use Ubuntu server. Its my personal experience.
Everyone out there whoever is using Microsoft server I would definitely recommend them to try and use ubuntu server once and they will see the performance difference.


    Faraz S.

Perfect Linux Server for production environment

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
While Window is not a best and popular operating system but in server community we can strongly rely on Ubuntu Server because of security and network setting. We can design our own server in ubuntu where we can configure service , web server and Database server. Sometime we are face some confidential issue regarding security so in that case ubuntu server has capability to provide security with help of different kind of packages
Online help in easy to find the package of any configuration or setup.
Ubuntu is easy to find new and straightforward update , especially for LTS.

Easy to manage the update -getting very frequently new updates and patches
Easy to mange through CLI or GUI and last number of software and tool available who help to overcome the problems or you can use it

.
What do you dislike?
In my case is not easy to use for everyone ,i feel its very complicated to configure and setup the thing, but i never feel comfortable with ubuntu server.
Its very hard to install Other software and latest packages of ubuntu and configuration like samba server, configuration backup server.
If we compare with window server there is also available a lot of feature and provide more supportive GUI to reduce the time to configure backup, local or web server but i feel window server is not secure as compare to ubuntu that way i prefer to configure ubuntu for large or small organization.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When you thing about security and update than first come in mind ubuntu is perfect for ours.
I use for web server for hosting my company application ,backup server and mange log file and use for python development.
Running smooth web service ,web application and python scripts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please choose latest release version and make sure that version is according to your needs if you are new better get old version so you will get a lot of help.