Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

iRedMail (IMAP, SMTP, POP3) Email Server on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

42 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Faraz S.

Perfect Linux Server for production environment

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
While Window is not a best and popular operating system but in server community we can strongly rely on Ubuntu Server because of security and network setting. We can design our own server in ubuntu where we can configure service , web server and Database server. Sometime we are face some confidential issue regarding security so in that case ubuntu server has capability to provide security with help of different kind of packages
Online help in easy to find the package of any configuration or setup.
Ubuntu is easy to find new and straightforward update , especially for LTS.

Easy to manage the update -getting very frequently new updates and patches
Easy to mange through CLI or GUI and last number of software and tool available who help to overcome the problems or you can use it

.
What do you dislike?
In my case is not easy to use for everyone ,i feel its very complicated to configure and setup the thing, but i never feel comfortable with ubuntu server.
Its very hard to install Other software and latest packages of ubuntu and configuration like samba server, configuration backup server.
If we compare with window server there is also available a lot of feature and provide more supportive GUI to reduce the time to configure backup, local or web server but i feel window server is not secure as compare to ubuntu that way i prefer to configure ubuntu for large or small organization.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When you thing about security and update than first come in mind ubuntu is perfect for ours.
I use for web server for hosting my company application ,backup server and mange log file and use for python development.
Running smooth web service ,web application and python scripts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please choose latest release version and make sure that version is according to your needs if you are new better get old version so you will get a lot of help.


    Arun M.

Ubuntu - The first choice for Linux servers in production

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Regular Security Updates: Very frequently get software/tools security updates.

Community and support: Supported and maintained by a very large-sized community across the globe.

Upgrades: Flawless upgrades and updates to new versions or distribution. Even we are on old distribution, its still possible to upgrade to the latest one without losing the data.

Easy to manage: Very user friendly and easy to manage through CLI or GUI.

A large number of tools: A very large amount and variety of open source tools/software are developed to use over it. These are easily available in its Market place.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu doesn't support popular middlewares such as cPanel.

Plesk as well is not completely compatible/supported over Ubuntu. Though they have just rolled out their specific version for Ubuntu 20.04 LTS but still have a number of dependencies over specific libraries to make it fully functional.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When it comes to problem-solving Ubuntu server as other Linux servers handle the log files very effectively. For anything, we just navigate to syslog, kernel.log, dmesg and auth logs for system and authentication-related troubleshooting.

Benefits: Stability, Robust and Secure operating system with timely updates. Whether you are a Desktop user or managing it through a command-line interface, it just requires a couple of commands to fully patch/update and upgrades it with not many hassles.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it comes to security and getting regular updates over your server, Ubuntu comes in first place to provide you all.

Its user friendly and easy to operate as compared to other server specific Linux distributions.

Wide variety of applications available are available which can be easily integrated with it.


    Mohammad Shahnewaz S.

I'm senior programmer as well as LAMP developer.

  • December 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu server is opensource and it is lightweight as well as it has user-friendly command options.
What do you dislike?
Version upgrade options coming too fast. Its needs to be more stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can easily run my PHP, python, and java projects on the ubuntu server easily. But it was much harder and not user friendly in many paid server also.


    Omkar N.

Best Linux based server

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Headless ubuntu comes with apt package manager which can be used to install and auto update most of the tools
What do you dislike?
A little bulky compared to other Linux based servers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for all of our cloud applications and microservices


    Chad T.

Stable system with an abundance of documentation

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that there is so much documentation for this solution. I can search forums or just Google key words and find an abundance of data at my fingertips. Most of the community is very skilled and intelligent, if there is a current solution (usually there is) you can bet that between us we can come up with one. The community support if phenomenal! Also, being able to force changes via the Terminal is another huge bonus! Unlike Mac or Windows that gives you varying levels of control. Ubuntu gives you full access to implement changes as needed!
What do you dislike?
3rd Party software support is somewhat lacking for Ubuntu Server. There were a few great security type software that I found were not compatible with Linux systems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating and managing multiple Ubuntu VMs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure and do your research before you start as it will help immensely during configuration and deployment


    Pukar A.

It's hands down the best OS for a developer.

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that Ubuntu bypasses traditional GUI bases model that Windows offers, and goes operational through command line, it's very easy for a software engineer who is well familiar with the technology stack. Plus, the security offerings adds another icing on the cake.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the big fixes remain unresolved for a longer duration. And when you dual boot your system, it tends to lock your NTFS system in more than once occasions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's fast paced, and helps me alot with setting up a Machine Learning environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can go for it without a second thought.


    Niraj K.

Review of Ubuntu Server

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source operation system which is free, no cost of license. It is not require high end system requirement. It is user friendly and developers can trouble shoot and fix bugs .
What do you dislike?
Limited functionality is one of main feature for dislike ,application are few from other operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application testing problem solve with Ubuntu server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is not require high end system requirement. It is user friendly and developers can trouble shoot and fix bugs .


    Computer Software

Greatly

  • November 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Able to run on windows, like I wanted to run ror project.
What do you dislike?
Least I like about it is the UI like it should be more like Mac terminal
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was solving problem realated to rails server


    Chetan G.

Interactive Operating system

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is an interactive operating system, which helps a user to control its operating systems using commands.
It is free of cost.
Its interface is very attractive as it supports both GUI and CLI.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes its been very annoying in troubleshooting issues related to software/hardware problems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Ubuntu as my primary Operating system, it helps me learn and know about various commands and gives a better understanding of hardware that how a computer works.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend using Ubuntu as your operating system.


    Dott. Andrea Leandro l.

Simplicity and power with Great documentation and community

  • November 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like very much the easy apt packaging System , repositories, the documentation and the big usefull community. Ubuntu Is a de facto standard , you can find a guide to set up every function or software in a few minutes in the web, for the specific version of ubuntu server you are using. Of you choose tu adopt the lts edictions you are sure they will be supported for years and to have the stablest packages.You can use of you prefer the newest edictions with the last software and functions.I like the support for ZFS file System, with it I can compress automatically my stored data, crypt them, handle disks adding them in mirrors, stripings ecc in a great way! With ubuntu server Is very simple to install and use backup software like Borg , storing your data using i.e. Deduplication. Ubuntu server Is easy and user friendly for beginners and powerfull for the experts.
What do you dislike?
In my use, no downsides found, I also tried rpm based distros , but I never feel confortable as with ubuntu server. I never found elsewhere the semplicity and the minimum effort to build a samba server, a cloud synch and/or backup service or a VoIP server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu server give me the opportunity to learn (before) and release in production (after) many kind of servers , locally, in vps and in vitual machines, with good reliability and performance. I use Ubuntu server for Samba servers, host synch and backup systems and services, make virtual machine servers. With ubuntu server i built the envirinment I use to develop web services and applicazione using python; the production server that host those services Is ubuntu server with Apache or ngix.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose an lts release , so you are sure to have continuity, support and updates