Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Joomla for Ubuntu 16.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 3.9.24

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

353 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Luis E.

Best CMS! Better than WordPress, but add ons tend to be buggy, still better than wordpress

  • October 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can do anything with this CMS,and I mean anything. More powerful than WordPress
What do you dislike?
Several add ons tend not to perform as they should, when you least expect it, but that happens with WordPress and other CMS's , just as much.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Websites in general, with very advanced functions of all kinds, like marketplaces, stores, social networks, email marketing newsletter.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is better than WordPress, it is more secure and has more power. If you just want an easy solution for a simple website and you do not want to learn a complex yet powerful system, go for WordPress; but if you plan on scalate and make it more powerful, then, by all means go for Joomla!


    Hospital & Health Care

Joomla gets the job done

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simple layout and structure. We use this platform for our internal weekly update that is sent out to all staff -- department happenings, current events, awards and recognition, new staff, etc. The option to archive is great.
What do you dislike?
Trying to do any type of formatting in an 'easyblog' post doesn't seem to be very user friendly. At times, it will re-format something I already laid out once I save it. Also, using tables and inserting images in an easyblog is not responsive on mobile devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a great way to send out controlled communications to all staff, without being overwhelming.


    Computer Games

Best CRM ever!

  • September 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its Ease of Use, User Management, Easy Updates, Media and Content Management and Frontend Editing. It's multilingual, has many extensions and add-ons, and you can easily apply many themes as well.
What do you dislike?
I love it, but sometimes some themes make some unforeseen errors, specially when you apply some modules and extensions and add-ons from different partners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So, Joomla, first of all is an open source platform, so it's free, and you can freely create Web sites and applications. It is one of the best content management systems which connects your site to a MySQLi, MySQL, or PostgreSQL database in order to make content management and delivery easier on both the site manager and visitor.
You can manage your users, as well as your employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, absolutely.


    Education Management

Easy to use and quick to set-up

  • July 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It simple to learn, easy to understand, and quick to get a website up and running.
What do you dislike?
Some of the templates can be complicated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it makes blogging on a regular basis easy, searchable, and good looking.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have basic website knowledge from a 101 class in high school you can do it all yourself without any help. Switch the look seamlessly in one quick act of uploading a new template. Make your pages searchable with ease and without having intensive SEO knowledge.


    Danielle A.

We Love Joomla

  • July 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is great for detailed customized website creation, but at the same time can be easy learned and edited by other team members outside of web development.
What do you dislike?
This tool does require some type of web development experience for certain design/building aspects, which is expected. Also -- I wish there were more form implementation options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our Web Development Team was able to train our Marketing Team in Joomla so that when they are out on vacation/out sick/busy we are able to take advantage of most of the edits we need to make and minor changes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A very powerful tool great for small to large companies constantly creating powerful websites or landing pages. Great connectivity with HubSpot and other software.


    Michelle "Mitchie" C.

Joomla umm what?

  • June 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've had it for a year and have experienced no constant challenges, so that's what I like best! I still don't understand it or what I am supposed to do with it.
What do you dislike?
There is so much to remember and this has to be here to link to this if you want it to match up to this. I dislike that very much. I am looking at the panel now wondering how on earth did I make this happen? There has to be an easier system to use. Plu and play drop and drag are more my speed of things. Why when I click on ZOO does it tell me I'm not authorized? How do I make the font bigger for my viewers?!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have no problems to solve with this product. Benefits so far have been somewhat smooth sailing. Because I have no idea what this is for. My IT buddy made me install and use it. IT guys know best?! I am looking at it now in bewilderment. There has to be an easier program out there for someone like me. I came from the Vistaprint platform, and regret leaving.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure it's what you want. If you are looking for drop and go, this is not the product for you. It takes time to build. A great deal of time can be backtracking to ensure you have all of your content matched up and linked.


    George William L.

Extensible, more powerful than Wordpress less powerful than drupal

  • June 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extensible with free and premium extensions

Very quick and easy setup

Rather Pretty ui.
What do you dislike?
Some elements make it obvious that it's built from a generated template to some people.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating static sites with non-static content is remarkably easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look up a "must have" list of extensions to get the very best out of the system.


    Shane S.

Joomla! the second place Open Source CMS that may not have a future.

  • June 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla! has an exceptionally well curated collection of extensions (templates, plugins, and components) that can take a vanilla Joomla! website very far in the first strides of a project. The official Joomla! extensions directory is like the Amazon of offerings and reviews for the Joomla! community of website owners, builders, and developers. In an afternoon you can launch a Joomla! website and fill it out with a collection of free and paid extensions that will get you quite far... perhaps 75% of the functionality and design needed for a complete website project.
What do you dislike?
With the panoply of extensions and templates, Joomla! websites can quickly become a spaghetti mess of 3rd party tools fighting each other under the hood. Many of the extensions and templates offer competing ways of doing the same activity. What's more is that these components are necessary because the basic site building tools needed for most projects are not present in the core Joomla! toolset. Joomla! does not have a built in Content Construction Kit, unlike Drupal with it's node and views tools in core, so you will have to choose a 3rd party tool. This puts you in the position of being dependent on the overall Joomla! project community for support and a 3rd party developer that could abandon their extension at any time. These 3rd party tools, and Joomla! itself, do not always stress developer thinking flexibility... if there is not a checkbox for what you want to do... you may not be able to do it in Joomla! without hacking apart an extension.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Joomla! is great at getting up to speed with a website that needs more functionality than a blog at launch. Many potential website owners are going to be directly comparing Joomla! to WordPress at first. Joomla! offers more flexibility in my opinion than WordPress, but it is not as good at blogging... and probably will never be. Joomla! can do more faster, but it does not really do any of the functions best or at an enterprise caliber. If you want a world class blog, you can do it in WordPress. If you have a complicated web application with multi-site and multi-user deployment, Drupal can handle it. Joomla! is a middle player that is adept at handling middle player (small to medium business issues) quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I am not sure Joomla! has a strong future, it is deployed widely... but it seems to falling in usage an popularity according to Google Trends. Joomla! is free so it gets lots of deployments, but I am not sure they are all that well supported or have much commitment. WordPress has the same ambiguity about the weight of its install base, but there seems to be much more committed high end developers for WordPress and Drupal.

If you need a brochure with a blog, use WordPress.

If you want an enterprise class website that your business or organization can grow with in the long term, choose Drupal.


    Corey B.

Joomla user

  • June 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Find it very easy to use and develop the template around. Clients seem to understand how to utilize the CMS easily and the articles/components/modules setup is easier to use from an end admin user perspective than most other options out there. There are also a large number of plugins, components & modules created from 3rd parties that help speed up development
What do you dislike?
Nothing really innovative has come out in a long time, each version does have its nice perks and updates, but i wouldn't consider them the leaders in CMS innovation. I've also recently found the sites have been getting hacked often if I don't install rsFirewall
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize it for a majority of our clients basic site needs, it allows clients to easily update and maintain their website while still allowing us to have a revenue stream adding features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it out, old mambo, and 1.x builds have a bad wrap and people have wrote it off from time to time, I invite you to install it on a dev server and see how easy it is to use and develop around


    Wholesale

One of the best

  • June 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Text editor, fast work, aesy to manage pages
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it's cancel button instead of close, but maybe its a problem of plugin, I don't know. Cache clear sometimes is too difficult for me (after Drupal for example)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to manage content, fast in work, loooots and lots of plugins. You can create like everything you want with this CMS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really good CMS. One of my favorite.