Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Joomla for Ubuntu 16.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 3.9.24

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

353 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Candy V.

Joomla is a really great software that can be used by anyone

  • June 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that Joomla is a content management system that feels more extensive and capable of achieving custom effects. It feels like a software that could be used by anyone
What do you dislike?
I dislike that the interface can become very confusing because of all the features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving business problems by creating websites that
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Joomla to anyone that is trying to make their website more exclusive and for it to feel like a new, up-to-date site with all the technology needed to stay valid for many years.


    Design

Free, but not as good as WordPress

  • June 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is free and open source which is always a huge plus.
What do you dislike?
Development and management of sites has always been unnecessarily cumbersome. I don't think Joomla has been able to keep up with WordPress.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Content management for websites.


    luca m.

Ottimo per fare un sito in 10 minuti!

  • May 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla è fantastico perchè ti permette di realizzare un sito in 10 minuti davvero! Ma parlo di un sito funzionale ed efficiente!
What do you dislike?
Sinceramente per un programma free tutto quello che offre joomla è davvero tantissimo. Sono davvero felice di quello che offre. Se proprio devo trovare qualcosa che non va è il fatto non di avere un vero e proprio catalogo per moduli ed addon. Poi noto un leggera difficoltà in caso un utente richieda piccole personalizzazioni!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Abbiamo scoperto che tramite il nostro server hosting c'è la funzione di autoinstallazione di app. E tra queste è presente anche joomla. Si puo' quindi in alcuni server installare joomla automaticamente e velocemente quante volte si vuole!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Un grandissimo cms che dovete assolutamente provare.!


    Vladimir S.

A positive surprise came with the newest version

  • May 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very fast usage
Shear volume of capabilities
Forms
How customers stories are solved
Classing and intuitive page editing
What do you dislike?
Design templates
How lock/unlock is used for parallel document change
You can get lost and spend some time before you find what you're looking for
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Joomla for our website.
Our outsourced agency prepared the initial framework and design, and now we are maintaining the site - adding, editing pages and publishing news.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Much better for company use.
If you don't need too much design.
If you want a more functional and faster editor than Wordpress.


    Enzo C.

Un ottimo cms per realizzare un sito facile e veloce

  • May 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
La velocita' di inserimento articoli e di modifica è davvero impressionante! Posso inserire un nuovo articolo in meno di 30 secondi! Sono inoltre disponibili tantissimi moduli aggiuntivi comodi e utili per ogni scopo si necessita!
What do you dislike?
Ammetto che i template disponibili e free non sono tantissimi. Sarebbe bello poterne avere altri a disposizione.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ho risolto ogni problema legato alle tempistiche di mandare in rete un articolo. Creare un sito è una cosa che tutti possono fare ma poter aggiornare ogni singola sezione o categoria in poco tempo è una cosa di pochi!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Facilissimo da usare e da installare. Il migliore in assoluto.


    Michael T.

Great at what it does

  • May 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Choosing a CMS is quite difficult these days, having an abundance of choice. Each is quite good and has it's strengths, but Joomla, in my opinion is far superior due to one single fact - it is an all around CMS, where others were built for a single purpose and are trying to emulate or implement additional features based on an older code base. You can setup your personal or small company website in a matter of minutes, having all sorts of widgets and features, having an extreme amount of free or paid plugins, addons, components at your disposal. The forums are full of custom feature implementations and the community behind Joomla is superior to many of it's competitors.
What do you dislike?
The back-end, where most of the time of a web application administrator is spent needs more work, even though it was a great imporvement in comparison to previous versions (especially 1.5) it still feels unnatural or even clunky at times, but this is all gone as soon as you get used to it. It also would've been nice if the whole Joomla Framework would've been structured in a more programmer friendly way, relying heavier on OOP and well known standards and/or paradigms, since Joomla's MVC is not your standard MVC pattern, although I understand that i would require a re-write of the whole code base of the project and is not much of an issue if you plan to invest in learning the ins and outs of the framework.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Smaller personal or business websites with basic or intermediate functionality. Some smaller components can be written for such projects too, but the lack of git for such custom features is becoming a greater issue for larger projects. It is great at what it does, being an entry point for those only starting in web development or looking for a fast and easy implementation of their idea. You can setup your project without writing a single line of code in a matter of minutes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would greatly recommend it for personal use, even for small and/or family-owned businesses. If you can't do it yourself the cost of hiring a Joomla developer is relatively small, especially considering custom web application development. It is definitely a great contender and one of the best CMS solutions out there.


    Rodrigo D.

It can get tricky really fast, but its worth it

  • May 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It offers so much customization for content creators, developers, designers, etc. Its modular system makes it easy to put on new content. There are a lot of templates that you can use, for every type of website you might run. Also a lot of plugins for enhanced functions that you could imagine.
What do you dislike?
If you are not carefull it can get tricky to customize really fast.

Difference between versions are huge, so its recommended to stay within one version if possible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows me to put modular content in the theme without writing special functions or so.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its not easy to customize themes, but its great to know how to add new modules. There are lots of tutorials to start from scratch. Free themes are also available to start customizing them and learn how to create your own modules.


    Erin H.

An ok CMS for free/cheap

  • April 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I suppose the best thing that can be said about Joomla is that it's easy for non-technical users. The content management system is likely better understood by the average person who hasn't dealt with a CMS before, and for the price (normally free + however much they spend to get a template for their site), it's a decent choice.
What do you dislike?
If I compare joomla to another free CMS such as umbraco, I feel like it has a lot of shortcomings. And as someone who easily understood sitecore, kentico, and umbraco, joomla was very confusing until I did some reading and research. It isn't organized in a logical way but rather in a way that makes it friendly to a non-tech user, as mentioned before.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a CMS that was cheap/free for a side project I was working on, and the project lead selected Joomla. I was put in charge of the initial setup and management of the site in Joomla, so in that regard, it solved the problem of a need to manage and display content that would respond well to mobile devices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you read up on Joomla and either get some training, or just give yourself time to fiddle around with Joomla before you're on a tight deadline for content completion.


    James D.

Joomla tries to make websites quick and easy.

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Makes managing websites easier than manually coding them.
Allows clients without technical knowhow to do minor changes to text and images. (Although they do struggle).
Lots of nice themes.
Secure(ish)
What do you dislike?
Our site is now filled with 3rd party modules to make it look and feel how we want it to. This now means that staff without technical knowhow struggle to update it themselves.

It is know where near as user friendly as the alternatives.

Security is generally okay however there have been exploits in the past and I wouldn't be surprised if there is more to come.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We tried to use joomla to remove the need for a 3rd party web developer and do manage the site ourselves. This is not an issue for the staff in the IT department however we don't necessarily have time to make the changes that should be simple enough that anyone can do it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Joomla is a useful tool but don't expect it to be as straight forward to manage as advertised.


    Jordyn G.

Powerful Content Management System for Business

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Having a prebuilt front and backend is wonderful when building websites. Themes can be easily implemented and there are many free options for expanding the site. Functionality is fluid with a database created automatically allowing you to avoid the complexities of SQL. Extensions are available for both front and backend functions that can be added or deleted at any time. The customization is expansive, such as delegating user privileges by select individual accounts to modify. Perhaps the best aspect is that Joomla is free and often provided by popular hosting sites to automatically be installed.
What do you dislike?
While the program itself has updated nicely, extensions and plugins can feel outdated or are incompatible with the latest version. Perhaps the biggest hurdle is learning the vocabulary that is unique to how Joomla operates. Doesn't take too long, but it can be a hassle at first.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Small business will benefit greatly from such a powerful tool. This is regarded as one of the best free e-commerce content management system for a reason. I used the extension Hikashop to quickly build a functional mock store for testing purposes. The integration was seamless and I was able to mange products, carts, warehouse, and more for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would encourage business to try Joomla for commerce reasons. Blogging and basic sites can seem overwhelming through this. The more complex the site is, the better the plugins and features you will find for free or reduced prices.